We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great character, great for a group getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Dubbo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great character, great for a group getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful period house circa 1850 with quality furnishings and original features. Felt like stepping back in time. Yes it's in what might be called a light industrial area but it's on spacious land and set back from the road so you don't notice that at all.

Only one issue for me - 3 other families also there and a few noisy kids running thru the place disturbs the serenity. If the others are early starters or late finishers then the noise can drive you mad if you just want to sleep.

Ideal place for a group or extended family to get away together. Couldn't imagine a nicer place for that. Full size snooker table, BBQ, tennis court, large rooms.

Oh - one other gripe - no hot water in the morning. Maybe I was last of the 3 families to hit the shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kesbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a young Sydneysider, this was a near nightmare. There's not much choice in Dubbo, but any motel would be better than this B&B.
Sure, it's a nice old property, wooden and complete with tennis court and (small) pool, but if you want a good night's sleep and relaxing experience, DON'T come here.
Not enough light in the rooms to read, and you can't go to sleep early because the other families/rooms are so close that you can hear everything. We stayed in the "Fearon" room, opposite the room with the billiard table, a favourite until the late hours of the night and the early hours of the morning.
There's a chicken shed with 2 unhealthy chooks and about 20 pigeons; doesn't look like anyone has been in there or cleaned the place since 1837 or whenever the place was founded. There are also 2 horses, my parents and I had to clean out the poor thing's water as it looked like it hadn't been changed in weeks.
Having said this, this B&B would be perfect for a group of friends who could book out the whole place, but with other families and screaming kids, people who hog the TV all night and eat smelly curry, it's not ideal.
Also, don't bet on having a hot shower, mine lasted 30 seconds and was of Antarctic temperatures.

Room Tip: Not the "Fearon" room, opposite noisy billiard room.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is a must stay when in Dubbo. The 19th century architecture and furniture makes one wonder if Professor Plum did it in the library with the lead pipe. We stayed in the Fearon Room with ensuite facilities and it was just classic and comfortable. This trip was with my wife and more for pleasure than business. The kitchen facilities are great and there was a nice fire going in the fireplace in the den. For movie afficionados, there is a complete home theater that will please many. We were impressed with the family suite which has no equal that we have ever seen. There is a huge billiards table that could entertain for hours. Location is not really a forte of this particular facility as it is relatively far north of most of the commercial districts. The location however, makes for a quiet refuge to rest and relax. There are beautiful birds throughout the garden that we much enjoyed. The cat, Caesar, appears to be a fixture that goes so beautifully with the house. We really enjoyed his company on the cold night we stayed. Peter is a great host and attentive to every need. I would give five stars if broadband internet was available, but it is sadly not. That is the only deficiency I note among the many positives.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights and loved the place. It is tastefully furnished with antique furniture that matches the homes vintage. It was so good we are returning there in June. I recommended Ranelagh to friends who were equally impressed.

Room Tip: Bring your friends, there are plenty of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights with our puppy and found it to be amazing clean and peaceful! Our room was the Fearon Room with its own bathroom and was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated.

The whole house is gorgeous and there are lots of places to rest and read in the house and on the grounds.

Peter met us when we arrive and was very friendly and helpful and kept an eye out for our dog when we weren't around.

The fences around the property are more like farm fences so if your dog is a wanderer you might need to keep them in the pool area.

If we are ever back in Dubbo we will be staying here again!!!

Room Tip: The Fearon has its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Beautiful old home just outside the city centre. The rooms were lovely and spacious, the lounge room was welcoming with a fire set for the chilly night. Each of the bedrooms had plenty of heating. The continental breakfast was plentiful with a great variety of cereal, fruit, bread and jams. A lovely retreat for couples or suitable for a group. Bathrooms are not all adjoining rooms but we found this a minor inconvenience. We will go back for another stay when we have more time to enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: The Gill room is the largest and there is a family suite at the front of the house with two adjoinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

After a long days travel we were disgusted to find that our bed appeared to have been remade from the previous guests. We found pubic hair in the bed along with long black hairs on the pillows. There was also dry blood stains on the duvet which appear to have been there for some time.

To the owners credit he let us use one of the unoccupied rooms to sleep in for the night.

The house itself is very nice and dog friendly which is nice. The house itself is nice, and I would agree that the relaxed atmosphere is also a positive.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
4.6 mi away
Pericoe Retreat Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Endeavour Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Apartments
Country Apartments
#2 of 30 in Dubbo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bourke Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Ranelagh, 1875, Dubbo's most prestigious heritage home with over 650m² of living area on 15 acres, offers a unique, old fashioned, self-catering, Australian guesthouse experience. Able to accommodate up to 20 guests in comfort Ranelagh offers two lounge rooms, eat in country kitchen, a full size billiard room, library, home cinema, antique and period furniture, open wood fires, extensive verandas, full size lit tennis court and swimming pool, only 2 kms to Dubbo's CBD. Ranelagh offers six double bedrooms which can be booked individually or secured all together for the exclusive use of larger groups. From individual guests to couples, families or larger groups whether for one night stays or extended breaks Ranelagh's combinations of rooms (including some adjoining) and bedding configurations can suit any guest's accommodation needs to guarantee comfort and a memorable stay. Ranelagh has truly become a traveler's destination in its own right. We welcome you in sharing Ranelagh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ranelagh Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing