We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about smokers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abel Tasman Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely hotel, well positioned, great service. Only downside were the smokers puffing away on the balcony outside our room. We told the smoke to stay outside but it came into our room! Seriously, smokers should be banned from smoking on the balconies. Otherwise, excellent hotel. Must recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Roselyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 220 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Without prior booking and leading into the Easter long weekend, we were very lucky to secure two nights here and at quite a reasonable rate. We had an upstairs room that was large, well equipped, very clean and comfortable. There was a queen bed, a single bed, sofa, desk, table and chairs and large flatscreen TV. A microwave and toaster, crockery and cutlery were also supplied. The bathroom had both soap and shower gel as well as shampoo, conditioner, lotion and shower caps and hair dryer. The room was well lit with lamps, wall lights and overhead lighting and the air-conditioner was really quiet.

The grounds are really well kept and it was nice to see families making good use of the pool and barbeque facilities. The motel is located right opposite a lovely park and West Dubbo Bowling Club (great meals) and McDonalds is about a block away. Taronga Western Plains Zoo is less than 2 kilometres away (the reason for our stay).

We'd definitely stay here again, it ticked all the boxes and the service was excellent. There is no restaurant on site, which wasn't a problem for us, and we didn't order breakfast .. we ate our own we'd taken with us or went to Maccas on our way out.

If I had to pick anything negative, it would be that the rooms are not the most soundproof if you're a light sleeper .. saying this, it wasn't an issue for us. Also there is no allocated car space, however there IS a space for every car.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are probably a better option if you don't want to haul luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverYoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Manager at Abel Tasman Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank You for Foreveryoung50 for your review on our property. We are pleased that you
have chosen to take the time to do this and hopefully next time your are in Dubbo you will again favour us with your booking. Thanks Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed one night, staff were friendly, room was clean and descent size. Decor is a bit dated but clean and maintained. No restaurant on site but breakfast is available in your room. Close to Dubbo zoo.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Manager at Abel Tasman Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Linda E - sorry to take so long to respond to your email, but I was away most of March.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can highly recommend staying at the Able Tasman Motor Inn. The rooms are nice and spacious, and the bed was super comfy! The staff at the front counter always were smiling and helpful. The location of the motel is fantasic! It's across the road from the bowling club (which is a great affordable place to eat). And just up the road from the Zoo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Manager at Abel Tasman Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Always great to get feedback. Thank you for taking the time to do so and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We paid $125 a night for two adults- our room was a good size and had a queen bed, single bed, lounge, & small dining table. Reception friendly and efficient. Rooms and overall property exceptionally clean & well maintained. Bathroom had soap/shamp/conditioner/skin lotion in on the wall dispensers. Only mini bar items was two bottles of water, that didn't worry us we didn't need for anything. Microwave in room which could be very handy although we had no need to use it. 4 good thick towels for our use, which was nice as most places only give you one per person.
Only negative I could really come up with was the rooms aren't that sound proof.. I was awoken several times by the noise of other guests returning home (most guests at the motel were there for a wedding). Also the sound of trucks on the highway is quite annoying.
All in all though a pleasant and comfortable stay and I would recommend/return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjn1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Manager at Abel Tasman Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are pleased that you liked our rooms but it is unfortunate that you were woken by guests returning home - late at night
any noise is annoying. We do hope that we will see you again sometime in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very good hotel, relative to the price.
Pros:
Plenty of parking
Location close to the zoo
Great value - very very good for the price - super cheap
Reception staff were nice
Cons:
Aircon was really noisy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SampaulMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M, Manager at Abel Tasman Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Currently replacing the remaining old airconditioners which is taking more time than expected. Hope to see next time you are in Dubbo.
Kind regards
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stopped for one night and wish we had been able to stay longer! The motel was easy to find, receptionist was very welcoming, and checked with us that we were ok with an upstairs room. We had requested a room at the back without interconnecting room and were given just what we asked for.

The room was large, very clean and well equipped with beds, dining table and chairs, tub chairs and coffee table, nice kitchen area with microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle and a small supply of crockery and cutlery, even a bottle opener and corkscrew! The bathroom was spotlessly clean, well provided with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, and super soft, thick towels. Excellent shower. Very comfortable bed and the room was very quiet.

We ordered cooked breakfasts for the next morning, which arrived exactly on time and were generous in size. There was a good choice on the menu which you order the night before and have delivered to your room, as there are no dining facilities. We went across to the Bowling Club for dinner, and enjoyed the amazing views as we ate. The food was again good and generous portions, and although not a huge choice there was something for everyone in very pleasant surroundings and just over the road from the motel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Abel Tasman as it provided everything we needed and the staff were excellent. The only minus was that a couple of lights weren't working ini the room, but there were so many wall lights etc that it didn't matter, and I'm sure that had we complained, the bulbs would have been replaced very quickly, as everything else was in such good order.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathedralmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 31 in Dubbo
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Aberdeen Motel
The Aberdeen Motel
#11 of 31 in Dubbo
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#21 of 31 in Dubbo
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 31 in Dubbo
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
1.3 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abel Tasman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Motor Inn

Address: 133 - 135 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range: $90 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abel Tasman Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abel Tasman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing