We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Bathurst by a mile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best in Bathurst by a mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a deluxe studio. It is huge. Kitchenette, 2 toilets, lounge, a big spa and a big balcony makes this room a great choice. Decor is modern and bright. Lounge was super comfy and room was very clean. Only negative is that there was some wind noise around the front door, but it didn't disturb my sleep. TIP; join rydges priority club and book OK online through the rydges website for great member discounts.

Service throughout the hotel is friendly and efficient.

Gym is tiny and not particularly inspiring. But with that mountain, who needs a gym! Make sure you go for a walk or run around the amount. It is a killer and surprisingly steep. It is 6.2km long and takes about 1 her or so. It's challenging so be prepared for that.

The restaurant is really nice. Dinner serves up a modern contemporary menu which would not be out of place in a hatted Sydney restaurant. Breakfast is good value and good quality. Views of the track are extensive and the atmosphere is friendly and modern. TIP; as with most Rydges, make sure you tell reception the night before that you are having breakfast in house. This saves you $7 a head!

Other facilities include a bar, tennis court and swimming pool.

Overall, I must say, this hotel was a huge surprise. Quality and standards higher than equivalent city hotels, at good rates, with a great restaurant and friendly, helpful staff. Add to this a great view of the track and I can't see myself staying anywhere else in Bathurst.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeckoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi travelwizsydney, thank you for the great and detailed review. We certainly take on board your comments regarding the gym, and are right however, the track is all the workout anyone could need!

Your comments about Chicane's dinner and breakfast service are certainly appreciated as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay in Bathurst.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    268
    75
    19
    17
See reviews for
178
202
20
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
449 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stopped at the Rydges Mount Panorama Hotel, Bathurst, on an overnight stay during a recent road trip. We selected the dinner, bed and breakfast offer, which was featured on their web site. We found the hotel room to be contemporary, clean, comfortable and a great view of the Mount Panorama Race Track. The only negative we could find with this hotel, was the pool area, which we thought looked a bit unloved and not very inviting. We found the reception staff on incoming and outgoing instances to be helpful and courteous. The breakfast provided in the downstairs restaurant was first class with all that one could want to start on your next day road trip (see separate review for the restaurant "Chicane Bar & Grill" for our dinner experience, which was great). Certainly, if visiting Bathurst, this is a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: From our observation, all rooms in this hotel are facing Mount Panorama. Probably the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi pandd1946 and thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations, I do appreciate the comments about our pool area, we will be doing some work over the cooler winter months in this area to improve the appearance and functionality of the area.

Thank you as well for your review of Chicane, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband & I stayed over the Easter long weekend in a deluxe studio king room. The Motor Festival was on during our stay which was great to watch from our balcony.

We have been to Barhurst on many occasions for the V8's & just general visits but this was our first stay at Rydges Bathurst.

On arrival we received exceptional service from the front desk staff & they were happy to accommodate our early check in.

Our room was very clean & had a great view. We had no problems with the room.

Breakfast in the Restuarant was perfect & again the staff were very pleasant.

Check-in & Check-out were easy which is always a good thing.

We will defiantly be back again!

Hollie & Steve.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Hollie2013 and thank you for your great review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Motor Festival, and you could enjoy the race from your balcony. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights whilst sight seeing in Bathurst. The room was awesome - the view just made my heart go nuts! I'm a huge fan of V8's and have grown up watching the great race - never been - but being there just was a dream.

The room was a little loud - thin walls maybe? Heard banging from rooms above and beside - was a little annoying when trying to sleep.

Room was beautifully presented. Modern and fresh, and the artwork was just awesome and truly fitting for the location.

Had a double charge issue due to a booking confusion - which was resolved swiftly upon checkout.

Can't wait to return. Oh! And we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the new age Wiggles! They were playing in town and being in our early 20's and having the previous Wiggles in our childhoods - it gave us a good giggle and smile :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi ZoeMelissa, and thanks for the great review! It is always good to welcome an avid race fan to the hotel and share the atmosphere of the Mount. I'm sorry that there was a double charge issue, however great it was fixed asap.

Thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being an avid motor racing fan, and having never been to Bathurst before, Rydges Mt Panorama seemed the logical place to stay, being located on the track itself.

Upon booking into reception, we were treated excellently, and told we were receiving a free upgrade. After staying with friends in Melbourne and Canberra, it was much appreciated to have space and privacy. We had booked a one bedroom apartment, with a sap.

We were given the keys to a 3 bedroom apartment of the thrd floor. It was a corner apartment, so we enjoyed views of Bathurst, Mount Panorama and the majority of the circuit.

Our room had a bathroom, 3 bedrooms, an ensuite (complete with spa) and full kitchem facilities. A massive (shared) deck spanned the full width of the front of the apartment.

The room was sparkling clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was isolated from outside noise.

I cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spauldj3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi spauldj3800, and thank you for taking the time to review. It is great to read that you appreciated the upgrade to the apartment, and it made your stay even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I don't think I have ever bothered to write a review about anything... but felt the need for this one. My hotel stay here in February was awesome. I needed an early check in because I had a baby, and staff were so helpful and kind for anything that was asked. Nothing was a problem, they had the Aussie easy going attitudes. What lovely personnel!

From the nitty gritty to the big stuff, this hotel impressed me. It was the little things such as using organic/non animal tested toiletries to the big things -the fact that I could make my breakfast and a quick dinner after a long day. The room and bathroom was clean, the standard room a good size. The walls were thick enough for other rooms not to be heard. One major whinge I noted before I booked here was that the room service is expensive. To this I say blah, almost every hotels in Australia charges ridiculous room service prices. If you don't like it go to the supermarket and buy a frozen meal and use the microwave, it's that easy.

As a person who travels for work, I have stayed in hotels hundreds if not thousands of times so I am difficult to impress and highly critical. The worse I can say is that there being no lift to the very bottom level was slightly annoying - but most of the time you purposely chose these rooms anyway so whatever. It would also not be an ideal hotel if you didn't have a car as it's a decent walk into town.

I am happy to have booked a return trip in April! If you're staying in Bathurst and you have a car, stop hesitating and make a booking. The rates are pretty reasonable too (unless there are races on that is).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Kezj11, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was great to read that we inspired your first review, and you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in April.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and two children stayed for three nights in a Deluxe Studio room. The prices was very good, we joined the Rydges Club, which is free and we got 20% off the normal room rate. There was a full kitchen, king bed and lounge that folded out to sleep my two sons. The room also had a roomy bathroom with a spa. There was a second toilet off the kitchen which is meant to be a laundry, but no laundry facilities such a washing machine or dryer, not sure if there is a washing machine or dryer in other suites, but unfortunately not in ours. A large balcony outside also looks over the racetrack. We were there for a sporting event so didn't hand around the apartment very much. They have a tennis court, a swimming pool which we didn't see and I believe a gym. The restaurant is lovely and they also put on a pretty nice breakfast. There is undercover parking as well. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and for the price we paid which was about $145 for each of the two nights and $130 for the third night, you certainly cannot complain. There was a smell coming out of the bathroom sink, obviously something to do with dorment water, but apart from that I would highly recommend staying at the Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leemacdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi leemacdee, and thank you for taking the time to review. It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience at the hotel, including your dining experience in Chicane Bar & Grill.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Property: Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bathurst
#3 Business Hotel in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing