We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Swisse Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Swisse Spa
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked for a 3 day break,whilst partner over from England. Lovely warm greeting on arrival and shown around all the facilities. Herbert and Elizabeth could not be more friendly and helpful.

This is a hotel that may not suit all, it is really only B&B, and with no bars or restuarants within walking distance, but as it is only a 10 minute drive to either Surf Beach or the restaurants and bars in Batemans Bay, this didn't matter.
The place is up in the hills,so really quiet, lovely clear skies and a comfortable bed.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert M, Owner at Chalet Swisse Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mark and Tania,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed Chalet Swisse Spa even though you did not have time to use our excellent facilities and the DAY SPA - our very relaxing massages, the body toning, Seaclay body wraps, facials and all the other Pamper and healing treatments.
Maybe next time when you come back from the UK?

Kind regards, Herbert & Elizabeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    56
    9
    17
    15
See reviews for
41
107
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Chose the Chalet Swiss for the Easter long weekend and were pleased with the choice from the moment we walked in the door.

The setting was peaceful and pleasant, and the hosts Elizabeth and Herbert were warm, friendly and accommodating. Upgrading to a room with a balcony was no trouble and the view was fantastic.

We enjoyed the massages in the spa, but especially the apple strudel on the terrace!

We expect to be back. Thanks do much for the hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julienandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert M, Owner at Chalet Swisse Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Julie and Andrew,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again,
with our hot mulled wine and apple strudel by the fireplace.

regards, Herbert & Elizabeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent Christmas at the Chalet Swisse Spa and what a great choice it was. Elizabeth and Herbert are wonderful hosts and we really enjoyed all that this property had to offer. The pool and spa was a great place to relax and we spent lazy afternoons lounging on the terrace. Everything was clean and comfortable and Elizabeth and Herbert are not only great company but were a wealth of information on taking advantage of the area and surrounds. We highly recommend the Chalet Swisse Spa and we will return.
Bianca and Adam

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert M, Owner at Chalet Swisse Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Bianca and Adam,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
It was really nice to have you with us over Christmas and look forward to having you with us again. Give us a call before you come, to make sure we have freshly baked homemade applestrudel ready for you.................

Best wishes, Herbert & Elizabeth.



We spent Christmas at the Chalet Swisse Spa and what a great choice it was. Elizabeth and Herbert are wonderful hosts and we really enjoyed all that this property had to offer. The pool and spa was a great place to relax and we spent lazy afternoons lounging on the terrace. Everything was clean and comfortable and Elizabeth and Herbert are not only great company but were a wealth of information on taking advantage of the area and surrounds. We highly recommend the Chalet Swisse Spa and we will return.
Bianca and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Our hosts were truly gracious and accomodating. The property is lovely and the kids loved the archery, table tennis and games. The buildings are very well kept in authentic Swiss design on a hilltop with nice views. Best to book directly with the owners. Ask Elizabeth where to find the best honey!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert M, Owner at Chalet Swisse Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ruth,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
Hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Herbert.


Our hosts were truly gracious and accomodating. The property is lovely and the kids loved the archery, table tennis and games. The buildings are very well kept in authentic Swiss design on a hilltop with nice views. Best to book directly with the owners. Ask Elizabeth where to find the best honey!


Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for only a night, so we did not have the opportunity to use the amenities of this location. We were seeing the area before returning to the US after a circumnavigation cruise of Australia. In retrospect, it would have been nice if we stayed one or two nights longer so we could have spent more time at the spa. Elizabeth and Herbert were gracious hosts and informative of the area. We stayed in an upper room in the main building. The room was nice and the breakfast the next morning was good. The Spa is actually in Malua Bay in NSW.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for a week and at no time was the cabin given a freshen up during our stay. The floor was gritty under our feet when we arrived and there were no tea bags or milk (although three tea bags were provided upon request). The cabin was tiny and outdated. The kids had to walk sideways to get into the bunk beds.
The quality of accommodation was really very basic and definitely not what you would expect from a place that markets themselves as a "luxury spa retreat" and charges accordingly but rather the type of accommodation you would get in an older 70's style caravan park.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Banjellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert M, Owner at Chalet Swisse Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hallo Belinda,

I would like to clarify some of your issues.
* You may not know this but resorts with self contained Cabins do a cabin-clean only once per week, unless a request to do so is made and then a cleaning fee has to be paid.
* Guests supply their own milk and other provisions, but we are happy to supply some items initially at no extra cost.
* While walking to the Cabin over footpaths and sand could have caused some sand to come into the Cabin. I took you to the Cabin and did not notice any sand or grit?
* I ask each and every guest if they are happy with the Cabin or the room. If not, we would be VERY HAPPY to refund their payment. We do not wish to have unhappy guests!
* The Cabin is designed for 2 adults and 3 children. You brought an extra child along and we did not charge you for the extra person, but of course there was less room in the Cabin.
* The Cabin has a AAA rating of 3.5 stars. The overall AAA rating for Chalet Swisse Spa is 4.5 stars. This is, because the Deluxe rooms are rated 4.5 stars and also because of our great facilities.

You should have talked to us if you were not happy!

Sincerely, Herbert Mayer (Owner of Chalet Swisse Spa)



We stayed for a week and at no time was the cabin given a freshen up during our stay. The floor was gritty under our feet when we arrived and there were no tea bags or milk (although three tea bags were provided upon request). The cabin was tiny and outdated. The kids had to walk sideways to get into the bunk beds.
The quality of accommodation was really very basic and definitely not what you would expect from a place that markets themselves as a "luxury spa retreat" and charges accordingly but rather the type of accommodation you would get in an older 70's style caravan park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I love nature, beautiful scenery, serenity and peace when I go away. This goregeous little hiddden away retreat offered this and more. I woke up to pristine views of untouched forestry and bushwalking also offered lovely views of the coastland. The retreat is also only a 5 minute drive to beautiful beaches and artistic stores where you can shop for homemade jewellery, art, wine etc.

I stayed in a little self catered cabin which was clean and comfortable.

The spa treatment I received was well worth it, feeling completely revitalised after a Balinese massage.

Definately worth a visit and I am going back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbert M, Owner at Chalet Swisse Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Emma-Jane,

Thank you for your valued comments on your stay at Chalet Swisse Spa Retreat. What you experienced and appreciated is exactly what we set out to provide. Thank you also for the return of the key. We are glad you feel so good after your Deluxe Therapeutic Massage. Regards, Herbert, Elizabeth + Lanny.


Beautiful Healing Retreat”

Reviewed 15 January 2013 NEW via mobile


I love nature, beautiful scenery, serenity and peace when I go away. This goregeous little hiddden away retreat offered this and more. I woke up to pristine views of untouched forestry and bushwalking also offered lovely views of the coastland. The retreat is also only a 5 minute drive to beautiful beaches and artistic stores where you can shop for homemade jewellery, art, wine etc.

I stayed in a little self catered cabin which was clean and comfortable.

The spa treatment I received was well worth it, feeling completely revitalised after a Balinese massage.

Definately worth a visit and I am going back!


Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
5.3 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.4 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Coachhouse Marina Resort
#8 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#6 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.9 mi away
Zorba Motel
Zorba Motel
#3 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Swisse Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Swisse Spa

Property: Chalet Swisse Spa
Address: 676 The Ridge Road, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batemans Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Swisse Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 'Touch of Europe' by the Sea. European style chalet guesthouse, Lodge and 3 self-catering cabins on 82-acre tranquil property with ocean and mountain views. Close to Batemans Bay,3 - 10 minutes drive to 10 safe beaches, tourist attractions, Mogo Zoo and Broulee Island. Couple's retreat, family getaways, relaxation, wellness & inner-beauty health spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Swisse Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Swisse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing