We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare at shady willows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nightmare at shady willows”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am not really sure how to explain what I encountered while staying at the shady willows park at batemans bay a few week ago.
It was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed at, and I have been around the country and stayed at approximately 100 holiday parks with my family over the last 10 years.
My wife and I and our 3 children were placed in a cabin which appeared to be reasonable, but we were soon shocked and horrified to notice that there were spiders and cockroaches running rampant around the floor and in all the cupboards, and there were thousands of ants crwling along all the corners or the walls and behind all the curtains.
The toilet looked like it had not been cleaned for a very long time and there were usrine stains around the base of the toilet and on the seat.
The shower was even worse and much to dirty to have been cleaned in some time, as there was black thick mould in all the bottom corners of the cubicle and the shower curtain was just as bad.
The was also a very srtong smell of grease as the stove / griller was also very dirty and had not been cleaned properly.
The coffee cups were very stained and dirty and there were cockroackes crawling in and around the plates as well.
The Beds were very uncomfortable and smelt like urine and the sheets also smelt very bad, plus there were stains and it appeared that they were not cleaned after the last occupants had used the room.
The manager of the park was very obnoxious and appeared to be intoxicated and I saw his wander around the park afew times during the weekend carrying a beer bottle.
When I spoke to him he was slurring badly and made me feel very uncomfortable in asking him if it would be possible to give us another cabin as the cabin that I was staying in was just not suitable and very dirty.
I will never stay here again and would not recommend this park to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    16
    13
    15
See reviews for
8
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After travelling all day, we were desperate for a place to stay, so we stopped at "the shady willows" OMG !! The cabin we stayed in stunk like dead something, it obviously hadn't been cleaned since god knows when. Mouldy bathroom, filthy stove, curtains had stains all over them, utensils & glassware were disgustingly filthy, floor hadn't been mopped (coz I was sticking to it) The bed was saggy & stunk like pee. We got the hell out of there at 3am.
Complete waste of money.
How the hell do these people get away with charging $70 a night for this...... ???

Room Tip: PLEASE Dont waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batemans Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After travelling all day, we were desperate for a place to stay, so we stopped at "the shady willows" OMG !! The cabin we stayed in stunk like dead something, it obviously had'nt been cleaned since god knows when. Mouldy bathroom, filthy stove, curtains had stains all over them, utensils & glassware were disgustingly filthy, floor hadnt been mopped (coz i was sticking to it) The bed was saggy & stunk like pee. We got the hell out of there at 3am.
Complete waste of money.
How the hell do these people get away with charging $70 a night for this...... ???

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

A great place for caravans..shady and leafy which make every morning delightful. It is very clean and provides facilities such as clean showers, laundry area, bbq, and kids playgroun..not so close to the centre though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a yha hostel, but the private rooms are caravans. Stayed in a double caravan and it was great. First time I've ever stayed in a caravan and it was really spacious. Sink, kettle and the most comfortable bed I've sleep in. Much more room than I expected. The occasional possum clambering over the roof at night was amusing. Kitchen was spotless, with free cuttlery and plates etc. Great bathrooms, which was also spotless. The staff were really helpful and did pick up from bus. $2 for the washing machine and good washing lines.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collum_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beladonnaBatemansBay, Manager at Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are different from other hostels and it is nice to know that you enjoyed your experience with us. We always endeavour to keep our facilities clean and maintained so your positive remarks are well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived for 2 nights, it was rainning hard and we stop here we didn't be boder to look for another campsite.Very disappointed we paid for a powered site and we didn't get it. Also they didn't register us like other campsite so i think they put the money in theirs pockets.
Mosquitos and spider webs all over. The bathrooms were gross, dirty, hair all over.
Just because it says YHA dosen't mean its cheep!
Don't go to this place if you are camping it's awfull.
Look around this town you WILL find better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandyngrid r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beladonnaBatemansBay, Manager at Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are usually happy to let guests tell about their real experiences with us - the good and not so good - without posting rebuttals. However we were so upset and offended by the comments of billandyngrid(31 January)that we feel compelled to reply.

If there are things to correct or apologise for, we address them urgently but in this case their facts are simply not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed two nights just before the high peak Christmas season and were pleasantly surprised when offered a seniors discount for a powered site. Checking in was therefore a pleasant and cheerful experience and we were also offered maps and other information about the area.

The whole property is rather cramped though and our powered site was sandwiched between two onsite caravans, nevertheless the space did allow us to erect our smallish tent alongside our Toyota van. Water was supplied to our site.

The bathrooms were always clean with four showers and 4 toilets. There was a problem with the shower for us as it has a narrow ledge between the door of the cubicle and halfway into the dressing part of the cubicle. The pattern of the floor makes it difficult to actually see the ledge, especially when one has to remove one's glasses to wash one's hair. My husband had a nasty fall resulting in pain for a week and the inability to drive or walk very far. Not good when on tour with heaps of things to see and do.

The outdoor kitchen and barbecue area had electric barbecues, plenty of seating and tables and was well presented and well used by the hostel travellers. The laundry is at the back of the main hostel and reception building, There are two washing machines which require 2 one dollar coins and two dryers taking 3 one dollar coins.

The swimming pool, though quite small, was bigger than several others we saw at similar parks.

Getting back onto the Princes Highway and making a right turn was sometimes problematic with traffic coming from all angles - Bunnings and another street. Care needed here. You really do need a vehicle to stay here as it is far from the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batemans Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariners on the Waterfront
Mariners on the Waterfront
#13 of 18 in Batemans Bay
94 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caseys Beach Holiday Park
Caseys Beach Holiday Park
#3 of 14 in Batemans Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach Drive Motel
Beach Drive Motel
#10 of 18 in Batemans Bay
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay at Easts Riverside Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#5 of 18 in Batemans Bay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA

Property: Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA
Address: Old Princes Highway cnr South Street, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Batemans Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Shady Willows Holiday Park & Batemans Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing