We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and cold” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor Macquarie Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Small and cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed 1 night for business. Check in was pleasant, had a nice chat with the young man and lady and got some recommendations from them. The room was tiny and very cold. I pumped up the heater but it didn't extend to the bathroom. The hot water took 20mins to get warm and then became a trickle. Plenty of parking when I was there. The alleged free wifi didn't work - maybe just my room? Location is good, easy to walk into the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_in_viaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    161
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
96
150
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Quite a good Motel and the service was great,only problems ,the room was quite pokey,very little room to move,possibly better rooms available though,and for the elderly or disabled,not good, with quite a few stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Owner at Governor Macquarie Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review, my staff and I take great pride in our high standards and your feed back is extremely important to us as to maintain these standards. I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the dedication of all my staff members and the fantastic job they do.
Our records indicate that you elected to stay in one of our Standard Rooms which are smaller than all our other rooms, these Standard Rooms do have several access points but you must have missed the one with only 4 stairs. If we have the pleasure of your company again it will be "our" absolute pleasure to help and assist you to your room so you wont have to worry about a thing. The rooms located at ground level are of different descriptions one of which is registered for the Disabled. All these rooms at ground level are quite large and spacious. Thank you once again, Warm Regards from all the Staff at the Governor Macquarie Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. The staff were amazing! The rooms were very comfortable and had enough room for my family of four. The showers were great . Even small touches like large coffee mugs were thought of. On check out we were shown around the lounge and bar area and also shown plans of renovations and upgrades of rooms about to take place. Would definitely stay here again!! We did not stay for breakfast as we were there with family for a 21st but breakfast is available in the main lounge area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found the price, location and facilities were all excellent. Our room was warm on arrival - and the electric blanket, extra blankets and heating were well appreciated during the extremely cold Bathurst nights.

Bathurst has some great restaurants a short walking distance away, plus all of the big supermarkets. Very happy with the location and price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobileokapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallidays Point, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this property recently just for an overnight stay for a family event. The service was excellent and the staff could not have been more friendly - Wendy especially is an asset to the team. When we arrived late in the evening our heater had already been turned on so our room would be cosy when we arrived. The rooms were clean and comfortable and great value for the price. It is close to town without being on a major road and has everything you need, including a super comfy bed that I didn't want to get out of. Wonderful service and highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Owner at Governor Macquarie Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you Michelle for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. We work hard at perfecting our customer service whilst maintaining our high level of standards. My husband and I purchased the Governor Macquarie Motor Inn in September 2012 and are taking great pleasure in bringing this beautiful building back to it's former glory as we are about to embark on major refurbishments of which we hope you come back to see for yourself in the future. I would also like to sing the praises of all my staff as they strive to make your stay memorable but are not always seen. Thank you again, on behalf myself and all my staff, it was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in a family room for one night at a very reasonable price. Comfortable and clean but a little cramped for a family of 5. Decor was a little tired but was told that the motel would be upgrading their rooms in the near future. Certainly a warm welcome was experienced upon arrival at the reception desk and some advice was offered about some good places to eat nearby. We were also offered fresh fruit and a lolly for the kids (so the kids were happy). Close walk to main street in Bathurst where there is a wide selection of hotels, cafes, restaurants, clubs and fast food places to choose from. An average quality motel but definitely in a good location and nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hideho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms were very modern and clean and the owner provided great service.
This motel is very well priced for the facilities that are provided and was very comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone staying in Bathurst.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
2.3 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
0.5 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor Macquarie Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Macquarie Motor Inn

Property: Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
Address: 19 Charlotte Street, Bathurst, New South Wales NSW 2795 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Governor Macquarie Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the main highway, accommodation at Governor Macquarie Motor Inn Bathurst offers a quiet location and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Governor Macquarie Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing