We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”
Review of Old Dubbo Gaol

Old Dubbo Gaol
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Dubbo Gaol is a state heritage listed must see. This remarkably complete and intact gaol operated for 119 years from 1847 to 1966 and is still nestled in the main street of Dubbo. This set of 19th and 20th century gaol buildings create a pocket in time, and the experiences within brings history to life. This regional gaol is representative of powerful, surprising and dark moments in Australian prison history. We house important collections such as the hangman's kit and gallows, and unforgettable experiences such as the dark cells and the bird's-eye view from the watchtower. With guided tours, night tours, and theatrical experiences on offer, the Old Dubbo Gaol is a rare piece of history open to explore.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Old Dubbo Gaol is worth visiting. Reasonably priced at around $30 for a family of four.Take your NRMA card to secure a discount. Our kids loved it. We took a couple of hours to walk around. They give you a good guide booklet which takes you around the gaol, highlighting some quick easy to read facts and some holograms etc to describe how prisoners lived. Solitary confinement with no light or sound was scary but fun for the kids, the description of escape attempts and jailing and hanging of people who really sound like they had no chance to defend themselves were interesting.Thank goodness there is no capital punishment in Australia anymore!
The tour was funny and informative. Suggest it is best for kids between 6 and 14. Before that not a lot of interest and after that age the teenagers just stand in a corner texting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    296
    80
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Old Dubbo Gaol is an interesting place to visit. There are some wonderful things on display including the Hangman's kit. There are some good pictures of convicts and their records. I liked the animated displays with the voices. It was interesting to see how male and female prisoners were treated much differently! Great place to spend an hour or two!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend an hour or two in Dubbo”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited at the end of a long weekend expecting this to be quite busy - pleasantly surprised with the small amount of people there. The Gaol itself has been well preserved and a lot of effort has been made to maintain the "penned in" feeling. I'm glad our tour was in the daytime, The solitary confinement cell in particular was very eerie! My Husband and I are history buffs, so this was right up our alley, but I think it would be educational and interesting for most adults.

A great touch was the personal stories about some of the prisoners. For a regional area, this is a great attraction and would hold its own amongst larger old gaols in the capital cities for the integrity of its displays. The price was very reasonable also. I liked that the entire gaol is wheelchair accessible (most aren't) and disability friendly. I probably wouldn't recommend taking small children, as it might be a bit scary. The AV display was quite good also.

I'm not a particular fan of the "escapees" mannequins, and the lack of parking nearby meant we could only spend an hour, but otherwise, a fantastic attraction!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherryDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Located in Macquarie Street (between Talbraga and Church Streets) we attended the Gaol on a Sunday afternoon and timed it perfectly for the "Escapes Tour" at 3pm - very interesting.

Well worth a visit - allow approx 1hr for a tour of the gaol.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't take small children...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's alright, but some of the displays are a bit dated, and our 3 and 6 yo didn't really get into it. I can't remember the price, but do remember feeling a bit ripped off. I managed to tag along with a tour for a while and that was quite good. The only bit I really liked was the 19th century mugshots and prisoner records. You might find it more interesting if you hadn't seen a 19th century prison before.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 210markd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Dubbo Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Old Dubbo Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing