We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broken Hill Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broken Hill Tourist Park
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tidy park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with an en-suite site.

En-suite was clean - nothing fancy but practical

Site was tidy - we were lucky to be under a tree for some shade.

Pool was freezing but it was 40 degrees so that was good.

Washing facilities were good.

5 min drive to town - on a busy Highway but that did not bother us.

Given where you are in the middle of a lot of nothing I was happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Manager at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Broken Hill Tourist Park and made the most of the park facilities during your visit. We're glad you found the park to be presentable as our team work very hard to ensure the grounds and accommodation are well maintained. We hope to see you in Broken Hill again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    80
    27
    24
See reviews for
77
122
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Never again. Besides the staff being the rudest I've come across in any park we've stayed in, the amenities are dirty. The basin had dried toothpaste that looked like it had been there for days, hair clogged the drains and the mop to clean the showers was in a dry bucket and looked like it should have been condemned. The camp kitchen opened when another guest tracked someone down to unlock the door. Inside we were greeted with dirty benches and a table with dried up food, I know guests should clean up after themselves but if they don't surely the staff would or should. The pool was clean but surrounds need attention. I was told wi-fi may not be working but I asked for the login in anyway, it was very reluctantly handed over and guess what? It worked fine!!!! We have stayed in this park several times but this will be our last.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JimbosTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Owner at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your valued feedback. It's always disappointing to hear of an unhappy camper and we apologise that the short time you spent with us wasn't the great holiday experience we try to provide.

It is disappointing to hear that you were not happy with the amenities block or our camp kitchen. We have a dedicated team of cleaners who do an excellent job and of whom we are very proud. Following your comments we will review the best way to deal with this when allocating the daily times our team members clean our park facilities.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broken Hill hotels

Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for just one night in the 2 x bedroom premium cabin, the staff were very helpful due to us arriving late they organized a after hour key. The cabin was very modern and clean. Plenty of room for a much longer stay if needed. On the main road in from adelaide so very easy to find and very quiet of a night time. Was very happy with our stay and would definitely stay again in these cabins.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Owner at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear RySo,

Many thanks for a great review! We very much appreciate your feedback.

Lots of our guests only have the chance to stay one night as they travel through Broken Hill and we are more than happy to assist. Our Superior 2BR Cabins are a fantastic choice for either a comfortable one night stop over or an extended stay!

We hope to see you again when your next travel through Outback NSW.

Safe travels till we see you again. The Team at Broken Hill Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I highly recommend you go elsewhere. First of all the location is horrendous. Its on the main highway so trucks are going past all day and night so very very noisey. Also there is a veterinary directly across the road and the dogs bark consistently. If you are in a tent you will need ear plugs which I can promise you arnt even enough to block the noise from inside a cabin.
The basic cabins are so tiny and for the price you will be very disappointed. They contain everything you need but you can barely turn around. If it cost $50 you could justify it but for over $100 its not worth it.
There is a pool and laundry which is nice.
Apparently you get free wifi but after an hour of attempting to connect we had no luck on two different computers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Cabin was not a cabin at all, it's a shipping container with no shade, noisy air conditioner and right on a busy highway. Internally drab and cramped. Wouldn't recommend it and would certainly never stay here again. The cabins pictured on the website are not necessarily the ones you get. Very expensive for what it is, especially compared to hotels in town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank intretraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Owner at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Intretraveller60,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay and we find it disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The cabin that you are referring to is one of our Budget Cabins, which is located closer to the road however these cabins include all bedding and linen, basic cooking facilities, and an ensuite, Foxtel TV and Free Wifi Access.

However at the time of arrival, if you had approached any one of our friendly team members they would have been able to offer a number of alternatives with a choice of some 38 ensuite cabins and 20 motel rooms to chose from during your recent stay.

Kind Regards
The Team at Broken Hill Tourist Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Possibly the best park we have styled in, clean, caravan sites for large vans, even though the park is huge, it is very quiet, owners are very polite and friendly.
Broken Hill is a great place to stay.
If, there was anything that I would criticise would be the traffic noise, trucks, but, not too bad

Room Tip: I am commenting about the park and caravan sites only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Owner at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Barrie W,
Thanks for the great feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you guys again in Broken Hill!
Cheers
The Team at Broken Hill Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We called to book two nights for an unpowered site. When we got there and we had a camper trailer, we were told 'sorry, I thought you had a tent'. They were completely booked out but instead of saying 'sorry we're full', they had us pitch the camper the in the 'storage area'. We still got charged the full amount. We were literally set up in a dusty carpark. It was disgusting! One of the washing machines was also broken but there was no sign up it just took your money but didn't work.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vaughanand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Owner at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Vaughand K,

It’s disappointing to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay. If you had informed us that you were not happy with the unpowered site for your camper trailer we would have done our best to either arranged for an alternative site for your stay or provide a refund and recommended another caravan park in Broken Hill.

We have a brilliant team of maintenance workers available at anytime to assist with anything that may be in need repairing and I hope you brought this to their attention when it occurred so they could have repaired it immediately for you during your stay,

Kind Regards,
The Team at Broken Hill Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
2.0 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sturt Motel
Sturt Motel
#16 of 17 in Broken Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Hill Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Hill Tourist Park

Property: Broken Hill Tourist Park
Address: 142 Rakow St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broken Hill Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Broken Hill Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing