We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd time and the best yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“3rd time and the best yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the third time in a year and will keep coming back. Last stay there were a few hiccups which Andrew, the GM, went out of his way to rectify. When we got to our room there was a handwritten note from him, a bottle of wine and 2 rydges hats. I can't say how much this personalised service was appreciated, it really made a difference.Thanks Andrew.

As I've said before, the views are great, the rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast and service were fine. Room service food is good and was delivered within 15 minutes. Room service and bar staff are friendly.

The only small issue was people from a car club had both their tow cars and unregod race cars parked in the car park and were using the car park to work on their race cars leaving hardly any spaces for other guests. Not really rydges fault but perhaps a sign limiting 1 car per room or allocating spots to a specific room number so there is enough space for all guests.

Overall we had a great time and will be back.



  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ets610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi ets610, and thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad we could deliver a better stay this time, and great to hear the gifts were appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    267
    75
    19
    17
See reviews for
178
201
20
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 1 night to break up our trip from Sydney to Parkes. It was a beautiful resort with friendly staff. The room service food was top quality and promptly delivered. When we first arrived, after booking on line, we were given a lovely room, but unfortunately my request for a bath had not been met. However, when I returned to reception and checked with them, another room with a bath was quickly allocated. The resort was just right for myself & my 2 daughters. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone travelling in the region.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bath are smaller than rooms without a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb0rah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Deb0rah63 and thank you for taking the time to review. Bathurst is a great way to break up that drive West, and glad we could accommodate you. My apologies if the requests were not originally processed correctly, but very happy to read we were able to fix the shortfall very promptly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,327 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,039 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, located adjacent to the Mount Panorama car racing circuit, and a short driving distance from the center of Bathurst.

It is a modern hotel in the area, and it is the pre-eminent place to stay during any race at the circuit, as it offers sensational views over the racetrack, particularly Conrod Straight.

The hotel has had a checkered history, with financial problems and a change of manager.

Notwithstanding that, the staff are very enthusiastic and hospitable, and the current management company appears to be operating the hotel successfully.

All of the rooms have a balcony overlooking the track, as well as cooking facilities.

The accommodations are of a high standard.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant, which offers straightforward fare at reasonable prices.

In summary, it's a pleasant place to stay, and the best place to watch the annual Bathurst 1000 car race!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and face the track
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi adelaidiantraveller and thank you for taking the time to review. Its great to read you had another great stay, we are going to have to work harder on your next stay to try and get that elusive 5th Star from you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayedhere for a weekend in Bathurst and would recommend it to anyone the staff were friendly and courteous, did ask about the BATHURST 1000 weekend and occupancy but was informed it was full up for a few years but a great view of the track

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi stcsgt, and thank you for taking the time to review. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, always great to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Rydges is deservedly the numero uno hotel in Bathurst. Ultra modern hotel rooms with slick and efficient service.

The contemporary facilities and amenities is a great boon for the whole city. Most properties in Bathurst are a bit tired and ordinary but finally there is a world class hotel. The dining is great, too. I'm a regular business traveller and very quickly get sick of McDonalds and chinese takeaway in regional Australia. The food choices and menu at Rydges are delicious and the usual perks are available as a Priority Guest club member.

You pay for it, however. Tarriffs are high, but that comes with the territory, I guess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Marjorie B, and thank you for taking the time to review. Great to read that you enjoy all the facilities of the hotel, and great to read you take advantage of our loyalty program.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I recently stayed at Rydges for the 1000. We had an abolsute ball, but unlike the few times I have stayed there before, we were pretty dissapointed with our room.
We arrived Wednesday to a brand new unit and the oven was broken and the cook top had been replaced with a broken unit, obviously from another unit that had been used as a spare part. I tried to call reception about it, but there was no phone or radio. The maintenance people fixed it the next day so o.k.
My kids went to use the spa bath and it was abolutely putrid. the filth that came out of the spa jets was disgusting. Again the managment came to the rescue and put a treatment through the spa and all was well. We continually ran out of toilet paper and soap once. We did have 5 in the room. Overall cleanliness and service from room staff and some management was great, some management wouldn't get a job at either of my 2 motels. And whilst i'm whinging, hardly any of the restaurant staff or bar staff would either. Smile guys and you feel great! But thats pretty standard these days unfortunately.
I will definately stay at Rydges again because its a great spot, but for $1200 per night I expected everything to be spot on and it should have been. I charge less than a tenth of that and I make sure it is spot on for every guest at both my properties.
The best I got from management was these were newly completed rooms. The room we left still had no coathangers after 5 days of asking. So there still not ready for service.
A free night would sooth the pain Rydges.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Richard T and thank you for taking the time to review. I appreciate the critical review of the hotel, and as discussed over the phone certainly take it all on board. This is a great experience for those lucky enough to get the chance so we work hard to get it right, unfortunately it seems we missed a few things for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here again for the Bathurst 1000 weekend and the staff continue to be the highlight of this hotel. Every single staff member including the security standing guard overnight was friendly and helpful. The facility itself is in great condition, buffet breakfast was as good as any. Rooms are spacious and comfy and super clean so well done to housekeeping. Wifi pricing was ok as a loyalty member but if it was full price then would have been over the top - this is the classic facility to include free wifi as part of the tariff given the number of places around Bathurst that do. Having stayed here every race weekend since opening it has become a happy home away from home for the weekend.

Room Tip: Sign up online to Priority Guest before booking and the benefits are well worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Michael Y, and thank you for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed another Great Race, and could do it from the hotel again. Great to see you enjoyed the benefits of our loyalty program, and thank you for spruiking it!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Property: Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bathurst
#3 Business Hotel in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing