We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Two Doors

Two Doors
Ranked #25 of 132 Restaurants in Dubbo
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Two Doors is a somewhere to relax with good friends, great food, and an extensive wine & beer menu, Two Doors is the perfect venue for any occasion - or no occasion at all! Our cosy rooms and Terrace cater for intimate dinners, large parties, and everything in between. For a quiet drink or a fabulous feast, Two Doors, in the heart of Dubbo, has it all.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The service was absolutely terrible. It took an age to take our order, then when other people who came after us received their food before us, we realised that our order had been forgotten. Which it had. When our food finally came, only 3/5 dishes we had ordered appeared. The others never came. The portions were miserable, the food was overpriced. NEVER GO THERE.

Helpful?
3 Thank Roselyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Owner at Two Doors, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your blunt review. Easter Saturday is the busiest night of the year for most restaurants in Dubbo & while we would like to make it a perfect night for every diner, lack of bookings, shortage of staff with members choosing to be with their family & volume of numbers, gave us a very trying night.
The owner did offer to provide your missed meals, free of charge but this was declined & we certainly apologised for the obvious errors that occurred with your table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    56
    23
    18
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had high hopes but were very disappointed. Paella for 2 was poorly cooked rice , 2 prawns, 2 mussels and a can of tomatoes. Service was apalling, polite but no idea when we left before sweets and told them why, Mushroom and chicken dish were ok but did not reach the wrap given to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just finished another fabulous meal at Two Doors. It is, by far, the best restaurant in Dubbo. It was a busy night, completely booked, but our food was delicious, the eggplant and haloumi moussaka was divine and the creme brulee, heavenly. Two Doors did not disappoint again. Cant wait for the new menu

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delight for Dubbo”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We dined on perhaps their busiest night, Easter Saturday, when many other places were closed for the long weekend. The place was packed to the rafters and it was as busy as it could be. Usually this is disaster territory for many establishments but not this one. We did have to wait about 20 minutes for the food with the salad arriving first, but the flavoursome dressing and the silky feta in the Greek salad was appreciated by all. My youngest had the nachos kid's meal, which was so nice we all had to have a "taste". The garlic mushrooms came with a hint of chilli and the chorizo in cider had warm crusty bread to help soak up the rich sauce formed at the bottom of the dish. The paella was a bit too tomato rich but it must be hard sourcing seafood so far inland. The beef rib dish was huge and deserts were varied and came with a real vanilla ice cream.
It isn't a cheap dining experience but all up the five of us came out at around $190, including drinks and wine.
At the end the owner was keen to make sure everything was ok and checked the bill through because the rush had meant some dishes ran out and changes were made at many tables. The staff were run off their feet but they always remained pleasant and polite (even if some patrons didn't !).
An excellent dining experience for Dubbo. I would go again and so would the rest of my group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely go to this one!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Definitely recommend this gem of the central west of NSW.
Great tastes, good value, friendly efficient service, historic building - what could be better?!
We ordered half serves of the anchovy toasts, garlic mushrooms, zucchini and pumpkin, moussaka and a greek salad. All delicious, and washed down with a great bottle of Crowned Glory Shiraz from Gooree Park in Mudgee at a very reasonable price. Followed by a tasty dessert and good coffee, we were grateful for a walk afterwards!
Would not hesitate to come again, and thanks to the Visitor Info Centre for their Eating Out Guide.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3chooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Doors also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Two Doors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing