We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This display was amazing, we went to see the T-Rex but the mineral display was worth the visit alone!! I highly recommend this for any age as they had displays and exhibits specifically for children/families.

Helpful?
Thank DoingOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    38
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing collection”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Absolutely fascinatingdisplay , the star of the show is the full skeleton of a T REX , there are also many other interesting things to see . Not just for kids .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripmothernsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrific array of minerals and information, would have loved more!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The museum has an incredible array of minerals, which are presented in display cabinets with information boards, in drawers, in a pictographic display, through a video and in a game too, about mineral shapes. There is a lot of minerals from all around the world packed into a fairly small space, it does feel a little 'packed in' but that's just because of the physical setting. The displays on fossils are again, packed in and include a magnificent drawer of amber and you can use the strong magnifying glass to see the tiny creatures captured in the amber for millions and millions of years. It blew me away. I'd say, based on the number of displays, the museum is weighted 65% minerals and 35% fossils. There is a gift shop and toilets. The museum displays are very well maintained, and look very new too. The staff were terrific. I'd recommend visiting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackiegoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

An amazing collection of fossils, minerals and dinosaur skeletons. You can easily spend hours looking, watching and enjoying.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank missell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This display of minerals is the best I have seen; its not the biggest collection but the layout is stunning...very artistic

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PdHRavenshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum also viewed

 
Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing