We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, cleaning leaves a lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Dubbo B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, cleaning leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

After a long days travel we were disgusted to find that our bed appeared to have been remade from the previous guests. We found pubic hair in the bed along with long black hairs on the pillows. There was also dry blood stains on the duvet which appear to have been there for some time.

To the owners credit he let us use one of the unoccupied rooms to sleep in for the night.

The house itself is very nice and dog friendly which is nice. The house itself is nice, and I would agree that the relaxed atmosphere is also a positive.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I highly recommend this character filled residence, in Dubbo. I have stayed many times, for both work and pleasure. It's very relaxing to come back 'home" after a hard day in the office, to be able to spread out in this spacious home, watch TV on the large roll down projector screen, play the piano, swim in the pool, have a game or two of snooker and share few wines around the BBQ. If you want the services layed on, then this is not the place for you...Ranelagh is more of a home away from home...arrive, settle in and do your own thing....no-one elses schedule to eat or wake up to...just the way I like it! If you have a passion for heritage homes and enjoy being surrounded by antiques and the luxuries of an old country residence, this is the "stay" for you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthGipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is the second time we stayed overnight at Ranelagh on our journey elsewhere and regretted that we didn't spend more time there.

Ranelagh is a self catering B&B with a super generous selection of breakfast and a huge pantry in a huge kitchen with all the charm of a bygone era but with all the mod cons.

The bedrooms are large, cosy and always welcoming after our long drive to get to Dubbo.

Ranelagh is a place worthy of its standing as a local heritage icon preserved beautifully and faithfully in its appointment and furnishings by its owner - Peter.

Peter is easy to get along with and a phone call is all it took us to find everything ready for us on arrival.

We haven't stopped talking about it from the first time we saw it over 12 months ago and used it again for our trip recently.
We have travelled all over the world and Australia and stayed at the best of the best hotels but few have given us that special feeling of olde worlde homeliness-away-from-home, comfort, safety, cosiness and charm.

We unhesitatingly and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travinlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We along with another family we so very disappointed with this b&b. We were met on arrival but the other family were not. Breakfast was like at home, just find it in the cupboards and fridge!. Location was terrible, in middle of industrial area of Dubbo. Loud noise until late into night with trucks shunting etc and then again in early morning. One of worst b&b's have been too, around the world and Australia

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Wow...what a pleasant and amazing surprise to enter the beautiful Ranelagh estate after hours of driving from Queensland. This historic homestead is located on the Newell Hwy in North Dubbo and was a great option for a break in our trip to Victoria.

I cannot imagine why anyone would stay in a motel when accommodation like this is available...on the Newell Highway!

From the moment we entered and were greeted by Peter and his wife and the cat - Caeser, it was a little bit of magic. The is a delightful old mansion filled with energy of yesteryear (including a few friendly spirits), but with an updated, comfy environment. The giant grand old media room was a treat with surround sound, giant screen tv, dvd's, a piano and books galore to help yourself to. Our room, The Fearon Room, was a gorgeous old world guest room with a giant 4 poster bed, decorative fire place and in room wash stand...how cute! The kitchen was a welcoming, help yourself style country kitchen filled with yummy food, treats and huge old fashioned hard wood communal table.

This has now become our absolute must stay when in Dubbo...Thank you Peter and family for creating such a treasure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoloGraphica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
580 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Apartments
Country Apartments
#2 of 30 in Dubbo
253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Endeavour Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Macquarie Inn
Macquarie Inn
#2 of 13 in Dubbo
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
1.8 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bourke Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Ranelagh, 1875, Dubbo's most prestigious heritage home with over 650m² of living area on 15 acres, offers a unique, old fashioned, self-catering, Australian guesthouse experience. Able to accommodate up to 20 guests in comfort Ranelagh offers two lounge rooms, eat in country kitchen, a full size billiard room, library, home cinema, antique and period furniture, open wood fires, extensive verandas, full size lit tennis court and swimming pool, only 2 kms to Dubbo's CBD. Ranelagh offers six double bedrooms which can be booked individually or secured all together for the exclusive use of larger groups. From individual guests to couples, families or larger groups whether for one night stays or extended breaks Ranelagh's combinations of rooms (including some adjoining) and bedding configurations can suit any guest's accommodation needs to guarantee comfort and a memorable stay. Ranelagh has truly become a traveler's destination in its own right. We welcome you in sharing Ranelagh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing