We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Broken Hill”
Review of Red Earth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Earth Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Broken Hill”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

After trialling several hotels in broken hill for business I finally found one that meets my requirements; quite, very comfy bed, modern and very comfortable.
The Astra is only a 5 min walk away to replace the in dining experience.

Thank you and well done I will be back, maybe with the kids next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    57
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
161
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The Red Earth is at the bottom end of the Main Street, so it's away from the hustle and bustle of traffic. There are still some trucks going passed but this all settles down in the evening, making for a peaceful sleep.

These are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The pillows are perfect and the air con in the room is lovely and quiet.

The rooms look brand new as they are extremely clean and well maintained. Yes, the full size fridge is in a cupboard, which can be a bit of a pain, but if having to open two doors to get to the fridge is the worst thing about the place, then I think it's doing okay! Having a full size fridge is fantastic as this allowed me to self cater (and keep the wine cold). there is a kettle, toaster and microwave in the room as well. There is no 'mini bar' which I normally have to remove from those little bar fridge anyway to fit my stuff in, but tea, plunger coffee, REAL milk and biscuits are complimentary .... Yes REAL milk!!!

I stayed in room 15 for three nights which does face out onto the street, so if privacy is an issue for you, ask for a room further back.

There is also a smallish swimming pool and BBQ area that I didn't use on this trip, but they look clean and inviting.

I will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend Red Earth to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JCM2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Motel was very accessible. I am in a wheelchair and need larger room. The bathroom was absolutely perfect. Lots of room. The Motel is near the shops in the Main Street arrangements had been made with restaurant nearby to charge meals to
Our account. I found the Staff were very helpful. Lots of space. Staff were very helpful. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertopgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Very new and modern rooms, close to town (walking distance), well designed. Downside was lack of tv in bedroom, waiting several hours for washing facilities to be available ( only one washer and dryer in guest laundry that cost $10 a load and is also used by the hotel).
Finally, the biggest oopsy was someone coming in our room at 8 am with a key. Big no no in the hotel industry. Quite clearly we were still checked in... The car was in the car park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyce28red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We pulled in here on our way through town to see if they had a pet friendly room for my husband and I and our well trained Staffy, or at least recommend somewhere that did. Was told by management that they were not pet friendly but as long as he behaved himself and stayed inside (and his wife didnt find out) we could stay. We unpacked and had been in the room for 3.5 hrs when the wife arrived and demanded we pay a $200 deposit/bond or credit card details in order for us to stay. She then accused me of lying as the husband had told her I had not mentioned the dog until after the room had been paid for, which was completely untrue as was the very first thing I asked. We would have gladly paid the deposit or given details had it been requested upfront or had they been nice about it. My husband demanded a refund as I was near inconsolable by this point, being 7 months pregnant and spoken to like that. We packed up and left. It was now 6pm at night and we were left to try and find somewhere else to stay.
The motel itself was lovely, had nice facilities and was clean, however I would not recommend staying here at all, and absolutely do not consider taking a pet here, even if they say yes.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Four of us travelled from Melbourne to Broken Hill recently and stayed at The Red Earth Motel. The accommodation in rooms 15 and 16 was excellent. So clean, everything you would need for a 3 night stay we had. The beds were amazing. I would high recommend The Red Earth Motel to any travellers.

Room Tip: Two couples in our party. We had rooms 15 and 16. Both fantastic. Ground floor as are all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 429Elly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were lucky enough to upgraded to a spacious two bedroom apartment. Good sized lounge room with a full size dining table adjacent to the kitchenette. Large fridge and dishwasher. The bed was very comfortable, although we would have preferred a choice of thick and thin pillows (rather than all super thick). Everything was very clean but the cleaning products used throughout were highly perfumed and very irritating to someone who is sensitive to chemicals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#4 of 17 in Broken Hill
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#7 of 17 in Broken Hill
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Earth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Earth Motel

Property: Red Earth Motel
Address: 469 Argent St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Earth Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Earth Motel offers luxury self contained and semi-self contained apartment style accommodation. As well as spacious one bedroom apartments, we also offer two and three bedroom family sized apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Earth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing