We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to offer at a decent price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden West Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This place ticked all the boxes for me at a decent price.

We took the flaming deal which included breakfast which was a must before a long trip to Brisbane. We also had dinner at the restaurant that night.

Staff were very friendly taking a fancy to our gorgeous little girl. She is 3.5months old and was allowed to stay in her porta-cot with us.

Rooms were ok, the pool was nice and was shaded. Close to town and petrol etc.

I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBreaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

So look - no one is going to write rave reviews about the rooms in this motor inn. But for the price we paid for a Family room, booked online last minute, it really was a bit of a gem.

The family room we had consisted of a small table with two chairs, two queen-sized beds, and one single bed. There was some noise from the room next door, easily drowned out by putting the in room heating on. This is NOT to say that the heater was loud - just that the noise was quite low.

The room could definitely use a bit of a lift, and the shower was missing a tile or two. But the linens were clean, the room was clean, the water was hot, the climate control worked, the TV worked, the bar fridge worked.

The check in staff were very helpful, answering our questions and printing out the zoo timetable for us without prompting. Check in was painless, check out equally so. And the price made it all the more agreeable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This motel is sited not far from the centre of the city, on the main highway & offers great affordable accommodation for those staying in Dubbo.It appears to have been refurbished . The rooms are a good size with both Queen & Single beds with a good sized bathroom . It also offers good wardrobe space, tea & coffee facilities & plasma TV , it has a small table & chairs as well. The room was warm - it was freezing outside, there was no need for extra blankets. The restaurant serves good, well priced meals & a nice cooked breakfast. This Motel has a large parking area, big enough to fit our small truck in without any trouble. The staff are very nice. There is a pool for summer use. The only downside we have found is the lack of lighting on the outside stairs when leaving very early in the morning. I will continue to stay here .

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility issues as the stairs can be a bit difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a return visit to the motor inn. Again we found the room clean and everything you would expect for a motor inn. As always the rooms are well insulated so even with a 0 degree morning the room felt warm without turning the reverse cycle on at any stage in the visit. The fact that it is close to town, on the main hwy and yet still so quiet means this place with remain a fav of ours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oifatburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The motel was very clean, but the towels were thread bare and miniscule with one soap, face washer & no hand towels. Since there was no extra blankets we had to keep the heater on, but it cut out about 3a.m so hence we froze.
The only highlight was Alex (the receptionist come waitress) excellent service with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Direynolds56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

when there are so many other motels along Cobra St, you would wonder why this one would want to disappoint? Maintenance is not one of their strong points. For one - the tea/coffee making area was in a tight, little, dark passageway, where the lighting didn't work, so you couldn't see anything and the fridge was an old clunker. There was still a broken aircon remote control holder stuck to wall from an earlier model. The curtains were not effective in shutting out the bright porch lights, so the room was quite bright at night. the furnishings were old and tired, well overdue for replacement and the queen bed was in average condition. Car parking was too tight and out in the open. Lastly, but most importantly, the cleanliness lacked. For the rate they charged, I think they could do a lot better than this, especially when it felt so impersonal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScullyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The nicest thing I can say about this place was that it was clean. The bed felt as if an elephant had slept in it previously - great big dents in it that made sleeping uncomfortable. The room was small, really only a place to crash. There were not many blankets so no choice but to sleep with the heat blasting all night long. The wifi sometimes worked, but by the second night it juts up and died and never came back up.

The strangest thing was breakfast. Really generous portions of bacon and eggs were on offer - and they were very tasty. But they ran out of coffee during breakfast on day 1, and it had not been replaced by breakfast again the next morning. We actually had to go out and buy coffee somewhere else.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night, and the girl serving was very good, and the meals very country-style - large, wholesome and tasty.

Room Tip: The rooms are not large enough for more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedheadMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Motel
The Aberdeen Motel
#10 of 31 in Dubbo
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 31 in Dubbo
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#24 of 31 in Dubbo
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 31 in Dubbo
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden West Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden West Motor Inn

Address: 87 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden West Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Famous Motel "Golden West Motor Inn Dubbo" is centrally located within walking distance to the town centre of Dubbo. We do have an on-site licensed restaurant which is open 6 days. For your leisure we have a large inground pool. The motel is a AAA rated 3.5 Star property with all the luxury requirements you would expect. Including, Cable TV, LCD TV's, High Speed Internet access, Microwave's avaiable on request, private ensuites - some with spas, tea & coffee making facilities, fridge just to name a few of the features. Whether your staying for leisure, business or relaxation we can gurantee the pefect stay for your accommodation needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden West Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing