We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and refereshing”
Review of Poppy's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armidale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poppy's Cottage
Ranked #4 of 9 Armidale B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We want to thank Poppy and Jack for a wonderful and relaxing time in their cute and beautiful cottage.
We were visiting Peterson Winery in Armidale, who I believe make the best wine.(next door) We decided it would be good to stay a few days there but was told they were fully booked but highly recommended somewhere a little different but very quaint. The owners recommended Poppys.

When we arrived at the cottage we just thought this would be a great time to enjoy something different we had never done before.
We had the greatest time, they admit it is not 5 star but to us we were so impressed by the look of the place and it is so unique, so clean but so lovely. I would highly recommend the cottage, but its not just the cottage or the wonderful home made delicious foods but the owners themselves. So giving and so caring, we just felt so at home and so relaxed.
Anyone to say different should have their heads seen to. Jean Shaw



When we arrived at Poppys' we just knew we were going to have a wonderful time.
We loved the hospitality and could see why many people had recommended this quaint little home.
We felt so relax and comfortable and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity.
The breakfast was amazing, freshly squeezed orange juice homemade bread/jam wonderful breakfast..
We have travel and stayed in many places around the world, but this place was very special to us. I would highly recommend .
We also enjoyed a delicious wine they
I found the price to be very cheap especially having such a quality and homemade breakfast
We also enjoyed the finest wine from their neighbours.



t

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 95 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had driven all day from Brisbane and were tired. Our first choice had no vacancy so we called Poppy's especially after reading about fine dining available. The cottage was available for $150 as was a meal for $120. Steep but the reviews were good. As we neared it rained then teemed as we entered the property. Poppy appeared beside the car under an umbrella and holding one for us. We said we'd wait. She came back out with a pair of wellingtons and a bottle of wine with glasses to ease the time. Nice touch but the boots were filled with cobwebs and the wine was a neighbours non vintage white and we said we preferred red and opened our own. We considered leaving but weariness set in and the rain trickled off. We moved in and thought again. The entry room is filled with 2 single beds and a chesterfield, a refrigerator, all the books that couldn't fit in their own home and more. There was barely room to walk. There was no thought to space utilization or comfort. The bedroom was equally not spacious with an oversized dressing table and dining room table squeezed into the corner. The bathroom made the rest of the place seem huge. It contained a tiny sink with ancient plumbing fixtures, a folded clothes drying rack, a makeshift low table to put your toiletries, poor lighting with a fan wired in that made so much noise one didn't want to switch it on and an old shower stall you shuddered at being next to. It couldn't have been more than 3 ft. wide. Hunger overcame and soon Poppys husband trundled out to set up the table and then returned with 2 bowls of a cream soup. He came back to remove the soup and again to bring the main course, a piece of chicken, some carrots and some beans with garlic bread on the side. The veggies were done correctly, the chicken wasn't bad but this was neither quality nor quantity. Husband came in to remove the dishes and then returned again with dessert which we turned down. We had opened our own wine, a $45 bottle of St. Hugo which gave us heartburn shortly after or perhaps it was the combination of everything. We turned the electric heater on and withstood the bad odour it emitted for several minutes. Poppy brought out a tv and sat it on the dresser. Reception was so so. When we called we had asked if there was wi fi and had been told they had wireless meaning tether your own phone but we were unable to get a signal. As I drifted off to sleep I noticed the glass of water by the bed had a distinct slope to it. Quaint, not. Morning brought a decent, actually quite healthy breakfast but also the incessant back and forth to set up, serve one course then another then remove. It's a protracted affair. I was quite livid at it all and my wife was holding me back with looks and pats as she told Poppy that we had left her wine in the refrigerator and apologies that we hadn't mentioned that we don't eat dessert. Bold as brass dear Poppy said that will be $270.
Don't stay here, don't even think about it. Armidale looks like a great town with a lot of good places to stay which aren't that visible in a downpour but keep looking. And Poppy there's a little thing in life called karma.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbadosBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppy A, Owner at Poppy's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

It is sad to read a review such as this. The ‘Barbados’ couple visiting Australia, and our B&B in November, would appear to have been expecting much more than is accurately outlined by us on our B&B website, and again in our email of welcome as sent to them prior to their stay.
In the historic miners’ cottage, we have been successfully operating Poppy’s Cottage Farmstyle B&B for over 22 years, and our visitors’ books are filled with many complimentary comments and warm thanks, both from first time and returning guests. We have looked after celebrities, politicians and people from all walks of life, and have made many long-lasting friendships. Their gratitude (as reflected in the visitors’ books), is testimony to their happy and satisfied enjoyment of our B&B hospitality.
We very much enjoy welcoming our guests to Poppy’s Cottage B&B, and on request we happily offer a three course dinner by candlelight in the cottage or in the garden at $60 per person, and this includes a complimentary bottle of local New England cool climate wine.
Poppy Abbott (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked for 2 nights and enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night! Lovely and cosy miners cottage, beautifully quaint and with so much thought and detail provided by the hosts Poppy and Jake and their 4 legged friends.

We were treated to beautiful cooked breakfasts, yummy fruit salad, yoghurt, home made bread, jams and preserved fruits and freshly squeezed juice every day, we felt so spoilt and cared for, finding little treats everyday in the cottage (Chocolates and port and cookies).

The cottage was clean, cosy and nicely decorated, set in a charming gardens and a lovely
property. The bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed watching the birds outside my window while still in bed.

A really nice place to get away from everything, Thanks Poppy and Jake we will be back!

Arrived as strangers and left as friends :-)

Room Tip: not far out of town, no road noise, lovely environment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotofairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great couple of days in Armidale and staying at Poppy’s Cottage. We found both Poppy and Jake to be the absolutely perfect hosts. From our initial phone contact with Poppy, to our departure at the end of our stay, everything was just great.
In response to the few (very few) adverse comments left on this site, it should be noted that the cottage is described as a “Miner’s Cottage” and that’s exactly what it is.
Yes! It’s small, but what do you expect from a “Miners Cottage” - Two story with a state of the art kitchen and an indoor pool?????
We found it just as described and was just perfect for the two of us and our Black Labrador.
All I can say with regard to those few “twerps” who posted negative (and I’m sure somewhat hurtful) comments, the next time you feel like a few days away in a ‘Miner’s Cottage”, maybe you should give Gina Rinehart a call….. maybe she’ll have a spare room with a 4 poster that would be more to your liking.
By the sounds of it, you’d still probably find something to whinge about. You would probably still be asked to take off your shoes too….. how disrespectful of you even to have to be asked.
For some people, not everything will be perfect and exactly to your liking when travelling and staying in different places, so if you can’t accept this… then stay home!
We would recommend anyone to stay at Poppy’s and enjoy the experience…. especially the country style breakfast. The dinner package is a must too.
We would certainly stay at Poppy’s again, without hesitation.
The number of positive comments versus the negative ones on this site, surely say it all ….
“You just can’t please all the people all the time” !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valleydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a treat after a long days driving to arrive at Poppy's. We were greeted by Poppy and Jake along with the dogs and ducks. After a relaxing drink and some dinner we enjoyed utter silence during the night. A great option not being provided a TV unless requested. Time to chill! In the morning we were provided with the most beautiful breakfast in the yard. All in all an excellent place to stay, relax and revive.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Rustler3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My correspondence with Poppy prior to our stay hinted at something special and we were certainly not disappointed. Rather than the reprimand we may have received from a larger establishment for our late arrival, we weary travellers with the errant GPS were warmly welcomed by Jake & Poppy and revived with real tea & coffee and home baked Anzacs much to our 4 year old's delight. Warmed and safely ensconced in The Cottage we then spent a relaxing evening exploring the bookshelf (which held many of my favourites),playing,reminiscing, with the darling collection of toys before retiring to the very comfortable beds and sleeping soundly oblivious to the winter chills outside. Refreshed we awoke to an ample spread of fruit & yoghurt, muesli, farm fresh eggs & bacon, freshly squeezed juice, lashings of homemade preserves and of course more real tea-bliss! I even had the pleasure of a second uninterrupted cup as Jake showed the menfolk around the farm and enlisted my son's help to feed the chooks-just what mother ordered. Thankyou again Poppy and Jake for sharing your very special part of the world and for your expertise in unobtrusively spoiling us, we can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not to far out from the town so it's very convenient if you want to stay somewhere surrounded by nature.
Poppy and her husband are such lovely people who are very welcoming and make sure that you are happy with your stay and make you feel quite at home.
Two gorgeous dogs there Miffy and Emma who were very good with my 15 month old daughter.
The cottage is delightful and had so many things to keep my daughter happy (basket of toys and heaps of books).
The food was delicious... Very easy to get used to waking up to that :)

Have to say there is most definitely not a hole in the bed as someone had written on here!
Beds are really comfy and the electric blanket and heaters make sure your never cold.

Overall my friends and I had a great holiday there.
Thanks again for having us stay at your farm.

Naomi, Maddy & Elise.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nnaaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armidale hotels
4.7 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
336 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Lodge
Lakeside Lodge
#8 of 9 in Armidale
3 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
4.3 mi away
Lindsay House
Lindsay House
#3 of 9 in Armidale
118 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glenhope Alpacas B&B Accommodation Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's Cottage

Address: Dangarsleigh Rd | Cnr Edwards Lane and Dangarsleigh Rd, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Armidale
Price Range: $68 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poppy's Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Armidale Poppy's Cottage, set on 140 acres, is only 10 minutes from the heart of historic Armidale. As expressed by guests, "BEST BREAKFAST EVER" INCLUDED in the TARIFF. $160 double per night for bed and breakfast. Enjoy cosy and warm accommodation in the "Settlers' Cottage" adjoining 1901 homestead. The Cottage is set in about 2 acres of established, leafy, English style garden, interspersed with old-fashioned roses, perennials, herbs, fruit trees and vegetables. With 2 bedrooms and ensuite, the cottage is totally private. Guests have the option of a delicious three-course dinner by candlelight, with complimentary bottle of local wine from the vineyard nearby. You will find chocolates and port in the cottage as an after dinner treat. Wonderful breakfasts include a large selection of fresh and poached fruits, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice as well as a full cooked breakfast. The bread is homemade and jams are made from the fruit trees in the garden. This breakfast may be served during the warmer weather in the garden under the canopy of the fruit trees to the music of birdcall. Children may enjoy feeding the pet animals and collecting eggs from the hens. The new miniature horse, Coki, has formed a good friendship with Sassy, the adorable Border Collie dog. Poppy's Cottage is the ideal base to experience Armidale's culture and tourist attractions. Further along the road, visit world class National Park and spectacular waterfalls. (The walks in the park are stunning). A hike to the top of the extinct volcanic plug will be a marvellous experience to those who are eager to see kangaroos and wallabies. Enjoy tasting wines from the adjacent winery or sampling a delicious lunch in the gardens of the vineyard homestead during the weekend. Safe undercover parking for your vehicle if you should require. Your hosts, who have offered bed and breakfast accommodation for over 26 years to many returning guests, will look forward to making you welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing