We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens look great from the road but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Armidale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel presents beautifully from a street view. Unfortunately the rooms are getting a bit run down and not well maintained. Smallest Queen Bed I have ever slept in and the mattress was horrible. The bathroom door made so much noise opening that if you were asleep and your partner used the facilities, you would be woken up. Next was the shower, and I accept that most hotel showers are pretty average, but this one kept changing water temperature from too hot to freezing cold. We stayed over for a few nights and the room was never properly cleaned, the bed was never re-made, our coffee cups were never cleaned beyond our rinsing out after use and were always where we left them on a tea towel to dry & we never got any additional milk for our morning coffee either. On a positive note the air conditioning was probably the quietest I have ever had and it worked well.

Room Tip: For the money, I would look around for something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

Someone I met in Armidale said that their friends had their wedding here 30 years ago. I think that was the last time the place was decorated. I suppose it has a certain "old world charm" but for $150 a night I expect rather more than that. The owners are friendly and there is a laundry but in reality its a bit of a shabby old motel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agamemnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just got back from 3 nights stay at Cotswold Gardens Motor inn. Both my wife and I had a fantastic time!! The town was beautiful and plenty of sight seeing places around Armidale and a short walk to the city centre. The room we stayed in was very clean and spacious with an old world charm. Clem, Dean & Aileen were extremely friendly and also very accommodating. We ate in the restaurant attached to the motel called “The Manor”. The meals were excellent and very well priced. We would recommend the restaurant and accommodation to any one staying in Armidale.
Would definitely recommend this place. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at Best Western Cotswold Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thanks for your great comments .Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Kind Regards John & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a relatively small motel but is clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and obliging so the cluttered rooms are somewhat offset.
Pleasant restaurant with more than acceptable food.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

firstly room was tidy,after that not good,rooms outdated,bathrooms freezing,cold showers(on and off)fan in shower blew in cold air not out,1PLY toilet paper!!! i am sorry but for my $130 per night i will stay somewhere else next time
ps these prices are way over the top for a small country town!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank swbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This motel calls itself boutique, which is perhaps over the top, but there are lots of nice little extras that suggest the staff cares about what it is doing. We were impressed as well by the warmth of those who worked there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We called this hotel at 8.30pm on our way from Tamworth for a last minute booking, and they were so obliging - they not only kept reception open until we arrived at 9.30pm, but they had put the heater on in our room so it was nice and warm, such a lovely welcome after hours driving!
Our room was quite large, very clean, bed was cosy, shower was hot and towels were huge. Staff were very friendly - all much more than we expected for our last-minute booking.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0madic_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armidale hotels
0.8 mi away
Hideaway Motor Inn
Hideaway Motor Inn
#11 of 23 in Armidale
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
2.7 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
0.8 mi away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
0.8 mi away
Armidale Motel
Armidale Motel
#5 of 23 in Armidale
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cotswold Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cotswold Gardens

Address: 34 Marsh St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Armidale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Armidale
#5 Family Hotel in Armidale
Price Range: $118 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Cotswold Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Cotswold Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Armidale
Armidale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing