We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you believe them?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Comfort Armidale
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can you believe them?”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

When we arrived at this motel I was told by the girl at the desk that she had changed the sheets on the fold out bed that day. When I pulled the bed apart to put a blanket under the bottom sheet I found that the sheets were creased and there was a pair of green bed socks at the bottom of the sheets. The carpets were stained and ripped. Also the upholstery on the fold out bed was ripped. The reception staff were not helpful. There was a general feeling that they did not care.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    41
    23
    29
See reviews for
37
39
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the cheapest motels advertised in town and we found it good value. It had all the facilities of more expensive places and the room was clean and comfortable. The lady at the front office was not particularly friendly but this did not detract from our stay. We had a pleasant comfortable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Are u gonna armidale??? Don't waste your time looking around just come here. Adrian and Danielle are gonna make u feel at home. Amazing.
Still not believe??? Ok I lost my keys and after 10 pm Adrian help me and gave me a second key.
they have a restaurant and it's a first class food.great atmosphere, friendly staff.
if u r looking for comfort without pay a lot this is the place. Just make sure youself go there. Tell me later!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent one night here on a business trip. Check in was straight forward. The room was basic, pretty old and worn. The temperature was getting down to -1 degrees yet the bathroom window was left wide open, so it was freezing. A door snake was provided to stop the draught under the door, which was essential. A colleague had a heater in his room, which I couldn't seem to operate, but thank goodness for the electric blanket! Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is basic, not a lot of options. Recommend venturing out to one of the local cafes.
(As an aside, highly recommend the White Bull steakhouse in the pub not far from the hotel. Amazing!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_in_viaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived, met by a woman in her pajamas, she adv room was $105, but a "suite" was $120, which we chose. Room was freezing cold, dirty and threadbare carpet, and a "suspicious" odour in the hallway which was frankly dirty and the ballustrade had dust all over it. Upon leaving the charge for this had changed from $120 to $145, which is a joke for what we got. It appears the jammie clad lady had no idea what she was doing, so why was she there. I will NEVER stay here or recommend this to anyone again. Thanks.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsmith28metford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Armidale hotels

Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

After taking a wrong turn we arrived in Armidale about 2 hours later than planned so hadn't arranged any accommodation etc. Trip Advisor reviews seemed pretty positive about the Country Comfort and we weren't disappointed: for $100 we got a roomy, clean room, cosy, quiet (despite being downstairs and next to the external staircase), the bed was firm and comfy, the bathroom clean, what more do you want for a one-night stay? It was a short walk to Red Rooster/Subway etc. although the restaurant seemed a decent option we were tired and grotty and just wanted a shower and bed. Would happily stay there again, and def recommend to friends & family for reasonably-priced, clean quiet accommodation. Checkin/checkout was also really friendly and helpful. No problems with AC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippinCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Don't stay here! Overpriced, no wifi, filthy carpet and bed quilt had stains on it. Room was not clean with spider webs in bathroom. Very disappointing will be staying elsewhere next time I visit Armidale.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armidale hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
0.4 mi away
Sandstock Motor Inn
Sandstock Motor Inn
#8 of 23 in Armidale
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abbotsleigh Motor Inn
Abbotsleigh Motor Inn
#22 of 23 in Armidale
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alluna Motel Armidale
Alluna Motel Armidale
#6 of 23 in Armidale
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#16 of 23 in Armidale
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Comfort Armidale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Armidale

Property: Country Comfort Armidale
Address: 86 Barney St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Comfort Armidale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Armidale Hotel is the perfect choice for when you want to combine a relaxing atmosphere with city central convenience. Formed from a fully-restored 110 year old Victorian House, Country Comfort offers a variety of quality accommodation styles in the heart of town. Situated next to Armidale's Central Park and only a two minute walk to the East Mall, the hotel is ideally located near several of Armidale's finest pubs, clubs, restaurants and cafés. Staff are friendly and professional, with a dedication to making your stay a happy experience. With an assortment of deluxe rooms, interconnecting family suites, spa suites, and standard rooms to suit your needs and budget, Country Comfort endeavours to provide you with all the comforts of home. Armidale is located midway between Sydney and Brisbane on the New England Halfway, and just over two hours from Coffs Harbour and the Mid North Coast. Our region boasts some of the most scenic short drives, national parks, and fine wineries, making Armidale an enjoyable stopover. The city is also home to many immaculately preserved historic buildings and cathedrals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Country Comfort Armidale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing