We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian Food in Batemans Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice King Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Spice King Indian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food in Batemans Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were walk ins to this reasonably new (July 2013) restaurant. A most enjoyable Indian meal, equal with anything in Sydney or Canberra. Downside was that some of the staples like cold water, and basic chutneys were not available. From memory some of the few wines on the short wine list were also not available. This will not discourage return visits when the appeal of a good Indian meal takes our fancy while at the coast. The waitress was new but extremely helpful and obliging. Once the supply chain issues are sorted out and staff familiarity with the menu is well established, this will become a favourite of curry lovers living at and visiting the South Coast. The bonus is that you get to experience the comfortable and excellently hand crafted wooden furniture that is available a few doors away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best Indian food I have had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I went there with my uncle in December. We were seated outside with a lovely view on a nice evening. The girl who served us was new, so not experienced, but was really helpful with any questions we had and could not have been better. My wife and I are Vegetarian, my uncle is not. However, he really loved the meals we ordered. We had a big selection, with hopes that some would be left for the next day, but it was all gone. Chana Masala, Aloo Gobi, vegetable curry, all so good. The tastes and spice mixes were prefect. If I ever go back to Bateman's Bay, I will certainly visit there again. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, Australia
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I were on a motorcycle trip up the coast and stopped in Bateman's Bay. Found this restaurant on the internet and went in. They can do spicy, but my wife prefers not spicy so they toned it down and it was perfect. Service was excellent, view was great and the food was great as well. Had Aloo Gobi, Palak Paneer and Chicken Tikka Masala and they were all great. Naan bread was fresh and hot. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and ambience - pity about the food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Quality of food average though location is outstanding. Service is good. Ordered Dal Makhani, kofta and salmon madras together with rice (plentiful and good) and garlic nan ( ok).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajanbhawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent service, which is becoming harder to find, great food, and great value. Plenty to choose from for vegetarians. The view from this restaurant, over the Clyde River, is stunning with plenty of outdoor seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice King Indian Cuisine also viewed

Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing