We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Sands Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Broken Hill B&B and Inns
Mildura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It was OK!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Phone booking taken by very helpful and friendly person, all reception staff when checking in and out were great. I asked for and was given a 'quiet' room away from street and restaurant - it was Room 12. Because it is tucked away near the laundry it was quiet, but housekeeping staff begin work early and the noise cranks up so don't expect a sleep in. Didn't bother me as I was also working early, all the cleaning trollies lined up outside my door were a little hazardous! Room was clean, bed very comfortable. It is quite dark though and I was disappointed that I did not have a couch, so the single bed became the couch for evening relaxing. Lots of complimentary toiletries and lovely hot, hot water in shower. I learned that this property is being sold hence lack of upgrade to furnishings. It is an easy walk to nearby shops, cafes and
restaurants. Pub bistro unappealing to solo female so I dined in restaurant - same food, higher prices. Maitre'd very good, female waitress obviously new. My meal was no more than 'pub grub'. Also car parking a little hit & miss, its very much 'first in best parked' as to how close to your room your vehicle is parked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiniDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
16
34
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I only stayed here for one night as I was travelling through. The room was nicely appointed and the bed was comfy. It looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Next door is a pub with a great bistro. The motel is only a 2 minute walk to the main street where you will also find plenty of shops and cafe's. It was an $18 cab ride from the airport. I would stay here again if travelling through Broken Hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTravelbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Arrived at 8.30pm to find the toilet not working at all & filthy dirty. Upon phoning reception, was advised nothing could be done until the morning. Several phone calls later, they got the plumber out ( who was also disgusted with the state of the toilet & was just about the only positive aspect of the stay ) so it wasn't I until 10pm that the toilet was useable. Mattress was old, very uncomfortable and sunken down on one side. Noise all night from some sort of air conditioner or refrigerator, possibly from pub next door. Receptionist was at least apologetic about the experience. Was promised partial refund by the manager due to the toilet issue, however, it's been 9 days since I spoke to them and no sign of any refund. Would definitely advise you NOT to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Desert Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Whilst I appreciate the comments as we are always keen to improve, we did everything possible to have the toilet fixed in a timely manner; sometimes these things just happen. In reference to the refund, we provided a 50% refund which was only delayed as no-one responded to the messages we left on the mobile to obtain the credit card number which was not in our system. I personally rang the customer the same day she checked out. We will always do our best to make customers feel comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broken Hill hotels

Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Arrived (with pre booking) and advised refurbished rooms booked out BUT for SAME price i am in old room!! horrendous, small, musty,greasy headboard and ext old lumpy mattress. Dimm light and bathroom very unnappealing. In morning following shower no hair dryer- rang reception and informed "no hairdryers with standard room"!!
Would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Desert Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. The hair dryer that was in the room had been stolen the day before and we were in the process of replacing it. When it was made known the customer needed a hair dryer a spare hair dryer was found within 5 minutes. I was of the impression that the customer was happy. We did not receive any comments regarding the stay upon check out and would urge all customers to let us know if they are unhappy before they leave so we can address the issue straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Arrived around 4pm on a Thursday evening without any booking. There were two rooms left, we got a room with a double bed and one single bed for $135 for the night. Check out was for 10am. The lady at reception was very friendly and still professional, she suggested dinner in the restuarant or bistro attached to the Motel. Thursday night has $10 fish/chicken/steak with chips and salad in the bistro from 6pm. We booked a table in the bistro through her. (we had the chicken schnitzel $19- it was very tasty, with fresh salad and chips. The pepper sauce was good but the mushroom sauce was not what we were used too, it was made with fresh cream and wasn't real gravy brown. We ordered an entree and it took 40 minutes and then they forgot us on our mains but gave us a free drink each for the inconvenience. Highly recommend the chicken schnitzel with pepper sauce, just don't order an entree - the kitchen only makes the main when the entree plate is returned and if the girls are busy then your table doesn't get cleared in good time.)

Car parking in the Motel was not very organised, however it didn't bother us as we got a park right out the front of our room as there were only a couple cars. If the room beside us wanted a park they would've had to park at a different angle to ensure that they didn't block other cars in or vice versa.
Our room was clean and it has a roller shutter to block out that early morning sun !
Tv and a/c were fairly new and worked perfectly.
There was an option for room service breakfast, good range of options however have to order minimum of $7.50. Toast was $2.50 and the egg/bacon/sausage/tomato meals were higher priced.

Noise level was fine until about 10.30pm when people were talking outside the room or in the next room. The room we were in was situated near a walk through area which i think was the problem.
Also the birds in this area are so noisy !
In saying that, still had a very decent sleep.

Overvall this was a great place, with very welcoming staff. Worth the amount paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnusGertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Small boxy room, too fill kettle had to use shower head! reception not attended,nothing nice about place not 4 star

Room Tip: Stay at another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Desert Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
It's always disappointing to hear such harsh comments about our motel; there are plenty of nice things about the rooms although I agree it is difficult to fill the kettle as it is too tall for the sink; we are in the process of replacing these but not all rooms can be replaced at once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This would be the worst motel we have ever stayed in. we were very misled when booking the accommodation as we were told the rooms were newly refurbished, what a joke!! new carpet was about it. the rooms should be shut down they are that bad. The dining chairs were that old the velvet had perished though to the backing fabric. On making the booking the receptionist told my husband they were 4 star, management should be charged with misleading the public. There is no way this is a 4 star motel unless they are self rated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristobelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#4 of 17 in Broken Hill
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sturt Motel
Sturt Motel
#15 of 17 in Broken Hill
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sands Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sands Motor Inn

Property: Desert Sands Motor Inn
Address: 357 Cobalt St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Sands Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Desert Sands Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing