We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time even better than the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second time even better than the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We returned to Bishops Court after a fantastic overnight stay six weeks previously. This time we talked some of our closest friends who were in town from overseas to come with us. What a brilliant experience. Welcomed with an open fire and chocolates, Christine and David settled us in, moved our dinner booking to an earlier time at the restaurant, Cobblestones, that they'd recommended, to accommodate the Bledisloe Cup fans amongst us . . . . We returned from dinner to watch the game in the comfortable, beautifully appointed lounge with aforementioned fire and offers of night caps.

After a fabulous nights sleep - excellent beds, serene rooms - and a breakfast with home preserved fruits and deals, divine yogurts, eggs from Christine's parents chooks, local bacon, bread and coffee, we headed off to explore Orange with a list of recommendations from Christine. For lunch, Christine had recommended a rustic Italian restaurant, Fiorini's, run by two sisters just out of Orange. Christine called ahead and instructed us to just ask them to cook for us rather than a order via the menu. What excellent advice. It was the real deal, the food was just superb while the setting was perfect - a converted packing shed in the middle of countryside with views of cattle, greens fields and farm gates. and a tiramisu to die for that makes all the others just pretenders.

After exploring the countryside further, we headed back to Bathurst and the Church Bar, another Christine recommendation which had both character and a great wine list. Dinner was back at Bishops Court where David prepared Moroccan lamb shanks with cous cous and Chrsitine presented a fabulous date brûlée flan for desert. Sigh.

Next day, back to the real world.

Bishops Court - gorgeous surroundings, beautifully decorated, and hosts who know how to make a visit memorable. Never intrusive but also hitting just the right note. Christine and David's local knowledge and their passion for all that the region can offers makes them superb ambassadors for Bathurst - their own love of good food, wines and unique experiences combines to make them the ideal 'guides'. Heartily recommend and would be back in a flash - as we intend to be within the next few months when it's time for another escape from the city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
121
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This B and B is an absolute gem in the Bathurst crown. Unbelievable attention to detail is displayed throughout the amazing accomodation and the welcome from Christine and David could not be more friendly.
Although some rooms do not provide televisions I would consider this more of an advantage than not as it encourages guests to absorb the atmosphere and ambience of the business and guests.
Beautiful meals are available and each room is generously provided with lovely chocolates.
All up a wonderful experience and I could not recommend any higher.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloverNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Bishop's Court on a recent business trip from the US. The house and rooms are both a pleasure, extremely comfortable and welcoming. Christine, the innkeeper, treated us as friends as well as guests and was very helpful in suggesting things to explore and providing delicious breakfasts and teas. The grounds and gardens are an oasis and the location a good base for exploring the historical towns nearby as well as convenient to the University and downtown. Would have no reservations in highly recommending Bishop's Court Estate for business or pleasure stays. As Americans, only concern was more TV Olympics coverage of Aussies than US but not the innkeeper's decision.....

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room with balcony access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to return last night to Bishops Court. Christine and David envelope everyone of their guests with such warmth it is as if you are visiting close wonderful friends in a special special place. The divine unique bedrooms and bathrooms are 10 star... no stone is unturned to deliver luxury at its best. Relaxing in the lounge, in front of the roaring log fire, with a glass of wine or a pot of tea reading the latest fabulous magazines does not get any better. Christine and David you have put BATHURST on the map with BISHOPS COURT as a MUST RETURN TO DESTINATION.... Cant wait to return and enjoy yet another of your beautiful rooms and hospitality sooooooon. Heather and Peter Ahrens

Room Tip: The Botanica room was filled with winter sunshine and looking out at the garden was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We escaped from Sydney on a Friday afternoon for a stolen weekend away - it was my husband's birthday. What an absolute treat Bishop's Court is - an absolute "must" in Bathurst. Christine and David made us feel at home immediately and catered to our every whim and need. An unbelievably luxurious and indulgent "home" with bowls of chocolates everywhere, a roaring fire, endless good wine, and a wonderful sense of serendipity. We absolutely fell in love with Chocolat and Latte (2 Burmese cats) and would move in permanently if we could! David even took us around the racetrack before dropping us off for dinner.
Just be aware that due to the heritage listing of the building the bathrooms are not en-suite (except one room). Our bathroom was heavenly, but a few steps down the hallway. It didn't bother us at all, but just a consideration.
We can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: The Botanical Room is the only one on the ground floor and is huge with a heavenly bed and very luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freelove1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have just shared the most wonderful weekend with my husband and 5 other couples who are all close friends. We had been planning this weekend away for several months and as a return visitor had been looking forward for some time to arriving on the Friday afternoon. We arrived and were so warmly welcomed it is hard to believe our hosts were almost strangers as we felt like we were returning home. We had been corresponding for sometime, planning the special candle-lit dinner in the quite stunning chapel now dedicated to fine dining. We had an exquisite dinner on the Saturday evening, lovingly prepared by Christine and her amazing staff. I cannot recommend more highly this beautiful sanctuary which provided each of us with wonderful respite from our busy city lives. Thanks Christine Zoe and Grace for your warmth, hospitality and incredible passion and commitment. Your attention to every detail made our stay memorable. We can't wait to bring our friends back again. Barbara and Stephen Campany

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

How can 1 Night be so life enhancing? Meeting Christine and David at Legalls patisserie for great coffee and pastries was like meeting up with old friends. Words can not describe what wonderful people they both are which is why they have such a great place in Bathurst. Bishops Court is a beautifully restored 1870 home which has had great touches done by both Christine and David. The warmth and welcome atmosphere, the comfy beds, great lounge with an open large fireplace, great gardens and a beautiful walk out verandah from our room ~ what more could you ask for. We recommend BishopsCourt to everyone and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.1 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
1.2 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bathurst Heights B&B
Bathurst Heights B&B
#2 of 18 in Bathurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel

Property: Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel
Address: 226 Seymour St, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's Court Estate offers superb service and luxurious accommodation, built in 1870 this Victorian Mansion is scenically located high on the hill overlooking Bathurst, and its majestic countryside. It is the premium choice for both the business and leisure traveller. Rated 18/20 by the Sydney Morning Herald as one of Australians best boutique properties ' a pleasure for the soul with incredible warm friendly hospitality, superb dining and amazing attention to detail, come and enjoy this hidden gem of Bathurst with hosts who are both passionate and very knowledgeable of their region.Awarded Travellers Choice Award for 2012, 2013,2014,2015 by Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing