We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Dubbo
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed January this year with our 3 kid's & we didn't want to leave! The park itself was great & we loved our cabin,everything you need is right there.The BBQ area even had a sink,paper towel & tong's for every one to use! The pool,giant jumping pillow & play equipment are brilliant, The kid's had something to do in between our planned activities. The other guest's were friendly & the staff we had the pleasure of meeting were exceptional. Very friendly & beyond helpful. I hope i get the chance to stay again. Unfortunately i don't know the name of the lovely lady at the check in desk, but thank you to her again. You made my experience very pleasant & a lot less stressful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Dubbo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 376 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had an overnight stay in January. We drove from Forbes to Dubbo via the Parkes Observatory and Dubbo Zoo. It was stinking hot and were looking forward to a swim in the pool when we got there. It is only a small pool and it was packed but took the temp down.
The cabins are basic but have everything you need.
The park also has a jumping pillow, and a kids play area, all of which could do with a cover from the sun..
The ladies at reception were fabulous and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The camping area for tents has NO shade what so ever. We parked the car near the tent to utilize the side awning on the car.... Only to be told you cannot park the car on the grass and it would need to be moved immediately (mind you we had just sat down for tea....)
Caretaker is extremely rude and we will not be recommending this park
Toilets were not cleaned adequately either
For the extra rates charged for anymore than 2 people, this was not worth the money. The animals in the zoo at least got shade

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BIG4 Dubbo Parklands, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests.
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
There is one area of the unpowered tent sites which does not have any shade during the day, this is located on a flat grassed area. We ask that cars do not drive on this area as it is located right beside the children’s playground. There is a barrier located in the area and this is here for the safety of the children. We apologies if you feel the staff came across as rude as this is never their intention; their goal is to ensure everyone in the park has an enjoyable and safe time.
During peak school holiday periods the amenities blocks do get a lot of use and the staff try to ensure the cleanliness and hygiene is kept to the highest standard. If at any time a guest feels they are not up to standard and it is highlighted to the Managers they will ensure it is taken care of immediately.
Our rate structure is based on 2 people staying and any additional persons are charged an addition fee which is standard across the industry and in line with our competitors.
We hope you enjoyed your onward journey.
Aspen Parks and Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great great location to the zoo, we stayed as a family 3 adults and 2 young children in a 3 bed villa it was very good clean and tidy ...The park was good great bmx bike track the jumping pillow good but would b better if it had a cover as it was hot u could not stay on it...The pool to to small at 1 stage there was about 20 kids in it so u could not move was to small but a nice place to stay if going to the zoo.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review of BIG4 Dubbo Parklands, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities.
We realise it does get hot during the summer so we are looking at putting shade sails over the pool and the jumping pillow in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Aspen Parks and Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family and I have just finished a massive caravanning trip, so we stayed at quite a few caravan parks - and this one was the worst. The drive through site which we were allocated was too small to extend our camper trailer's awning, and the standard sites weren't much better - all very small and packed tightly together. I thought the pool was good, but that was about all. The amenities were very poor. With the amount of people at the park using them, they quickly became dirty and wet. They were more like public bathrooms at a shopping centre than shared amenities at a caravan park.

The thing I found most frustrating was that despite there being plenty of empty sites, all of the vans that were there were packed in close together. It would have been much more comfortable for everyone if we had been spread out a little more.

Overall I thought it was overpriced for what you got, and if I ever am back in Dubbo I'll certainly be finding a different park to stay in.

Room Tip: Don't get a drive through site if you have a caravan that can fit in a standard site. Standard s...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BIG4 Dubbo Parklands. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Our drive thru sites are long, narrow sites and not large enough for an annex or awning. All our guests are told of this when booking and on arrival, there is also a note on the website regarding information on the size of van etc that needs to be advised when booking online.
If a guest is not happy with their site they can speak to the Park Managers and they will do their best to relocate them to another site if one is available.
During peak school holiday periods the amenities blocks do get a lot of use and the staff try to ensure the cleanliness and hygiene is kept to the highest standard. If at any time a guest feels they are not up to standard and it is highlighted to the Managers they will ensure it is taken care of immediately.
Our staff are on hand to help and make sure our guests stay is enjoyable. If there are any problems during a guests stay they just need to ask for assistance at the time and the staff will be more than happy to help.
Aspen Parks and Resorts Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The ground was so hard we could not peg out our site. Asked at the office and was told basically 'bad luck'. Booked 2 nights, stayed 1.
Oh and the toilets were very dirty.
Very disappointing for a Big 4. Won't be staying again. The day we left the had the sprinklers on the sites. A little too late for us sorry.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Hoagsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
Unfortunately the ground is very hard as it is red clay and during the hot summer it dries out very quickly. We try to water the sites during the day when most people are gone and before they come back in the afternoon. However during busy periods this is not always possible.
We take the hygiene and cleanliness of our amenities blocks very seriously so if there is an issue it just has to be brought to the Park Managers attention and it will be attended too immediately.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We go camping a LOT, and every place has a vibe. This wasn't a good one.
The front desk staff are efficient but not what I'd call friendly. The toilets and showers clean considering the amount of traffic. The pool great, the 4:30 movie great. The lack of shade cloth over the jumping pillow was an issue.
My 8 year old daughter was being picked on by 14 year old boys, she told management and they handled it.
Wasn't impressed with the lack of etiquette from the kids. Not the park's fault I guess, but kids riding through my site snd knocking the tent ropes doesn't make for a good trip. Nor does being woken by loud conversationalists at 5:45am.
Just didn't get a good vibe from the park.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Aussiemumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for BIG4 Dubbo Parklands. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities at the park.
We are sorry to hear you feel our staff were not friendly. They strive to make everyone feel welcome and be helpful and polite at all times.
A shade sail over the jumping pillow is something we are looking at installing in the near future.
Quiet time at the park is between 10pm and 7am and we usually do not have a problem with noise at this time however during the holidays we did have some guest who do leave very early in the morning to avoid travelling in the hottest part of the day.
We are sorry you feel you did not get a good vibe, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Aspen Parks and Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#21 of 30 in Dubbo
458 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dubbo City Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dubbo Midstate Caravan Park
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
0.8 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Dubbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Dubbo

Address: 154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia (Formerly BIG4 Dubbo Parklands)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Price Range: $76 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Dubbo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Parks - Dubbo covers every reason why people travel for leisure. Looking for some awesome sights to see? Check out Taronga Western Plains Zoo, which plays host to a wide variety of animals or see the Old Dubbo Gaol for a fascinating look at the past. Prefer to relax? Enjoy Discovery Parks - Dubbo's WiFi and heated outdoor swimming pool, while your kids play on the kangaroo jumper and playground. Turn your boring school camp or corporate retreat into something more exciting by using Discovery Parks - Dubbo. We have experience in hosting school trips, work functions and sporting competitions. Are you ready to discover one of New South Wales' best-kept secrets? Whatever your reason for coming to Dubbo, Discovery Parks - Dubbo has you covered! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Dubbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing