We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Careful, not as good as advertised.”
Review of Chalet Swisse Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Swisse Spa
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Be Careful, not as good as advertised.”
Reviewed October 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Chalet Swisse Spa in the deluxe spa cabins over the weekend. Their website advertised the Spa Cabin to be a 4 1/2 star. What a shock when we found ourselves in a cabin which is actually what you'll find in most caravan parks. The accommodation is far from 4 1/2 star, very small and not what you'll expect for the price you pay. I would be reluctant to give the spa cabins a three; it does have a sewage smell behind cabin 3. The cabins are very close together and give you the feeling of no privacy.

The bushland & ocean views are not what is advertised. The pool area no different to what you'll find in someone’s house the pool and spa are both the same temperature.

So please be careful when choosing this place or you will be disappointed. Look around, there are better deals. This place is overpriced for what you get.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank enzso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    56
    9
    17
    15
See reviews for
41
107
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Upon arriving at the retreat one could not help but feel the tranquility and serenity of the environment wrap around you and help you to relax straight away. The Spa is set off the road a fair distance and you would have to strain your ears to hear a vehicle drive past. Herbert and Elizabeth were pheonominal hosts and one could not ask for more from these two marvellous people. Always on hand to provide the best service and never was it done without a smile. The room was spectacular with a spa and shower and nestled in the corner of the room a beautiful queen bed. During the day we relaxed under the sun and tried our hand at archery and tennis, both activities leaving us full of smiles and laughs at one anothers antics. At night I implore you to to take seat outside, in any weather, and just listen to the wind rush through the trees and sound of the surf beating against the beach. A truely heavenly place to visit. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — The Hosts!!!!!
  • Disliked — One can never be happy without their own pillow
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossie_Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Chalet was lovely and so were staff, We booked the excutive room supposedly 4.5 stars, the bed was awful no support in the mattress at all woke with excruciating pain at 4am in back and down my leg, had aleady booked a massage didn't help much thought could hardly walk afterm, but back freed up later and was okay, informed hosts of problem they out a board junder the mattress something they had had to do before for other guests, it helped a bit but each morning I had back pain that stopped me bending to dress or moving too much but each time it freed up about lunchtime, we decided to leave 2 days early and gave them 24 hrs notice our mini holiday break was ruined and turned out an expensive three days, , They did forgo the massage charge and Herbert kindly offerred us a free night when we return which we won't, Breakfast was poor, supposed to be a buffet breakfast variety of cereal and bread good but there was no choice of having fruit or yoghurt instead only small bowl for people to take a spoonful. and ony small bowl prunes and what looked like left over fruit salad., normally I have had a buffet there are a variety of individual tubs of yoghurt and plenty of fruit. Once back in my own bed no problem with back,.On factiliies and the presentation I would give it 4.5 stars but not on comfort or breakfast far from it,

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Shartam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2007

This place was amazing. A girl friend and i went way, to have a break.. From the time we arrive, we were treated like queens.The service was outstanding.Herbert and Elizabeth made us feel at home, they were warm and caring and love peoples company. The bushland for walking was just beautiful, i loved the pool and spa, there was archery, ping pong table, tennis court and a beautiful mural on the wall that is just breath taking.and the view was just devine. We had massages, facials and even reiki, and our sea shells cards done. They recommmend us places for dinner, and we came back to sit by the fireplace to have dessert and enjoy their company. I tried snapps, and mould wine.Elizabeth and Herbert made it feel like home. It was special that instead of us, looking after people, they looked after us. I can not thank them enough, for changing my life.I am much more relaxed spiritually and emotionally thanks to them. Anyone just wanting to relax and be pampered, or just want great company, i highly recommend this place. I would not recommend it for people wanting sterile facilities and bad service as you will not get that here. I also liked the continental breakfast, which is cereal, toast and fruit, which keeps the price down, so all people can visit and enjoy. Very smart thinking!!!!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — no resturants
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elite20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed at Chalet Swisse Spa from 24 to 26 May 07. We booked a double room through [--]

The property: as the name suggests a Swiss-looking chalet among several hectares of parkland

Atmosphere: peaceful and informal. Old world, with Swiss-looking décor and furniture.

Room: small, located on the first floor, with beautiful views of the gardens and bay. Cosy and comfortable with a few pieces of heavy timber furniture, floral bedspreads, a small TV, mini-fridge, tea/coffee facilities and individually controlled heating/cooling system. Sparkling clean.

The bathroom: small and old-looking. Sparkling clean.

Breakfast: buffet style and continental (toasts, butter, jams, fruit, yogurt, fruit, and juices). Excellent coffee.

Staff: we saw only the couple that owns the place who were very gracious and friendly. They were incredibly accommodating and would go out of their way to please the clients.

Location: great. Ten minutes drive from Batemans Bay, Batehaven or Mogo. Fifteen minutes from Moruya Airport.

Noise: none

Parking: ample and free, within the house grounds.

The property also offers a range of facilities and services such as heated indoor swimming pool and spa, tennis court, gazebo, archery, tour & bookings desk, etc. We cannot comment on them because we did not use them.

Conclusion: lovely hotel, professionally run with strong attention to detail. Great customer service.

  • Liked — The customer service and the
  • Disliked — The property looks a bit dated, needs a face-lift
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Chalet Swiss Spa is a little slice of Europe on the South Coast.

Brimming with old world charm, we found the Spa experience a refreshing alternative to that of the major hotel chains.

Our room was incredibly comfortable, the acreage surrounding the property offered beautiful coastal and natural bush views and there were many additional facilities available such as tennis court, archery, indoor heated pool, bushwalking, etc.

The spa treatments were equal to any I have had in the finest hotels and were delivered with a personal touch which only served to enhance the feeling of relaxation.

I would highly recommend the Chalet Swisse Spa to anyone who is looking for a totally relaxing break with all the creature comforts of never having left your own home.

  • Liked — Extremely comfortable and a great sense of homeliness.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LelyMith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
90 day stay in Canberra, AU
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2007

This is not your average beachroad motel, as most of the other accomodations are. Up on the top of the hill, less than 5 min from Surf Beach. A large beautiful property, with walking trail, tennis, great bay view, very nice rooms in the main building, little nooks to rest/read in. I originally booked the cheapest room over the wotif website, and it would have been fine, but very tight. I did chose to upgrade to a bigger room in the main building.

Herbert was the perfect host - and seemed to have the best answers for every question. He recommended Donegan's Steak House for dinner, which was quite good and had more than steaks. In the morning the chalet provided a continental type breakfast which was fine.

Hebert also recommended Guerilla Bay for snorkling and it was great - protected from the ocean surf by a small island, lots of kelp and rocks, typical fish, great shell collecting on the island.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AGibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
5.3 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort Batemans Bay
3.4 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Coachhouse Marina Resort
#7 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#6 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.9 mi away
Zorba Motel
Zorba Motel
#3 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Swisse Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Swisse Spa

Property: Chalet Swisse Spa
Address: 676 The Ridge Road, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batemans Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Swisse Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 'Touch of Europe' by the Sea. European style chalet guesthouse, Lodge and 3 self-catering cabins on 82-acre tranquil property with ocean and mountain views. Close to Batemans Bay,3 - 10 minutes drive to 10 safe beaches, tourist attractions, Mogo Zoo and Broulee Island. Couple's retreat, family getaways, relaxation, wellness & inner-beauty health spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chalet Swisse Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Swisse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing