We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Broken Hill Tourist Park
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The cabin we stayed in was reasonable, nothing special. I would say the dining/lounge space was rather small for 4 people.
The staff were friendly enough.
I think it would be better suited to people in caravan then people wishing to stay in a cabin.
Also if camping grass sites are few.

Room Tip: Probably better for caravans then people seeking to sleep in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koalas_are_not_bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed in an ensuite caravan site which was clean and easily accessible. This tourist park is well located to explore Broken Hill and Silverton or as a transit point for other locations. Friendly office but this park is always busy so book ahead if possible

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boldechidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice park for our stay in the caravan.

Very busy, always full. Before someone leaves there seems to be another waiting for their spot.
Most caravan spots are on pine bark. The few with grass are more expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sharonjoymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The most expensive park on our trip from Brisbane to Adelaide, yet facilities did not match the price-showers had broken tiles and no soap containers. Free WiFi had very limited range and cut out before 10 emails could be downloaded. Sites were very small , our 4.5m van and car could barely fit on the site, and neighbours were right on top of you. Will bypass Broken Hill next time through.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Treefrog4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on our road trip.

True, the Superior Cabins face the Barrier Hwy and it can get noisy at times. Sometimes the locals leaving the pub can also cause a little concern to those in the Cabins facing the Highway but this is not in the Park's control. The Cabins should be to the back of the park and a noise barrier erected to try and muffle the Hwy's noise.

The cabins are superior, clean, comfy and a good price.

Whilst in Broken Hill, do check out Silverton and all the local attractions. Broken Hill has played a big part in Australian history!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharonJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouristParkOperator, Guest Relations Manager at Broken Hill Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Sharon,
Thanks for your comments that you have posted on Trip Advisor.
Regarding the highway we have made some plantings along the front of the cabins so hopefully that they will buffer any noise in the future. Unfortunately our climate and growing conditions here in Broken Hill means that it will take some time for these to get established.
Once again thanks for the high ratings that you have given our Park.
Cheers
The Team at Broken Hill Tourist Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This tourist park suited us perfectly - although it was a little cold in tents in July in Broken Hill! We had a powered site, and the large shopping centre a 2 minute drive away was very convenient. We had a 3 night stay while we checked out the sites in Broken Hill. Made good use of the camp kitchen to get out of the cold for meals - only problem was when someone disconnected the freezer...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good location, but a few points:

The Park is on the Barrier Highway and trucks crash through there all night - we found it hard to sleep in our camper trailer. A tip is to negotiate a site away from the vehicle choke-points in the park, as early risers move-out with vans and diesels from around 5am.

The advertised "free WIFI" is limited to 50MB and/or 3hrs per day, which isn't really enough for a family re-connecting after a few days in the bush.

All tents and campers are on wood chip, to protective grass. It was fine, but don't expect to be on the lovely grass in view.

Unpowered sites don't have water. We were able to hose it in from nearby sites, but this could have been trouble.....

Shopping centre nearby has woolworths, Big W, target and more.

If you need to refill gas cylinders, go to Broken Hill Caravan and Trailer Centre cnr Barrier Highway and Creedon Street, almost across the road. Excellent service and old-fashioned gas filling.

Ate a meal at The Palace Hotel (famous for Prescillia Queen of the Desert). A bit pricey but it was an excellent meal and atmosphere. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Littondoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
2 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sturt Motel
Sturt Motel
#13 of 17 in Broken Hill
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
1 mi away
Hilltop Motel
Hilltop Motel
#11 of 17 in Broken Hill
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Hill Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Hill Tourist Park

Address: 142 Rakow St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Broken Hill
Price Range: $103 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broken Hill Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Broken Hill Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing