We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for breakfast/brunch”
Review of Starfish Deli

Starfish Deli
Ranked #5 of 93 Restaurants in Batemans Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Starfish is situated in a prime location overlooking the beautiful Clyde River in the heart of Batemans Bay - a stones throw from the oyster farms, with numerous fishing boats enhancing the view. Starfish is open 7 days a week - breakfast, lunch and dinner - offering modern Australian Cuisine - Amazing Clyde River Oysters - Gourmet Wood-Fired Pizzas - Locally Caught Fish - plus a selection of dishes utilising Fresh Local Produce. We cater for those dropping in for coffee along with a wonderful selection of freshly made cakes, to those wishing to sip on a glass of champagne by the waters edge - sampling our local oysters or as a meeting point for family gatherings with a large selection of meals from our enticing menu for all to enjoy.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm sure it's good at other times too, but the breakfasts are outstanding. Great service. Perfectly poached eggs. Good coffee. Say no more!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    237
    95
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hard to beat.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We've long been coming to the bay and always make sure we have a few meals here. Very reliable and consistently good. Great range of meals (caters for the whole family, including the vego), lovely service and a great view. Be sure to book in peak season

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megsy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rocket and Red Onion Salad with Caterpillar Eggs!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What's the go with this? I ordered the special of the day today at Star Fish Deli in Batemans Bay, Salt and Pepper Squid with Rocket and Red Onion Salad sounds light, fresh and summery. It arrived and I was really enjoying the squid and a few mouthfuls of salad but I thought the rocket was looking not so fresh and then I found little white eggs on the underside of a leaf. This REALLY put me off my lunch! I let 3 table staff know, the first said "it shows it's fresh in a weird sort of way"!!! I was offered a replacement salad, I declined as I was kind of put off their Rocket and Red Onion Salad. I went up to pay and was a bit shocked when they kindly offered to reduce the price of my meal by $4!!! I was offered a coffee but wasn't sure if that was an apology for the salad or something else to charge me for. What do you all think of this? Is this how a well known, well patronised cafe should handle this? I'll be voting with my feet and not returning.

Word of mouth is the best form of advertising, on average 120 people may learn of either a good or negative experience. Research shows 1 person will tell 10 people if they have a bad experience. Those 10 people will tell 6 more people. Those 6 people will tell another 2 people!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaplainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal with friends.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having visited Starfish Deli frequently over the years, we always find the menu interesting and the food good value and enjoyable. Great views and curteous staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyJBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Lunch”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family lunch for four started with a table outside with a great view.Pre lunch drinks were delivered by our less than friendly waiter.Two of our party ordered meals that were accompanied by rocket salads. Our meals arrived after quite a long wait. As we began to eat we noticed that the rocket salads were limp and with yellow leaves with black mouldy looking spots all over them.
Upon complaining to out waiter(who apparently was the assisstant manager) we were told that the rocket was delivered fresh this morning! but the waiter somewhat begrudgingly offered to get the chef to fix it. Our meals returned and nothing was different except that the yellow mouldy leaves were now concealed under the pile of wilted rocket. A friutless dicussion with our waiter followed with no resolution. The other members of our party said their meal was O.K.
In conclusion, food a little over priced, service slow and not freindly, and cant recommend a place that thinks this type of service is acceptable.Wont be going back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Onslow200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Deli also viewed

Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batehaven, Batemans Bay
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Been to Starfish Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing