We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WE LOVED THIS LITTLE PIECE OF HISTORY”
other travelers have booked this property
ORIGINAL SONE MINER'S COTTAGE BUILT 1896. Charming, quiet, close to attractions and Shops.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ORIGINAL SONE MINER'S COTTAGE BUILT 1896. Charming, quiet, close to attractions and Shops.
The romantic Lavender bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
ORIGINAL SONE MINER'S COTTAGE BUILT 1896. Charming, quiet, close to attractions and Shops.
The romantic Lavender bedroom
The Rose Room
Comfortable lounge with DVD library
Cook up a storm or just boil and egg!  It's all there.
Plenty of fluffy towels
This BBQ cooks great steaks!
Part of the back yard.
Springtime at the cottage
The Entrance
A MINER'S REST BROKEN HILL
The old South mine
We came across these two on our wildflower walk
Fishing at the Menindee Lakes
Very rare but very beautiful Sturt's Desert Pea
Free ride on a camel anyone?
View from the Sculpture Park
One of the famous sculptures
Broken Hill from the air
Silverton Council building circa 1800s
Anzac memorial main street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broken Hill, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catelise
Sydney, NSW
1 review
“WE LOVED THIS LITTLE PIECE OF HISTORY”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We’ve stayed in cottages on our second trip around Australia and we were fortunate to find ‘A Miner’s Rest’ as it was the one we most enjoyed. The cottage itself was a step back in time which we loved. It was spotless, supremely comfortable, had beds that gave you a good night’s sleep, cupboards full of bits and pieces for guests to use, a spa, plenty of parking and to sit on the back veranda with a glass of red at the end of the day while the sun went down was glorious. The owners were a delight and gave us plenty of information about their lovely town. Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you so much Catelse. It was kind of you to give us such a lovely review and we are really pleased you enjoyed 'A Miner's Rest' and had a comfortable stay. We enjoy watching the BH sunsets with a glass wine too - a perfect end to a day of exploring. Hope to see you again some day but in the meantime take care!
All the Best,
Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bang L
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must stay for those who are nostalgic”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We certainly love the cottage. It's a uniquely special experience in which you are brought back to the yesteryear, a fantastic and must stay place for nostalgic people like us. The house has been very well kept, clean and tidy. Karyl is very thoughtful and provides everything you ever need for your stay. You just feel like living in your own house, but in the yesteryear. The back yard is very spacious and a lovely place for a cup of coffee in the morning or afternoon. Rooms are cosy and comfy. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped. I can't see why you shouldn't give it a try.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you for this lovely comment Bang.I apologise for not replying sooner but I missed your kind review.
Henry and I are very pleased you enjoyed the cottage and found it comfortable and you had plenty of room to stretch out in. We love sitting out the back with a coffee too and find that relaxing spot as well.
Thank you for your booking our cottage and we he to see you again one day!
Best Regards,
Karyl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stumpie8
Echuca, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We actually booked and stayed back in 2011 but Tripadvisor do not go back that far.The the house was amazing, Plenty of space, lovely beds and full kitchen and great location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Hello Stumpie 8... Well thank you very much! We love hearing voices from the past and we are delighted with you leaving us such a kind comment. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and good that you were comfortable there, and no doubt enjoyed our country town as well. Maybe we will see you again some day?
All the Best for Easter,
Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionainpa...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect family base for a visit to Broken Hill”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

On a 2 week road trip holiday with 2 young kids, we found A Miner's Rest a wonderful home base for our 2 night stay in Broken Hill. It was a quiet, residential location with a good sized yard. Parking was easy - either in the yard or on the front street. The property is 'period style' and gives you a feel for how things must have been a century ago - its walls must hold a lot of history and we enjoyed this much more than that a regular motel. We found the kitchen well equipped for cooking meals. Our sleep comfort was good. The kitchen heater was effective as the mornings were very brisk. It was great to find a pile of kids books for bedtime stories and the games were good for 'down time'. I'd happily stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2017
Thank you Fiona for your lovely review. That was very kind of you and we do appreciate it. guest reviews are akin to gold for us!
We are so happy you and the children enjoyed your stay at 'Miner's' and you found the cottage to your liking. It's always good to know how our guests found important things like bed comfort and kitchen convenience etc as it means we are on the right track for guest relaxation during their stay - always the most important thing! Thank you for staying at our cottage and we hope to see you again one day. You never know!
All the Best,
Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horoto42
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and warm”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the cottage, it was quiet and warm. It was well equipped with everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Hello Tony..........................Thank you very much for your kind comments. We do appreciate you taking the time to do this for us as guests' comments are so valuable to us and to other guests who are thinking of booking A Miner's Rest.

I'm SO glad you were cosy and warm as we had some of the coldest weather we have ever had during your visit. We were worried your trip to BH may not have been as pleasurable as we like it to be for our guests because of the weather, but I hope you rugged up and saw what you wanted to see.
All the Best!
Henry & Karyl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen G
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great nostalgic accomadation”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a wonderful warm and well presented Miner's cottage with it's squeaky floors. It was well set out and really well provisioned . It was like stepping back in time. Thanks Henry and Karyl. We would highly recommend this accommodation to visitors to Broken Hill.We found Broken Hill an amazing inland city with plenty of attractions.Miner's Rest is the ideal place to stay and visit the attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old world feel and the comfortable accomadation
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Thank you Therese and Allen for your kind words. It was good of you to review 'Miner's" for us and we do appreciate your taking the time to do it.
It was good to meet you, even so briefly, and we are glad you enjoyed Broken Hill despite the windy cold weather when you arrived! It does have some amazing things to see doesn't it?
Hope you had a safe trip home and your parcel is on its way.
Best Wishes,

Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYNTHIA D...
1 review
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had little trouble in finding the cottage and plenty of room for our car & trailer. We found the kitchen floor a little noisy but the rest of the cottage very comfortable.
A nice quiet area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet & comfortable.
Liked least: As I stated earlier the kitchen floor a little noisy.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing