We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Sweet Caramel

Sweet Caramel
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Gippsland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a light lunch with family. Saltnpepper squid very tasty. Fruit tart fresh and sweet. Good range of tea and coffee. Prompt, courteous service. One of the best lunch venues in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    58
    17
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“YUMBO”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having breakfast at Sweet Caramel a number of times we noticed their sign "open for dinner on weekends" we were offered the dining menu to view and that got us in. We had a family visiting for the weekend and decided to make a booking. We all thorougly enjoyed all our meals, with the odd comment of "best dining ever" posted on a few Facebook pages to boot. Thank you Sweet Caramel for taking Bathurst Thai dining experience to another level.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAJAYtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A new novelty for a dull food strict.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place has an apparent hype that alludes it to be something quite worth the experience. Yes the decor is new, the menu looks exciting but it is well and truly short lived. The marketing for this new novelty for people who do not appreciate good food and dining has been well done. Firstly, the menu is very overpriced for its actual value, the coffee is by far terrible and the hot chocolate is more a treat for someone who has never tasted sugar in a glass before. Secondly, the staff have little to no idea of how to be of assistance, mind you I might have to give them some sympathy as this place is poorly designed for noise control and the fact that their music is volumed far too loud might be partly the reason to their concept of acceptable service.

In brief, I would encourage people not to be distracted by its alluding decor and that their best option is to make some sort of signal of distress call, perhaps from their sugar in a glass of hot chocolate.

Good luck

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
“Very nice Coffee, Yummy Burger and a very sweet ending”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took my mum out to lunch here for her Birthday.

Apart from the price this place would have to be the perfect Cafe, had an awesome burger, with a very nice Mud Caramel Latte to wash it down and and amazing Lemon Caramel tart to finish it off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVE Sweet Caramel!!!! <3”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We experienced "Sweet Caramel" for the first time today, and we were impressed!!

From the warm and cozy atmosphere, with inspiring, elegant eclectic furnishings, to the prompt and personable service with the most delightful food, we left feeling really satisfied and so very pleased that we had chosen this wonderful place to celebrate our special occasion.

I highly recommend the beautiful Thai Green Curry and both the Magnificent Caramel Nut Tart and the amazing Chocolate Tart!

While we were there, we learned that they make all of the Tarts and Curry themselves! Unlike others who have commented, I think their prices are wonderful, I don't understand why anyone would fault them for price?. As far as I'm concerned $17.90 for the gorgeous Curry and Rice, $7.90 for the AMAZING freshly made Tarts and $4.90 for our lovely hot chocolates is bang on par with any other cafe restaurant of this standard!

If you are fussy about where you eat, as we are, I highly recommend Sweet Caramel, for a beautiful foodie experience! :)

Looking forward to our next visit :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Caramel also viewed

Bathurst, New South Wales
Bathurst, New South Wales
 
Bathurst, New South Wales
Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Sweet Caramel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing