We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value motel with affable owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Drive Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Drive Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value motel with affable owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Directed by the local tourist office, we went to the Beach Drive Motel in Batemans Bay where we were initially shown a small, very dated room for Aus$90 a night. We asked if we could upgrade and, for an extra Aus$20, took a large, well-furnished room in the new accommodation block at the back of the site - complete with table and chairs on the balcony where we could sit with our pre-dinner wine chilled in our own fridge. The bed was big and comfy; the shower room equipped with soft new towels and toiletries.
What made this motel stand out from the many others we stayed in during our trip was the attitude of the owner, Chris Crowe. He could not have been more welcoming and helpful to tired travellers. That extra Aus$20 was well spent and I am sure Chris will renovate the older rooms as soon as he can.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the basic rooms to much nicer ones in the new 2-storey block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
68
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

When we arrived, Chris, the owner, emphasised that Beach Drive Motel is a budget motel. We rented a double deluxe room and wouldn't necessarily describe our accommodation as 'budget' because our room was spacious, well furnished, clean and had everything that we needed.

We had a family of five next door, three young children. We weren't disturbed so I guess the soundproofing is good too!

Our hosts were very helpful, recommending places to eat and visit. It's an easy walk to the harbour and the town centre.

We ate in the RSL Club on our first night because it was so convenient. The food was good and reasonably priced. We can also recommend Isabella's Restaurant.

Room Tip: We'd recommend the deluxe rooms. They're at the back of the complex, quiet and with a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and as my family were with me, we booked out 2 rooms. Both rooms were clean and tidy. The proprietors were very nice and helpful. We would all stay here again. It is also very central so you can walk into town easily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and found the motel to be clean, across the road from the bay, and was a convenient quick scenic walk into town. The manager was very helpful, honest and friendly spending time with us letting us know all the main attractions of the area. We had a comfortable bed with a big tv that had foxtel and the WiFi worked really well. We will stay here again when we visit next time due to the great value for money and friendly manager.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooked the water and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The very friendly and helpful Manager made us very welcome but was quick to point out that his was a Budget Motel and we should expect the standards to suit that criteria. We had the room next to reception which was, I'm afraid, a little tatty with tears in the curtains and loose taps in the bathroom sink but the bed was comfortable enough and the room was clean. The Air Conditioning was efficient but a little noisy, the TV had Fox Sports and the WiFi was very good, even if we did have to keep on logging in to use it. The walk into town was simple and short enough and we enjoyed our stay but would like to see some refurbishment before visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Family own motel. Nice location and you get what you pay for.
They try their best to help you. Good Internet access.
It was a very nice place to stay for our road trip. The motel was in a centre location of the town, walking distance to the breaches and the zoo.
价廉物美,值得推荐。

Room Tip: Good location to every where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linmom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This motel is in an excellent location being really close to town and right across the road from the Bay. The owners went the extra mile to make sure we were happy and that gave it a nice personal touch. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom was very clean. The shower wasn't the best but I'm just being picky here. Overall for a budget motel I was pleasantly surprised. The room had a full sized fridge, a large television, was very quiet, had easy parking and good airconditioning so it was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners on the Waterfront
Mariners on the Waterfront
#12 of 17 in Batemans Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
Bay Breeze Boutique Motel
#1 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zorba Motel
Zorba Motel
#3 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyle Terrace Motor Inn
Argyle Terrace Motor Inn
#4 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Drive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Drive Motel

Property: Beach Drive Motel
Address: 24 Beach Rd, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Drive Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Motel directly opposite the Bay. Only a 5 minute walk to the Bay Soldiers RSL Club with the CBD only another few minutes walk. Free wi-fi Internet access and free Foxtel available. Thai Restaurant and Cafe, Fish & Chip shop next door to the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Drive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing