We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

The Homestead Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Homestead Motel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The stay at the Homestead Motel in Dubbo was the half way point in our drive from Hobart in Tasmania to the Sunshine Coast in Queensland. A trip of 2500kms over three days, which included an overnight trip on the Spirit of Tasmania from Devonport to Melbourne, and driving from Melbourne to Queensland in two days. A broken windscreen and numerous stone chips on an otherwise long and often boring trip being the only highlight.

After research on Trip Advisor we settled on the Homestead as a value for money option in what was literally on overnight stay as we needed to be on the road early the next day. One tip for the uninitiated is the fact that the booking agency lists the address as Cobra St, whereas the GPS shows it as the Mitchell Hwy, one and the same thing, which did cause some anxiety until a phone call to the motel set us on the right track.

The Mitchell Hwy is the major highway running through Dubbo and as such is wall to wall motels of every size and class. Following the directions from the owner took us straight to our destination. First impressions were favourable with reception on the right and an inviting swimming pool on the left. Just the thing after a 10 hour drive.

The motel consists of the traditional courtyard of units and a double-storey block facing the street. Our unit, 102, was on the right with parking directly in front. It was the traditional old style motel room layout and as such was a bit dated, however it was obvious that steps were underway to update and refurbish the rooms. There was a flat screen TV on the wall with pay TV, free wifi, a kitchenette with microwave and aircon.
Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the pillows and linen clean and comfortable as well. There is a chair and lounge and bench along the wall. Altogether everything you needed for a comfortable stay.

The main thing that impressed was the refurbished bathroom; everything that had been done was to a high spec and standard. It is quite obvious that the motel was quite old and dated, but that there was genuine effort being made to update the premises.

I can only speak for our room, but I think the Homestead is good value for what you get in a town full of motels of very star rating you could want.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    14
    7
    14
See reviews for
28
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a family room with our grandies and, apart from the rooms needing updating, had no complaints with this motel. They had the most efficient hot water system we have ever seen, water was piping hot almost instantaneously. Beds were very comfortable, TV met with the kids approval and the location was great, walking distance to plenty of dining options.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have stayed at this motel several times throughout the year (last time was a few days ago). When I saw the other reviews it definitely would have deterred me from staying. However I can say that my last stay which was a couple of days ago was comfortable and the bed linen was clean (was the first thing I checked).
This motel is budget accommodation, if you are looking for something modern or a little upmarket this is not the place. The decor, furniture, etc. is all dated however during my experience has been clean. The host was friendly during each visit. This is good budget accommodation which basically meets our needs and will save you a few dollars.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms that appear to be getting renovated so try them in a few weeks. Given the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

convenient location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and eager to help when ask for directions. We booked the 2 bedroom unit its was big and spacious, The room was very modern, feels comfortable, had LCD TV in each room 32" i believe, r/c aircon in each room, free wifi, had a kitchenette facility was very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here with my partner in June 2013.
I can't really say that it had anything outstanding to put it above the rest, the room was clean and the bathroom nice, staff were pleasant.
I do think motels are pricing themselves out of the market, however this one seemed reasonable.
For a nights stopover on the way through town, I think this motel is fine.
You could do a lot worse than the Homestead.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room away from the main road to lessen traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I drove a 14hr day from Victoria and all we wanted was to have a shower and jump into bed for descent nights sleep... As soon as we arrived my partner went for a shower while I got into bed to watch some tv and wait for the shower to be free. I immediately wasn't comfortable the bed and liner did not feel very clean and fresh and I thought I could feel something crawling on me. My partner got in next to me where he felt something bite him, seconds later I felt it too! We jumped out of bed and shook out the blankets and sheets where I also found small hairs between the sheet and comforter! I packed my stuff immediately and we went and informed management. When they arrived in to the room they looked at us in complete confusion we told him what had happened and he reassured us that nothing like this has ever happened before, we requested have money back and we would be leaving he refused a refund because the bed was unmade and the shower was used we were happy enough to pay for the towel we used he kept refusing our request and continued to play stupid! He then leant over the bed and asked my partner to show him the bug that bit him!! I told him we were leaving and I was going to make a formal complaint he agreed to give us $60 out of our $95 we payed... Absolutely discussing room even worse service the men in the management are horrible people to deal with... DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We regret that we didn't see these reviews earlier :(

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erin_howarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubbo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a two bedroom unit for Easter. The room was very dated and fairly basic but the bathroom and shower were fairly large and the water pressure was good. We were a little disturbed to find a fine white dust through the throw rug when my husband shook it out, we later discovered that this "dust" was an attempt to kill the bed bugs that infested this room. My two daughters spent the rest of the week on antihistamines and hydroquartozone cream to treat the dozens of bites they had from this place. I have never stayed in an establishment with bed bugs before and I was horrified that I put my family through this. There needs to be thorough steam cleaning of all the beds, carpets and furnishings in these rooms to kill the bugs and I can't see the owners spending the money. Pay a little more and go elsewhere. The money you save here will be spent on your medical care afterwards!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Blue Lagoon
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
#27 of 30 in Dubbo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#15 of 30 in Dubbo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#8 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dubbo Palms Motel
Dubbo Palms Motel
#21 of 30 in Dubbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden West Motor Inn
Golden West Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in Dubbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead Motel

Property: The Homestead Motel
Address: 101 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Homestead Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Homestead Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing