We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abel Tasman Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abel Tasman Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great location and very friendly staff. Room was good size and pool was clean. Ideal for overnight traveller in particular. I would stay there again I have one comment for those with young kids. It would be great if there was a better area for kids to play in. It has a pool but I did not notice any where for kids to play/ a big carpark which is great for parking but having swings etc would make it even better.

Room Tip: It is near a busy highway but you can ask for a room at the back of motel which made it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzawon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    72
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
69
58
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Abel Tasman on our way through to the Gold Coast and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice and clean and the service was great. For us it was in a great location as it was straight off the Newell highway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have just checked out after a night stopover during our road trip. This motel is in a great location for those traveling the Newell hwy. It's opposite a great club you can have a few drinks and dinner at and McDonalds and Hungry Jacks down the road for the kids. The motel is two storey, with ground floor accommodation convenient for those like us who have a disabled child, small children or elderly travelling with you. We had a room with a queen bed and two singles, perfect fortwo adults and two children. The room was spotless and the beds extremely comfortable, the only let down was the lack of choice in pillows, picky as it is. There is laundry available to use if needed also. If passing through Dubbo or if staying longer to go to the zoo, I can highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricija_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Abel Tasman reasonably regularly over the last few years. I often try other motels in town just for comparison and this is right up there with the best.
The rooms are quite large and are always immaculately clean. They are well appointed with large TVs, desk areas etc.
Although the motel is right on the highway, noise has never been an issue.
The only issue that I have is that you still have to pay for wi-fi. Virtually every other motel I stay in offers this for free.
Recommend that you take the short walk down to the newly refurbished Westside Hotel for dinner - never disappointed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank AlloverNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for a night on a business trip. Found the staff attentive and very polite, the room was huge and well appointed. You can order hot breakfast the night before which is great and actually it is very tasty, kind of home-made type.
If you stay in Abel Tasman, make sure you visit the bowling club just the opposite side of the road, it's so much fun and the locals are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Usually staying in corporate accommodation travelling for work I was pleasantly surprised when a change in plans saw me at the Abel Tasman. Check in was friendly, the room was clean and had plenty of space, parking was easy and the cost of accommodation you can't beat. Admittedly I usually prefer a restaurant attached to the hotel and the breakfast although ok was not super but if I had the family and I was paying I would be straight back here again. It had everything I needed, a Club across the road, a nice walk on a path down the bottom of the hill and some decent restaurants down the street (check out the Thai). So all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very spacious, very clean and very comfortable rooms. Very good value for money.
We did have a connecting room which meant we could hear some talking on the other side, but we were travelling with friends so no bother. But probably would ask for different room if travelling by ourselves.
A little out of town, but close to Zoo, Golf and Bowling Clubs.Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-connecting room if not travelling with friends or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#9 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
1.0 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abel Tasman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Motor Inn

Property: Abel Tasman Motor Inn
Address: 133 - 135 Whylandra Street (Newell Highway), Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abel Tasman Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abel Tasman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing