We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious grand home set amongst gorgeous gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spacious grand home set amongst gorgeous gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Bishop’s Court. The grand home and gardens are just gorgeous, the hosts most welcoming and accommodating and the staff both friendly and professional - the service we enjoyed was faultless. Our room was a generous size and opened up to a verandah which overlooked the gardens. We were however disappointed that the spa bath assigned to our room (as per their website) was allocated to someone else; after raising it the bath was made available to us for one night. Only hubby went down for the “gourmet seasonal buffet breakfast” included in the tariff and was underwhelmed by the store-bought cereals and juice. Without any information or prices it is also a little ambiguous as to what is complimentary and what is being charged – we don’t have issue with paying for what we enjoy but when offered a cup of tea or a coffee is it an extension of their hospitality or a service for which you are incurring a cost; the charges on checkout however weren’t unreasonable given the service and presentation. We did enjoy our stay and because we were made to feel so welcome I do feel a little uncomfortable highlighting some negatives; however, as a regular contributor to TripAdvisor I believe I should write a balanced review based on our experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backhammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopscourtestate, Owner at Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It was lovely to meet you and welcome you both to Bishop's Court Estate whilst you visited our gracious city of Bathurst recently.

We take great pride in presenting as much local seasonal produce as we possibly can and it is a shame that you didn’t get to personally experience this.

We set the sideboard in our dining room every morning with what we feel is a sumptuous choice of breakfast delights, including; a daily range of six different poached and prepared fruits.
On both mornings we served local rhubarb poached in orange juice with vanilla bean, local apples cooked in pear juice with cloves and cinnamon, local dagen prunes poached in blackcurrant juice with ginger, preserved local yellow slip stone peaches in natural peach syrup and berry compote of raspberries, blackberries, cherries and blueberries. Alongside this we offer two decadent yoghurts, passionfruit and vanilla with almonds and honey. To accompany fruits a choice of three accompaniments were served both mornings; dried banana and coconut flakes, Bishop's Court blended seed mix of pepitas, sunflower and sesame seeds, along with our own sunshine mix of raw almonds, cashews, brazil nuts, sultanas and dried exotic fruits.

Every day we offer five different cereals. Everyone loves our house made Bishop's Court organic muesli which we prepare weekly with twelve different ingredients. In addition to this we serve buircher museli, organic gluten free rice muesli, puffed rice and organic wheat flakes with dried cranberries and almonds, the ingredients from these come from the organic whole food co-op in Bathurst, nutrigrain & in cooler months hot porridge with honey.
We offer a dairy bar of full cream, skim, soy, almond, rice and lactose free milk. A variety of artisan breads, organic sourdough, organic grain sourdough, wholemeal, linseed and sesame, Turkish, gluten free, crusty Vienna, fruit loaf and raisin. These are served with a choice of Bishop's Court house made local preserves including four different marmalades; mandarin and ginger, old English Oxford, Seville and three fruits, a local apricot and blackberry jam and fig jam from a local Orchard on Mount Panorama, local honey from Yetholme and Lucknow.
In addition to this we offer complimentary English Breakfast Tea and award winning Fish River Roasters plunger coffee. Included in breakfast is our juice bar and during your stay we served organic local pink lady apple juice blended with fresh strawberries, unsweetened orange juice and blackcurrant and pear juice. All of the above is included in the tariff and we honestly think this is a sumptuous seasonal breakfast selection presented beautifully on the breakfast buffet.

As explained in our confirmation booking email, we offer in addition to this optional breakfast extras. These are presented in our bound menu which each guests receives at breakfast. This offers a choice of 9 different award winning Fish River Roaster espresso coffees at $3.50, a choice of 32 specialty blended loose leaf teas by the teahouse in Orange at $6 per pot. In this menu we offer the art of breakfast which includes a wide range of gourmet cooked options ranging in price from $8 to $16.50. These are listed and individually priced as options for our guests to order at their discretion.

As explained during your stay we offer our guests all sorts of treats , we offer all guests the opportunity of inviting their friends to join them at Bishops Court for evening drinks ,dinner or breakfast .Being a university city , during 2012 we have invited parents of university students here in Bathurst the option to invite their son or daughter to Bishop's Court for either complimentary evening drinks or a complimentary seasonal breakfast with them , its all part of our warm hospitable service here.

Thank you for your comments. We try to keep Bishop's Court a relaxed, non-invasive environment and perhaps in doing so our explanations are compromised in their clarity. During the welcome tour of Bishop's Court we always explain the bar and the optional extras you can order. We are now designing a simple menu card in addition to our bound menu & compendium to ensure everything included is again highlighted to our guests.

Thank you for this valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Bishops Court Estate on your next return to Bathurst.

Kind regards,
Christine, David and the Bishop's Court team




We do appreciate your feedback and lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
121
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently planned a 60th birthday celebration for my husband. I chose Bishop’s Court Boutique Hotel for a two night stay with our children, their partners and our dear friends. I had high expectations and our stay even exceeded those. We couldn’t have felt more welcome (and in the most gorgeous surroundings). Christine, David and their wonderful staff looked after us like family friends, yet remained unobtrusive and professional.

This boutique hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. We had planned a trip to Mudgee during our stay but, with Christine and David’s knowledge and passion for the area, we didn’t leave Bathurst. We spent a lot of our time enjoying the Library, strolling through the garden or sitting by the fire in the sumptuous sitting room with a glass of champagne.

We did manage to tear ourselves away from this grand old home to visit Stone Pine Distillery and the Somerville Collection and we ate at the Church Bar and the restaurant Ninety Two. All great experiences! They added up to a perfect weekend. Don't hesitate about booking your stay there. You are in for a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We returned to Bishops Court after a fantastic overnight stay six weeks previously. This time we talked some of our closest friends who were in town from overseas to come with us. What a brilliant experience. Welcomed with an open fire and chocolates, Christine and David settled us in, moved our dinner booking to an earlier time at the restaurant, Cobblestones, that they'd recommended, to accommodate the Bledisloe Cup fans amongst us . . . . We returned from dinner to watch the game in the comfortable, beautifully appointed lounge with aforementioned fire and offers of night caps.

After a fabulous nights sleep - excellent beds, serene rooms - and a breakfast with home preserved fruits and deals, divine yogurts, eggs from Christine's parents chooks, local bacon, bread and coffee, we headed off to explore Orange with a list of recommendations from Christine. For lunch, Christine had recommended a rustic Italian restaurant, Fiorini's, run by two sisters just out of Orange. Christine called ahead and instructed us to just ask them to cook for us rather than a order via the menu. What excellent advice. It was the real deal, the food was just superb while the setting was perfect - a converted packing shed in the middle of countryside with views of cattle, greens fields and farm gates. and a tiramisu to die for that makes all the others just pretenders.

After exploring the countryside further, we headed back to Bathurst and the Church Bar, another Christine recommendation which had both character and a great wine list. Dinner was back at Bishops Court where David prepared Moroccan lamb shanks with cous cous and Chrsitine presented a fabulous date brûlée flan for desert. Sigh.

Next day, back to the real world.

Bishops Court - gorgeous surroundings, beautifully decorated, and hosts who know how to make a visit memorable. Never intrusive but also hitting just the right note. Christine and David's local knowledge and their passion for all that the region can offers makes them superb ambassadors for Bathurst - their own love of good food, wines and unique experiences combines to make them the ideal 'guides'. Heartily recommend and would be back in a flash - as we intend to be within the next few months when it's time for another escape from the city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This B and B is an absolute gem in the Bathurst crown. Unbelievable attention to detail is displayed throughout the amazing accomodation and the welcome from Christine and David could not be more friendly.
Although some rooms do not provide televisions I would consider this more of an advantage than not as it encourages guests to absorb the atmosphere and ambience of the business and guests.
Beautiful meals are available and each room is generously provided with lovely chocolates.
All up a wonderful experience and I could not recommend any higher.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloverNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Bishop's Court on a recent business trip from the US. The house and rooms are both a pleasure, extremely comfortable and welcoming. Christine, the innkeeper, treated us as friends as well as guests and was very helpful in suggesting things to explore and providing delicious breakfasts and teas. The grounds and gardens are an oasis and the location a good base for exploring the historical towns nearby as well as convenient to the University and downtown. Would have no reservations in highly recommending Bishop's Court Estate for business or pleasure stays. As Americans, only concern was more TV Olympics coverage of Aussies than US but not the innkeeper's decision.....

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room with balcony access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to return last night to Bishops Court. Christine and David envelope everyone of their guests with such warmth it is as if you are visiting close wonderful friends in a special special place. The divine unique bedrooms and bathrooms are 10 star... no stone is unturned to deliver luxury at its best. Relaxing in the lounge, in front of the roaring log fire, with a glass of wine or a pot of tea reading the latest fabulous magazines does not get any better. Christine and David you have put BATHURST on the map with BISHOPS COURT as a MUST RETURN TO DESTINATION.... Cant wait to return and enjoy yet another of your beautiful rooms and hospitality sooooooon. Heather and Peter Ahrens

Room Tip: The Botanica room was filled with winter sunshine and looking out at the garden was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We escaped from Sydney on a Friday afternoon for a stolen weekend away - it was my husband's birthday. What an absolute treat Bishop's Court is - an absolute "must" in Bathurst. Christine and David made us feel at home immediately and catered to our every whim and need. An unbelievably luxurious and indulgent "home" with bowls of chocolates everywhere, a roaring fire, endless good wine, and a wonderful sense of serendipity. We absolutely fell in love with Chocolat and Latte (2 Burmese cats) and would move in permanently if we could! David even took us around the racetrack before dropping us off for dinner.
Just be aware that due to the heritage listing of the building the bathrooms are not en-suite (except one room). Our bathroom was heavenly, but a few steps down the hallway. It didn't bother us at all, but just a consideration.
We can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: The Botanical Room is the only one on the ground floor and is huge with a heavenly bed and very luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freelove1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.1 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
1.2 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bathurst Heights B&B
Bathurst Heights B&B
#2 of 18 in Bathurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Stay Bathurst
Stay Bathurst
#1 of 21 in Bathurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel

Property: Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel
Address: 226 Seymour St, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's Court Estate offers superb service and luxurious accommodation, built in 1870 this Victorian Mansion is scenically located high on the hill overlooking Bathurst, and its majestic countryside. It is the premium choice for both the business and leisure traveller. Rated 18/20 by the Sydney Morning Herald as one of Australians best boutique properties ' a pleasure for the soul with incredible warm friendly hospitality, superb dining and amazing attention to detail, come and enjoy this hidden gem of Bathurst with hosts who are both passionate and very knowledgeable of their region.Awarded Travellers Choice Award for 2012, 2013,2014,2015 by Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing