We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food- Poor Service”

Absolutely Delicious
Ranked #98 of 121 Restaurants in Bathurst
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food- Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We often call in on trips through Bathurst. The coffee is great as is the general quality of the food, although I would ask that there be no added salt as chips etc can be quite salty.

We arrived at 12:45 and were basically ignored until 1:15. The cafe was about half full.
The wait staff were at the tables near us delivering meals but did not make eye contact, even though I had turned around to get their attention.
I eventually went to the front desk with the menu and ordered there. Again, little or no eye contact or mention that they were sorry that we had been ignored.
The food came quickly after that. The cheese and beef burger was very well presented and tasty. The salmon gourmet sandwich likewise.

I have had some good meals at Absolutely delicious and will give them another try, but there are other places in Bathurst where you can get a quick lunch with attentive service

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleDazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourism Cafe Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a great tourist attraction to promote regional food and wine. We have travelled all over Aust but haven’t found anything to match your Tourism Café where every dish is freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. Great local Fish River coffee roasted, delivered weekly and available in packages with lots of other unique providore products

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious the name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were travelling through Bathurst and stopped at the information centre. Since it was lunch time we decided to try the restaurant next to the centre. The lady behind the counter was very helpful in helping us select what we wanted. I had a grilled chicken salad and it was really good . The chicken was tender and the rest of the dish flavoured just right. Price was quiet reasonable also. They also have a wide variety of gifts for sale and the prices looked ok for these. Would definitely go again if we are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseAustralia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbogan, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rude staff, Ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Was refused an item off of the Kid's menu - Pancakes. My partner wanted pancakes and the staff said "no, that's on the kid's menu" I asked why that matters and said she just wants some pancakes and that we will pay extra for the fuss.
No deal. Staff member was blunt and rude.

Thanks for ruining an otherwise nice cafe for us.

Will not be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had lunch here on a busy Sunday waited over an hour for a all day breakfast and coffee that's right and hour for coffee will not be back. Got free water though

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absolutely Delicious also viewed

Bathurst, New South Wales
 
Bathurst, New South Wales
 
Bathurst, New South Wales
Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Absolutely Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing