We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“miners cottage”

About Town Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broken Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
About Town Cottages
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“miners cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Brought back to the days of the miners, only with modern day comforts. Bed was so comfortable, cottage quite spacious. Heater worked very will on a chilly night. Very handy to the main street. Tony and Marilyn

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gordon, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Doug is a very focused host and wants to ensure that his guests really do maximise their stay. it was as others say, very good value for money and our friends stayed next door.
Close to everything and we did not find the available utensils short for us.
Clean and tidy
happy to recommend
Clare and John

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john302444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus Bay
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is superb value for money. We stayed in Blue Gum for two nights, and although it's a lovely period cottage, don't expect period character inside - it has been completely renovated into a modern and spacious living area.
We slept perfectly in a quiet and peaceful street, even though it's only a few blocks from the CBD.
The kitchen had everything you could need, and was spotless. One of the thoughtful touches is a marvellous compendium which includes not only all of the "need to know" stuff, but lots of historical reading as well - we loved it.
I can thoroughly recommend this place, it felt welcoming and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryVenusBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for a few nights in Yellow Gum Cottage. It was the perfect house for us with 2 young kids as there was plenty of room for them to move inside and out. Despite the cottage being old with timber floors, it was warm and cosy, particularly with the heater on. Our kids enjoyed picking fruit from the trees in the yard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers_Brisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#4 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jadan Cottages
Jadan Cottages
#1 of 15 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver City Cottages
Silver City Cottages
#7 of 15 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to About Town Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about About Town Cottages

Property: About Town Cottages
Address: 324 Lane St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Broken Hill
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us different? Our main requirement for our cottages is a quiet location, our properties are chosen on that basis! We could have bought properties on the highway or on busy streets, but we wouldn't be able to sleep there with all the noise and don't expect you would either. We offer 2 bedroom cottages/houses/flats at an affordable price without cutting comfort. If you want affordable comfortable accommodation without all the expensive gimmicks (such as shoe shine kits, data link, food, chocolates, wine at inflated cost etc) then please consider us. The cottages are spacious and without clutter. The beds are suited to the size of the rooms and have plenty of space around them. There are no bunks! Our single beds are single beds. So there is no climbing to get in bed. We want you to be able to spread out, be comfortable, and enjoy your stay - not be packed in like sardines. What we provide is clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with all the normal facilities - Bathroom, Television, Video/DVD, Kitchen, domestic sized Fridge, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Microwave and most importantly, comfortable beds! Our decors are easy on the eye, paint schemes are light and clean pastel colours. We have selected properties that are close to all the amenities but are away from the noise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing