We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sad motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Crystal
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A sad motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed four nights at the Comfort Crystal Motel in Broken Hill, visiting for a family reunion.
The motel is old, has no cross ventilation, no electric blankets, nowhere to put your toiletries in the bathroom, and the room we occupied was generally uninviting. A cold snap necessitated the use of the noisy, and inefficient air conditioner. Hair dryers are kept at the Reception desk, so a trek over there is necessary if you have the need of one, as it is if you need an iron. While a laundry is provided for the use of guests, there are no irons in the room. Mini bar contents took over most of the fridge space.
We had prebooked and paid for our stay otherwise we would have moved out after the first night. My sister lives in the north of Australia so she was particularly uncomfortably cold so we bought a hot water bottle just for the stay.
On the plus side the staff are marvellous, so helpful, and provided us with a hair dryer, iron and board which we kept in our room for the duration.
We were dismayed that most of our extended family were staying at other places in Broken Hill for a lot less money and getting much better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
12
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillside Victoria
Level Contributor
217 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stay here with a party of 3 adults & 2 children in a spacious family room. The staff were most accommodating & the Motel was easy to find & within walking distance to the main shopping area.
The only faults that we could find were that there was only one power point (on the bench) & that the inter net wouldn't work. My husband has a pump for sleeping & we had to get an extension cord to run to the bed to plug it in. With the inter net the lady at reception did try her best to get it working for us but to no avail.
All in all we had a great nights sleep. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pies1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am a private pilot with my own Piper Lance aircraft when we are heading further North wether it be with family or friends I always stop in Broken Hill for anything from 1 to 3 nights , I hire a car and explore the place , The living desert sculptures , Silverton just to mention a few if you relax and get into the history and sights of the town I think you will find it an interesting experience.

Room Tip: Family room 38 pick of the crop even if only 2 of you the other rooms are fine the might not be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found the rooms recently decorated and it is not huge 42 rooms. The staff were excellent and friendly. It is just 2mins walk from Broken Hill railway station. The only thing is yes-it is a little dated and the bathrooms had no area for personal items around washbasin .i.e no vanity area. It has an asian restaurant on site and is a 2 min walk from the Musicians club. It is a member of the Choice hotel chain worldwide and can be trusted as per their guarantee. Broken Hill is served by a daily coach/rail service and a weekly Countrylink service to Sydney and the scenery is awesome.- the real outback.The Indian Pacific also transits on the route from Sydney to Perth

Room Tip: request grounf floorif you have a problem with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank personalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This a large motel property that has not been renovated for many years. Whilst the rooms were clean and the staff friendly enough, the overall ambience of the place is depressing.
I believe that the occupancy rate in Broken Hill is quite high so there is little incentive to upgrade properties such as this.
I would suggest that if you are contemplating a trip to "The Hill" to book elsewhere well in advance. There are many properties in town in much better condition and for about the same sort of money.
Breakfast was served to the room and was acceptable.
Above all don't book a front room. It is opposite the train station and there was a locomotive idling its engine from 4am.

Room Tip: Don't book a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pioneer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Only stayed 1 night, rooms OK but very small, alright for 1 night but no more. Convenient to cafes & Musicians Club a very short walk in same street. Staff at reception very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Rooms are very old, small and need a huge makeover - was not our first choice in fact one the few rooms available but could not recommend this motel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Willyama Motor Inn
Old Willyama Motor Inn
#7 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Crystal

Property: Comfort Inn Crystal
Address: 326 Crystal St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Hill Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing