We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My country retreat with 'old friends'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful 2 nights at Bishops Court in Bathurst. Christine and David made us feel totally at home in their beautifully renovated boutique hotel. Christine seemed to sense exactly what everyone needed and nothing was too much trouble. Barbie cooked the most wonderful breakfast for us each morning and Christine presented us with the most delicious dinner on one evening and then recommended an equally fabulous local restaurant for the next evening. I truly felt totally at home - like visiting 'old friends', can't wait to go back.
G&S

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

The decor of this B&B is certainly charming and the breakfasts quite nice. But this is where it ends. We stayed 2 nights mid-week, we were charged $295 (their website says frm $200/night and $250 of a weekend). So one would presume midweek would be no more than $250! Enjoying a drink of an evening we were offered a bowl of nuts and were a little taken aback to note that if one enjoyed a nut or two these appeared on the bill at an inflated price. My daughter and her friend had a twin room and we were charged an extra $50 per night, the reason given was that they had more laundry to do.However after my husband "objected" to the extra $100 and it was removed. Also, beware cappachino/latte coffes with breakfast are extra. The owners were ever present, not much privacy apart from our room. Also there is only one room with an ensuite! The extra costs were not made known either prior to or during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jsull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

As a family that travels extensively within Australia and internationally, it's not often we are pleasantly surprised by a hotel or B and B.

Bishop's Court greatly exceeded our expectations in terms of both the quality of lodging and with the flawless service provided by hosts Christine and David.

The refurbishment of this former Bishop's residence is stylish and elegant, while retaining the character and history of the building and gardens.

The service was of international standard - a rarity in small Australian establishments - with the hosts anticipating the varied requests and demands of our family.

Great value. Great location. We'll be back.

This is the kind of place that should grace the pages of "Conde Naste Traveller".

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeignerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have just returned from 3 nights at the Bishops Court boutique hotel in Bathurst. Bishops Court is not just a place to stay, it is more like an experience! The bedrooms and bathrooms are luxurious, romantic and spectacular. There is so much attention to detail in the decor and the little luxuries on offer such as a small carafe of sherry in the bedroom, throw rugs on the bed, big fluffy bathrobes, candles in the bathroom etc. All the upstairs bedrooms lead out onto a large balcony with lounge chairs and sofa’s that just beckon you to lie there with a good book and a glass of wine to while away an hour or two.

We spent our days having tea in the garden, or relaxing in the lounge drinking beers and talking, or having dinner at the massive dining room table. Christine and David have a way of making people feel right at home, you are not just a guest, you are part of the family for the weekend. And if you are lucky, Latte the cat will take a shine to you and snuggle up for a cuddle!

We would recommend Bishops Court to anyone looking for a spectacular weekend away, and we will be back with more friends next time, to have a huge dinner in the 100 yr old chapel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

On our mid-week holiday to Bathurst, we were warmly welcomed by Christine and David who run the Bishop's Court Estate boutique hotel. There we were shown each of their elegantly furnished bedrooms and were confronted with the difficulty of selecting one of these magnificently proportioned rooms. Having chosen "Harmony", we were then provided with refreshments and invited to make ourselves comfortable. We read on the large airy balcony until dinner time. On the two nights we spent in Bathurst, we ate at restaurants recommended by Christine and were completely satisfied. Christine has provided each and every room with everything a traveller might need or want. The cooked breakfast was very substantial and delicious. Thank you, Christine and David for a memorable stay. Livingston and Miyako

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenkiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

A fabulous place to stay with charming and interesting hosts who attended to all our needs. We had a romantic and peaceful stay. The food was amazing, the garden secluded and perfect and the chapel a charming dining experience for two. We should have stayed longer and we will next time. We intend to come back with friends and book the chapel for another unique dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countryaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This is a truly lovely boutique bed and breakfast. On a quiet street but only a few blocks from the centre of Bathurst. Our host met us on arrival, allowed us to choose from the available rooms, made us a cup of tea and booked a restaurant for us for dinner.

The rooms are full of eclectic clutter but beautiful and spotlessly clean. The king size bed was incredibly comfortable. A decanter of port with glasses was placed in the room at no additional cost. The bathroom was not ensuite but we didn't have to share. The bathroom had a selection of perfumes and mens colognes available.

The breakfast was truly amazing, fresh fruit salad with yogurt followed by mushrooms with spinach on toasted turkish bread, poached eggs cooked to order and a huge pile of bacon.

I would recommend this property to anyone staying in Bathurst.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_geek_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.1 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Bathurst Heights B&B
Bathurst Heights B&B
#2 of 17 in Bathurst
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel

Address: 226 Seymour St, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range: $259 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's Court Estate offers superb service and luxurious accommodation, built in 1870 this Victorian Mansion is scenically located high on the hill overlooking Bathurst, and its majestic countryside. It is the premium choice for both the business and leisure traveller. Rated 18/20 by the Sydney Morning Herald as one of Australians best boutique properties ' a pleasure for the soul with incredible warm friendly hospitality, superb dining and amazing attention to detail, come and enjoy this hidden gem of Bathurst with hosts who are both passionate and very knowledgeable of their region.Awarded Travellers Choice Award for 2012, 2013,2014,2015 by Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing