We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very interesting Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Crystal
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very interesting Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am a private pilot with my own Piper Lance aircraft when we are heading further North wether it be with family or friends I always stop in Broken Hill for anything from 1 to 3 nights , I hire a car and explore the place , The living desert sculptures , Silverton just to mention a few if you relax and get into the history and sights of the town I think you will find it an interesting experience.

Room Tip: Family room 38 pick of the crop even if only 2 of you the other rooms are fine the might not be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
12
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found the rooms recently decorated and it is not huge 42 rooms. The staff were excellent and friendly. It is just 2mins walk from Broken Hill railway station. The only thing is yes-it is a little dated and the bathrooms had no area for personal items around washbasin .i.e no vanity area. It has an asian restaurant on site and is a 2 min walk from the Musicians club. It is a member of the Choice hotel chain worldwide and can be trusted as per their guarantee. Broken Hill is served by a daily coach/rail service and a weekly Countrylink service to Sydney and the scenery is awesome.- the real outback.The Indian Pacific also transits on the route from Sydney to Perth

Room Tip: request grounf floorif you have a problem with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank personalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This a large motel property that has not been renovated for many years. Whilst the rooms were clean and the staff friendly enough, the overall ambience of the place is depressing.
I believe that the occupancy rate in Broken Hill is quite high so there is little incentive to upgrade properties such as this.
I would suggest that if you are contemplating a trip to "The Hill" to book elsewhere well in advance. There are many properties in town in much better condition and for about the same sort of money.
Breakfast was served to the room and was acceptable.
Above all don't book a front room. It is opposite the train station and there was a locomotive idling its engine from 4am.

Room Tip: Don't book a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pioneer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Only stayed 1 night, rooms OK but very small, alright for 1 night but no more. Convenient to cafes & Musicians Club a very short walk in same street. Staff at reception very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Rooms are very old, small and need a huge makeover - was not our first choice in fact one the few rooms available but could not recommend this motel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed in the three bedroom cottage and were pleasantly surprised. Parking right by our door. The whole complex was very clean and tidy. Inside was meticulous, the lounge suite even had a recliner, large screen tv, modern furnishings, beds were comfortable and the kitchen and dining areas were modern and quite spacious.

I read the previous review about the trains - well yes, there are freight and interstate trains and we had great fun watching them from our verandah - they added a real charm to our trip as the chugged slowly by.

Broken Hill is a welcoming and friendly town and we would certainly stay at the Comfort Inn Crystal again. Don't forget to walk a few doors down to the Musician's Club for dinner, they had lamb shanks to die for!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinytracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

The Comfort Inn Crystal was obviously built in the 1960s and if you want 1960s amenities this is the place for you. The rooms are TINY and so are the televisions. The bathroom took up at least 1/3 of the space in my room creating an inconvenient 'L' shape for the accommodation. The place was comfortable and the staff friendly but I wouldn't stay there again.

The motel is directly opposite the railway station and goods yard and I was woken in the early morning each day by the sounds of railway shunting, locomotive horns and passener announcements from the station.

  • Liked — Convenient location close to the centre of town
  • Disliked — Proximity of railway line, size of rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Silver Haven Motor Inn
The Silver Haven Motor Inn
#9 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Willyama Motor Inn
Old Willyama Motor Inn
#8 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Crystal

Property: Comfort Inn Crystal
Address: 326 Crystal St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Hill Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing