We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went here on an overnight stay with a group of bikes. It is an average hotel in a good area. Nothing fancy but had everything we needed and it suited all our budgets.there is a good walking path right outside the hotel which was great

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 263 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here in the April School Holidays 2013, and we were very surprised at how quiet it was, not busy at all. We soon started to realise why. From the moment we got there, we received bad customer service. On their website, they advertise the place by saying it has free Wifi throughout the whole park, this was not the case. We have teenage girls, who like to relax on the internet etc. Also, I had to take my work with me, which requires me to have internet access. We had troubles using the wifi, so we went to reception to ask about it, and they were quite short with us, told us that it doesn't work, and never has. I politely reminded them that we chose this place because it advertise's this on their website, and I suggested that they take that off, as it's false advertising. I just got a roll of the eyes.
Also, we don't recommend it because the cabin sleeps 8 people, but only has a 2 seater lounge in lounge room. So the 4 of us couldn't all sit down at night to watch TV together. We asked reception, since the park was so quite, if they could provide us with a 2 seater lounge from another cabin. They flat out refused and said that they will be booked out by the next day. Wrong! It was so quite. They were just being lazy. We had to make our own lounge out of the mattresses off the many beds that they had. Ridiculous! We never complained, but they continued to keep on being unfriendly to us. A big "STAY AWAY" from us!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellahughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachhouseMarina, General Manager at Coachhouse Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Bellahughy,

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your experience at the resort over the April School Holidays, as we were fully booked during this period and we received a lot of great feedback from the numerous families & couples who enjoyed the glorious weather & facilities available at the resort. The benefit of the resort being located on stunning waterfrontage & set among 16 acres is that even when the resort’s 89 villas are fully booked, our guests have the peace of mind of knowing that everyone still receives their individual space.

Since we were fully booked, we could not provide you with your unusual request of an additional couch during your stay, especially since a large couch is provided in villa. Also, when we received your complaint at reception we did offer to provide your family with additional chairs for your villa, which you declined, as you were happy to utilise the additional mattresses that were available in your villa.

With regards to your comments surrounding the complimentary Wi-Fi at the resort, your comments are incorrect as we do provide complimentary Wi-Fi as we do not charge any of our guests to utilise the Wi-Fi within the resort during their entire stay, otherwise you would have had to pay for additional charges on departure, which did not occur. Also, we have installed numerous booster located throughout the resort to enhance our internet coverage.

Also, as we informed you when you provided our friendly Reception Team with your numerous comments about the internet during your stay, as per the General Manager of the Eurobodalla Council Paul Anderson, ''If you are not with Telstra, the service is non-existent. And that's another issue, because people visiting from Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne have multiple choices & execpt fast internet, the south coast was trying to prepare for a digital economy for the roll-out of the national broadband network, but it was proving extremely difficult. “.The increased take-up of smartphone and mobile devices, coupled with an influx of tourists, has crippled communications on the south coast”.

Hence, the Coachhouse Marina Resort has recently increased our boosters within the resort & is working with the Council via supporting petitions to try to rectify this situation.

Regards

Resort Manager’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently attended a Camera Club conference with approximately 35 people, the cabin style accommodation was great for us as most people came as couples and it allowed us to have a bit of space from each other in the downtime.

The setting is lovely, lots of charming little cottages, very clean and simple inside but great for those looking for a good value weekend away. Sitting on your own balcony at the end of the day watching the sun go down was quite lovely. The walk along the marina beside the hotel is also quite nice.

The only disappointing part of the stay was the restaurant, its not value for money, the wine list is ok, and they don't always have the wine available on the list. We were served a set meal and the main was ok but not worth the price we paid. Also dessert was a pre made factory option and tasted worse than a Sara Lee cake, they were better off serving ice cream and a topping or none to be honest.

Go into town if you want to eat out, there are plenty of great restaurants, and the cabins have a kitchenette if you're on a budget. I would seriously make your own breakfast, again, don't bother with their food.

I don't really know about the service as I wasn't exposed to it, but the staff seemed friendly, but not entirely flexible and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellyWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here with our toddler for a long weekend, and it suited our purposes well. There was enough room in the kids' room for a portacot (often there isn't in cabins like that), the couch was comfortable, the self-contained kitchen was great. Best of all was the deck - a wrap-around deck that looked out onto the bay, and with a gate that locked, so our toddler could run around to his heart's content without escaping or falling off.

The place was clean, though a little shabby. I am prone to hayfever and asthma, and there was something inside the cabin that was setting my allergies off - probably dust or mould. The place could probably do with a really thorough spring clean, dusting off the blinds, steam-cleaning the carpets etc. We also couldn't find the compendium that was supposed to include the restaurant menu, nor find the free wi-fi connection (having said this, we did not follow up with the reception, which would have solved this I'm sure).

But overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anevinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachhouseMarina, General Manager at Coachhouse Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear anevinos,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide us with your comments.

It is wonderful to read of your overall satisfaction with your recent stay with us at the Coachhouse Marina Resort. We pride ourselves on delivering a positively memorable stay and to understand that in your case we were successful, is inspiring.

It was disappointing to read your comments about the cleanliness of the villa. Your comments have been communicated to our housekeeping team and in turn new procedures have been implemented, ensuring that all villas are cleaned, inspected with the precision and detail at all times.

anevinos, we hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind regards

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Typical cabin style accomodation, sleeps 5 comfortably and the kitchen was fullty stocked with all that a family needs to cook and eat!!

As a romantic getaway for 2 - it reminded us too much like we where away with the kids!! The bed was comfy, but a little soft.

It is close to the Country Club and even though there was a wedding on the premisses we did not hear very much of the music - nor where we disturbed.

Even though there is mention of room service and breakfast - we where advised that it was not available! So we had to checkout before we had eaten!! Not very nice when you are hungry!!!

On the whole - not a bad place to saty for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachhouseMarina, General Manager at Coachhouse Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Ozgig,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with our in villa facilities, especially the fully self contained kitchen.

For a romantic weekend away, we do have luxury villas with a large indoor spa plus the main bedroom has an ensuite bathroom and a king bed.

I would like to apologise for the miscommunication with regards to the resort providing breakfast as this is a service that we have not provided to our guests for a period of time. Though, there is lovely bakehouse which is very popular with our guests and is located in Batehaven, which is only a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the resort.

Ozgig, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind regards

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

stopped here overnight on our way home and it is a magical place.The cabins, which vary from 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms are excellent, very clean and comfortable and the whole park has a great atmosphere, we will definitely return here with family as there is so much to do for everyone and close to beaches and shops.Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjoriemargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stayed here twice, latest stay was one night in the Queenslander Villa #1.
Could not find the menu for the on-site restaurant, so ended up going a couple of minutes into town for dinner.
The 2nd bedroom with the 3 bunk beds is tiny, but kids probably wouldn't care, just tell them they are sleeping in a submarine or something. Otherwise the main living room is very spacious.
The childrens playgound is old and completely run down, maybe even dangerous, it needs a complete renovation. We took our 2yo and got out of there pronto.
The pool is very average, you'd expect better from such a large resort. No shallow end for the kids.
The crabs in the sand on the tidal pool after the tide goes out are amazing, thousands of them.
Overall it's a nice place to stay if you are on budget, and drive to your villa door. It's a very large complex and you don't feel cramped.
Don't expect more than 3 star and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachhouseMarina, Manager at Coachhouse Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear DaveJAustralia,

Thank you for your review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Coachhouse Marina Resort, especially seeing the thousands of solider crabs in the tidal lagoon. Due to the size of the bunks & for comfort, we do recommend that only children or teenagers sleep in this bedding configuration. Also, it is great to know that you enjoyed the spacious living room within the villa.

We are currently working on the children's playground to restore all the equipment within this area.

Once again, we appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind regards

Resort Manager's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quays Hotel
Quays Hotel
#2 of 18 in Batemans Bay
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariners on the Waterfront
Mariners on the Waterfront
#10 of 18 in Batemans Bay
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
1.1 mi away
Aquarius on Corrigans Batemans Bay
1.0 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 18 in Batemans Bay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachhouse Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachhouse Marina Resort

Address: 49 Beach Rd, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batemans Bay
Price Range: $87 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachhouse Marina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachhouse Marina Resort, Batemans Bay is a beautiful resort style property overlooking the ocean & lagoon. The resort offers a range of luxury villas to suit singles, couples, families & groups. For people looking for extra luxury, the resort also have available a range of waterfront view & spa villas. With a 20-metre swimming pool, full sized tennis court, kids playground, laundry facilities, games room & with only a 10 minute walk to Corrigans swimming beach and the boat ramp, the resort has something to offer everyone. Directly opposite the resort is a championship 27-hole golf course and it is a 15 minute walk with waterside views from the resort to the centre of Batemans Bay. The Coachhouse Marina Resort evening restaurant is situated in the centre of the resort. Also available are multiple function rooms & venues including a large onsite marquee, accommodating to the requirements of small or large conferences, groups, events, celebrations and weddings. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Resort. The Coachhouse Marina Resort is perfectly located in Batemans Bay on the South Coast of NSW which is only a 3.5 hour drive from Sydney, 2 hour drive from Canberra or a 20 minute drive from Moruya airport with has daily flights to or from Sydney and Melbourne International Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coachhouse Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachhouse Marina Hotel Batemans Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing