We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sunseeker Motor Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Batemans Bay
canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but a bit dated”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I made a last minute decision to stay overnight in Bateman's Bay. We booked the spa suite which came with a bottle of sparkling wine which was lovely. We had a few problems getting the foxtel to work but reception was helpful. We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. On both occasions, a meal was missing. However they were quickly replaced. The food was much better quality than we had expected and was quite delicious! The weirdest event was when I opened a crowne lager from the mini bar and it was filled with water! Expecting reception not to believe us, they did not charge us and did not question it. So, overall, we had a nice stay. But perhaps not as fancy and easy for what you might get elsewhere for a similar price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kylzandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
12
52
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The first time we stayed there (end 2010) the room was old and horrible... we stayed again a couple of times this year in the rennovated rooms (including the spa suite). The rooms are nicer now they have been updated and the spa was good. We also liked the orthapedic beds. The front office service, however, has always been poor, unhelpful and unwelcoming and it seems like everytime we have been there the motel restaurant has not been open. Rooms are noisy. Next time we will just rent a house instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katystack84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batemans Bay hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is the only motel I will stay at in Batemans Bay. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the bathrooms have been newly renovated. The reception staff are always very welcoming and I have never had any problems here. There is a little bit of noise from the highway if you're a light sleeper, but most places in Batemans Bay will have the same issue. The room service breakfast is fantastic - I love the hot apple danishes. I've also eaten at the restaurant for dinner a few times and it was lovely. Very polite service, excellent food and a good range of choices on the menu. They have a 2 or 3 course deal through the week for travellers.

Room Tip: I always request a room downstairs at the back (I don't pack light and gate dragging my bags up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_Wollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had a reservation but had to cancel both due to personal family reasons and the recent floods.
After numerous calls to Best Western central reservations (who were powerless) and the property manager himself, I finally convinced him to cancel my reservation, but he still processed my credit card authorisation after solemnly promising I would not be charged.
Now I'm disputing the transaction with my bank.
Be careful, regardless of the quality of the property, this fellow is DISHONEST.
NO STARS

Room Tip: Find another motel
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel would be reasonable value at around half the price. The room we had is badly in need of renovation . It was clean, the bed was comfortable however the shower was terrible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed one night here midweek in November 2011 and we got a nice reception from a Maltese lady very helpful. Our room was clean and spacious we did not hear any loud road noise if you are a light sleeper maybe ear plugs would block out the distant hum. We tried to eat out at a local restaurant but it was closed so we went back to the hotels Trappers Restaurant and had a very good meal quite expensive but excellent nice service and fine dining ambience. So all round a good experience the waiter who served us and checked us out could smile a bit more as it costs nothing and makes you feel more welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminigirlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a bad experience in August 2011. At the check-in we were told that it was not possible to park outside our 'executive' room, but to go a little further round and park just beyond it - the alarm bells should have gone off at that point. On walking back round to our room we noticed that it had a laundry on one side and a storeroom on the other, and no window to the front of the room.
We needed to switch on the room light, it was so dark inside. The only available window was round a corner, to the left ,which looked along the entire rear of the building taking in the view of the air conditioners for the other rooms - in other words the alley. It was obvious that the room had been converted from its original purpose as the bathroom wall overlapped the window by almost 50%.
The bathroom was dire! The shower was set into a recess with a miserable blue shower curtain - a dark miserable hole in a miserable looking bathroom which clearly stepped out of the 1970's!
The room had clearly been converted from a ground level store / cellar and did not warrant it's executive label and price. We asked about being moved to another room, but this would only be possible at additional cost, but to be honest I wouldn't give them another cent!
We had booked via an agent, but there was no way we could bring ourselves to stop and ended up finding another motel down by the river which,whilst basic, was a whole lot more pleasant!
Just don't risk the place, there are plenty more in far nicer settings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel1954_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
#4 of 17 in Batemans Bay
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 17 in Batemans Bay
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariners on the Waterfront
Mariners on the Waterfront
#12 of 17 in Batemans Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#6 of 17 in Batemans Bay
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Araluen Motor Lodge
Araluen Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Batehaven
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 17 in Batemans Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sunseeker Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sunseeker Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Sunseeker Motor Inn
Address: 26 Old Princes Highway, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sunseeker Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sunseeker Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batemans Bay Best Western
Best Western Batemans Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing