We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but additional charges take the gloss off.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good but additional charges take the gloss off.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights and the reception staff and lounge people were friendly and efficient. The room as expected was roomy, clean and comfortable and the veranda and view are pleasing. All the room facilities are those one would expect from a 4 star hotel...bed, bathroom, TV, safe, AC etc. The charges for Credit Card use and the particularly excessive charge for WiFi really lets this class of hotel down. It has to be unnecessary. One other small issue is the bar. The seating is not comfortable and is not conducive to a social drink and I was quite disappointed to find it closed and in darkness when I returned for a drink at 9.55pm on a Sunday evening. Nice Hotel but could be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddlerstrikesback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Waddlerstrikesback, and thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff in both reception and the lounge (bar) area. We are working on making the bar area a more comfortable environment, so appreciate your comments.

In terms of the extra charges, we are inline with most other hotels, and our WiFi charges are very competitive with other hotels.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    268
    76
    21
    18
See reviews for
178
204
20
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at this ultra modern hotel right alongside the famous Mt Panorama Racing Circuit. Deluxe Studio room was spacious and very well equipped. Kitchen had full sized fridge, hotplate, oven, dishwasher. Lounge area was generous and well furnished, including comfortable seating and small dining table. Bed was comfortable, though a little softer than our preference. Bathroom was large and luxurious, though the space around the hand basin was cramped and not all that user friendly. Balcony was well sized with a small table and chairs and of course, it afforded magnificent views straight down onto Conrod Straight (I can't imagine how many years in advance you'd need to book to get a room here during race week!)

The staff were really great - smiling, friendly and very efficient. Check-in was quick and easy. We asked for several things to be brought to the room (plugs for the basins, extra wine glasses, etc) and these were delivered promptly and with smiles; we also asked for taxis to be ordered a couple of times and this was done graciously too. Five star rating to them all - Australian hotels don't always do service this well!

Only a couple of negatives - one being that the dinnerware in the room hadn't been checked for cleanliness before it was put away and most of the items were grubby, which was a bit off-putting. The Continental Breakfast was pricy and less than inspiring - cereal, fruit, toast and a scant collection of pastries; no cheese or cold cuts. At only $3 less than the full hot breakfast, it seemed to me to be poor value. In fairness, we've since discovered that the price is fairly standard at major hotels here. The final 'raspberry' concerns such a large hotel from a big chain whacking on credit card charges! 1.5% for visa/mastercard and a whopping 3.5% for Amex/Diners. Almost nowhere else in Asia does this and, while you can understand small places passing on such charges, a hotel of this standard (and charging the room rates it does!) should be able to absorb them.

Overall though, we enjoyed our stay and we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the race track!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi SisPerth, and thank you for the detailed review. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room, and that our service was up to standard. We will take on board the comments about the crockery in the room, and ensure that it is a focus point brought up to the team. Unfortunate you didn't see the value in our continental breakfast, our muesli is prepared in house and usually gets rave reviews!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel is easy to find and in a great location, especially if you are a V8 fan. We upgraded to the deluxe suite and the rooms look straight over the race course. Deluxe Room is large and very comfortable. Had a lounge, dining table, kitchenette, a second toilet and even a big spa in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the race course and are well equipped for stays of a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkgreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi kkgreen76, and thank you for taking the time to review. Great to read you enjoyed our deluxe rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

great room, awesome Christmas lunch, nice view of The Chase part of the track.
We came here to just stop, have an amazing Christmas that made us feel spoiled and relaxed and that is exactly what we got. The spa room was excellent, lots of room and very comfortable bed. full kitchen and a spare toilet as well wow.

Room Tip: spa room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallieann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Sallieann T, and thank you for the great review! Great to read that you enjoyed our Christmas Lunch your stay delivered you and great Christmas.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a studio apartment for two nights. Room was spacious - well appointed with dishwasher, electric two plate cooktop and microwave. Only minus was a leak which existed between the bath and the floor. When having a shower water leaked OUT onto the floor - drowning the floor mat. This was reported. The room overall, along with breakfast was very good. Evening meals are expensive in the restaurant. Around $35 for a main meal. Full breakfast was on special for $15 a person - this was excellent.

We were requested to provide a credit card imprint when booking in. We were informed that a charge of $1 had been made against our credit card?? When booking out a charge of 1.5% of the booking fee was levied. This was not clear to us at the time of using our credit card. Our attention was directed to a sign at the other end of the counter indicating this condition. As I did not really have the time to reverse this I allowed it to go through. I have this morning however discovered that the $1 charge still remains separately on our card. Thus our charge was $1 + 1.015*Accommodation fee. I would have used Eftpos if I had known these fees - however, how does one escape the 'supposed' credit card imprint charge?? I have NEVER had this before??

Room Tip: Rooms on 300 and 400 level facing Conrod Strait open out onto a common balcony/walkway. We were on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lols_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Lols_Boy and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Firstly it was pleasing to read that your stay was enjoyable, including your breakfast. I do hope that you gave the restaurant a try for dinner as I'm sure we could have proved the value of the price of the meal.

Regarding the credit card charges, I'm sure by now you should have had the $1 released off your card, this is only put on your card for 7 days as a "pre-authorisation", it never actually takes any money. If this hasn't been released please contact reception on 02 6338 1888 with your reservation details and we will certainly follow this up. In terms of the credit card fees, we do make this clear on your confirmation, registration card and yes the signage on the desk. Our staff should always re confirm this with you before paying for which I apologise if they haven't done properly and will follow up. I hope this makes our charges a bit more clear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at Rydges Bathurst for 4 days, attending the nearby Charles Sturt Uni for residential school. I got a good rate through a booking website, and discounts via the free membership as a Rydges Priority Guest member (20% off meals, half prive WiFi). Booking was easy, reception staff were helpful (although the desk didn't seem to be consistently attended when I attempted a few phone calls to the desk during my stay) and check in was a breeze. I stayed in an Executive Room, with double bed (twins pushed together), ensuite and kitchenette and small outdoor area with views of Conrod Straight.

The room was clean, neat and well appointed. The bed was comfy and everything worked as expected but for the kettle which was promptly exchanged at my request. Staff were attentive and prompt, including for minor maintenance (changing a blown globe). If you are into the car races, it's a great room, with some car-themed art works, and good views of the track. I'm not into cars AT ALL, but noise from hot laps was not particularly disruptive, and only occurred during business hours.

Minor issues were that the bathroom had no exhaust fan, leaving the mirror foggy after a shower unless you leave the door open, and no fly screen on the outside sliding door - this door is the only option for fresh air into the room, so some flies got inside. The gym and outdoor pool is located on the third floor and looked reasonable.

Restaurant downstairs was exceptional for dinner, and acceptable for breakfast. Overall, a veery good stay and would happily go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Kathy R, and thank you for your very detailed review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and got to experience a little of the race track when the hot laps were taking place. I am very happy our service was up to standard, I will certainly follow up regarding phone calls going unanswered as they should never be missed. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience for dinner, and we have taken note of your comments regarding our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Staff are excellent at this hotel. I cannot say enough about how helpful they were to me, really going out of their way to assist. They remembered me from previous short stays including my taste in coffee and how I liked my eggs. Well done!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are excellent with great kitchen and room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 351BC351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi 351Brenda351, thank you for the great feedback. I'm glad our staff have been able to make you feel so welcome when staying at the hotel, hopefully we can be your "home away from home".

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
2.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Bathurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Property: Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bathurst
#3 Business Hotel in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing