We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding on reputation????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riding on reputation????”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our two children. Sept 2013. The resort is in a lovely location and has a nice pool area. The cabin we stayed in was old and although had everything that was advertised we felt like we had stepped into the 1970's. I mean, everything was old, although it was Clean, very, very basic. For $150 a night, not what we expected and the poorest value for money we have experienced. Yes we do have a lot of experience.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this resort unless you pay around $80 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachhouseMarina, General Manager at Coachhouse Marina Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Wendy C,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is lovely to read that you thought that the resort’s location and pool area were fantastic.

Although, it is disappointing that you do not believe that our budget Castaway Villa was not value for money especially since as we have not received such comments prior. As you stated you have a lot of experience, so it would be assumed that you did your research prior to booking your stay at the Coachhouse Marina Resort and realised that we are a stand alone fully self contained 4 Star resort in Batemans Bay.

If you were to revisit the resort I would suggest booking an luxury villa style like the Harbour View Villa that has a water view, complimentary outdoor BBQ, large indoor spa, 3 Bedrooms (1 x King Bed, 1 x Queen Bed, 1 x Triple Bunk) and 2 Bathrooms, as this might be better suited for you.

Kind regards

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    109
    40
    13
    20
See reviews for
110
75
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Three nights with one more to go. So far pretty good.
Great position and the view from our waterfront villa is spectacular. Restaurant not open which was, initially, a major disappointment. Having since read the menu I am no longer concerned. Service at reception was good, gardener and cleaners very friendly. Didn't see anyone else in authority. Would recommend but reckon it would be a pretty noisy place when fully occupied. Not a bad walk into town. Nearby Catalina Resort/Golf Club is a typical lack lustre amenity.. Slept beautifully to the sound of the wind and the waves.

Room Tip: The waterfront villas are more expensive but have great views and at this time of year are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pre booked a mid-week stay for 2 nights in a ‘Studio’ cabin. On arrival, we were informed that the Studio we were booked into did not have a ‘balcony’ area to enable us to sit outside, but for an extra $10 per night, we could have a ‘Queenslander’. We said that the photo on the website had a balcony but were informed that the studios do not have balconies. This is not as per the details on Booking.com.au website. As we like to sit outside, we accepted and paid the extra. Later having looked at the studios , 2 had balconies and one didn’t. I feel it was a little bit of false advertising.
The resort is located in a very picturesque location on the waterfront, about east 1.5 kms from town, and almost across the road from the Catalina Golf Club.
Firstly, car parking is on grassed areas between the cabins. Spaces are quite tight and it’s difficult to open vehicle doors without hitting the cabin walls. The hopper style windows, when open, also were a nuisance when parking. The air conditioner outlet dripped onto the car, which can affect the duco.
The cabin boasted ‘reverse cycle air conditioning’, but it was only in the lounge area, and did not reach the bedroom. Even though it was the 11th day of spring, the temperature was very cold, both inside and outside. In summer, the bedrooms would be stifling. The Queenslander (Villa 107) we were in had a small main bedroom, a second bedroom with triple bunks, and a combined kitchen/dining/lounge. The lounge had a 2 seater lounge, which was very uncomfortable for two adults to sit on while watching TV. For a cabin that slept 5 people, there certainly was not enough comfortable seating. The only other option would have been for the extra 3 people to sit on dining room chairs. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, and had an inventory list of all items provided in the cabin, and a threat of charging for breakages or missing items. We did a quick count of everything to ensure that it was indeed provided, and found a few shortages (1 wineglass, 2 teaspoons, 1 dinner plate). We went to report it to reception before going out the next morning, but there were people booking in, and when our presence had not been acknowledged for 5 minutes, we left. On reporting the missing items on check out, the receptionist was not really that interested. Thought the staff were quite ‘unfriendly and non-caring’. Most places we have stayed at have usually asked how was our stay etc, but the receptionist just took our key and that was it. Could have been a bit friendlier.
Free wi-fi is advertised but it took so long to get anything on a website, if anything at all, that we eventually gave up.
On the plus side, there were many outdoor areas with BBQs, a tennis court, children’s playground, and walking trail. The grounds were well maintained. I would not recommend the ‘resort’ for a summer stay, as it would be impossible to sleep in the heat without the A/C reaching the bedrooms, nor would I recommend staying in school holidays if you want peace and quiet, as the resort could accommodate 800 to 1,000 people. As it is, we had a family in the cabin next door, and the children must have delighted in running through the lino floored kitchen/lounge area, as we could hear every step they took! In hindsight, I would not choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing villa in winter for the morning sun, and south facing for summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had read many varied reviews, so was a little apprehensive of our choice of Accomadation. But on arrival was greeted by friendly and helpful staff, and upgraded in Accomadation. The Beachcomber Villa that we ended up in was very clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable to sleep on. Room was warm and the outlook very nice from the veranda. We found this a nice way to spend a few days and felt less restrictive than a motel. Location was an easy walk into Batemans Bay (about 15minutes), and being off the Princess Highway was quite of an evening. Would recommend it for this time of the year as the prices were very reasonable compared to other locations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank COLIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 day getaway from the dreary Canberra weather, best decision ever. We upgraded from a Queenslander to a Spinnaker style as it gave us more room for the 3 children, particularly in the living area, and the oldest got their own room which made them feel special. Villa was clean and well maintained, resort was well looked after and great for the children with quiet streets for their scooters, brilliant tidal lagoon for them to run around on at low tide and a general feeling of security for my husband and I. Will definitely recommend and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Do look at the bigger villas, particularly if you have more than 2 children as the extra space is we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed with friends 4 adults for six nights in August not very busy which is good as with 89 units place would not be pleasant if busy
Seemed expensive for what you get as pool small not big enough for busy period also only two washing machines working with two dryers must be hell at christmas.
Villas poorly equipped with utensils hard to cook full meals without pans and stuff bare minimum supplied should be improved in my opinion.
Also cabin not clean as towels and stuff changed mid week villa not vacuumed or swept left pretty dirty should not happen very lazy.
With 4 adults only 1x2 seater and 1x1 seater supplied after being tired of sitting on floor asked for additional chair returning home found a new 2 seater provided thank you management
Wifi very slow ten years ago in vietnam was last time I had to wait this long believe they blame it on the government maybe so.
Overall nice and pleasant stay as park was only quarter full more effort could have been made for an extra touch at $200 a night not cheap hopefully more effort is made when things are busy and cash comes in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Terrible terrible place.
Let me start from the cold cold welcome. Firstly, as we entered the reception at 7pm, no questions were answered. All we were told was "dont call after hours after 10 as I'm not a happy man at that time"

We walk into the cold cottage to turn our air conditioning units just to see "50 year old" units that are as loud as a motorcycle.

Kitchen - not enough facilities for 6 people. Limited glasses, am just too upset to even go into details.

Bedrooms - king bed only had one side of the electric blanket working.
Two single beds - completely sunken in the middle. How on earth does such a problem not get picked up? Upon complaining however a workman did come around in the morning.

Obviously I was too "scared" to contact the manager after 10pm at night so had to report the issue in the morning.

Lets start about the dust in the place... It was extremely dirty under the beds & under the outdated lounges.

Can't wait to depart the venue. Unfortunately, not only have I paid and have one more night to stay here, its hard to locate another place on such short notice.

Would never recommend this place to anyone. Stay away

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDKaluha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachhouseMarina, General Manager at Coachhouse Marina Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear SDKaluha,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the resort. Especially since the other people in your group thoroughly enjoyed their stay and on check out praised the staff, cleanliness of the villas and the great resort facilities.

Apologises for the miscommunication on check in as we do regularly respond to late night call outs and in turn we responded to one on that particular night as a guest had locked himself out of his villa.

Also my condolences once again, as you stated on check in you had recently received some unfortunate news and particularly did not want to go away for the weekend, although you did anyway as you felt obliged.

As I mentioned on check in, I do hope that you have received our gesture of goodwill which was the refund for the luxury villa that you cancelled on the evening of your arrival.

Finally, I do hope that you enjoyed your complimentary late check out for all the villas in the group and also the complimentary use of the resort facilities for the group including the resort’s BBQ Areas after your departure.

Kind regards

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariners on the Waterfront
Mariners on the Waterfront
#12 of 18 in Batemans Bay
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quays Hotel
Quays Hotel
#2 of 18 in Batemans Bay
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 18 in Batemans Bay
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#5 of 18 in Batemans Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachhouse Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachhouse Marina Resort

Property: Coachhouse Marina Resort
Address: 49 Beach Rd, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachhouse Marina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachhouse Marina Resort, Batemans Bay is a beautiful resort style property overlooking the ocean & lagoon. The resort offers a range of luxury villas to suit singles, couples, families & groups. For people looking for extra luxury, the resort also have available a range of waterfront view & spa villas. With a 20-metre swimming pool, full sized tennis court, kids playground, laundry facilities, games room & with only a 10 minute walk to Corrigans swimming beach and the boat ramp, the resort has something to offer everyone. Directly opposite the resort is a championship 27-hole golf course and it is a 15 minute walk with waterside views from the resort to the centre of Batemans Bay. The Coachhouse Marina Resort evening restaurant is situated in the centre of the resort. Also available are multiple function rooms & venues including a large onsite marquee, accommodating to the requirements of small or large conferences, groups, events, celebrations and weddings. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Resort. The Coachhouse Marina Resort is perfectly located in Batemans Bay on the South Coast of NSW which is only a 3.5 hour drive from Sydney, 2 hour drive from Canberra or a 20 minute drive from Moruya airport with has daily flights to or from Sydney and Melbourne International Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Coachhouse Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachhouse Marina Hotel Batemans Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing