We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom main feature ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 Armidale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in Dec 2013,bathroom 5 star with stand a lone bath, unfortunately not the same can be said about the "Romantic suite "as we had an extra bed in the room ? We felt the furniture was dated as opposed to period !The kettle had to be boiled at floor level as their were no sockets at dresser level. The television was small and just placed on a dresser with basic channels, we paid $230 for bed and breakfast for one night (nice breakfast)Staff were nice but forgot iron which we had requested pre breakfast.
I feel the hotel which has all the attributes to be up there with the best country hotels in the wine region we stayed need a review of their bedrooms and facilities within.
We did receive a complimentary bottle of wine on our departure (nice touch)

Room Tip: Make sure you view all rooms to confirm you get the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hibernian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 137 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Peterson's Winery and Guest House in Armidale, NSW for two nights in December, as a little pampering at the end of a long road trip spent in mostly budget accommodation. So we were looking forward to a bit of luxury. We certainly paid for it at $225/night bed and breakfast.

Upon arrival, we were surprised by the locked door and buzzer system to get in. However, once warmly welcomed into the Great Hall, we were taken by the beautifully furnished and lavish heritage interior. They had certainly gone all out to impress visitors with an excellent first impression. We were shown to our very spacious room and settled in. That's when we noticed the strange things...

I often wonder how people could design rooms the way they do, and can only conclude that they never actually have to 'live' in them, otherwise they'd quickly see how impractical (or really dumb!) some things are. Take the illogical design of the ensuite bathroom for example. The shower door can't open properly as it is obstructed by the room door, so you have to be careful not to smash one into the other (not to mention that the shower leaked). The claw footed bathtub was nice, but faced looking directly into the corner and blocked access to the window that didn't have frosted glass (like the other bathroom window) and people walking by outside could look directly in unless the blinds were closed.

Also, the main bedroom room, while being very spacious, was furnished with a little TV on a tiny table, and a tiny desk too small to even work with a laptop on (I guess the small furniture made the room feel so spacious!). The wardrobe was in the corner, but blocked by the pedestal fan that had to be moved around the extra single bed.

For a place that caters to the high end of the market, it lacked some basic essentials:
-no iron and ironing board in the room (had to ask for them)
-no internet in the room (free wifi is only in the common areas)
-no fridge in the room (only a communal one in the breakfast room)
-no air conditioning (only the pedestal fan) that would've been very handy on the hot days we were there
-king bed ok, but single bed not properly made up
-meager toiletries in tiny bottles that weren't replenished after the first day
-towels fraying at the edges
-only one coat hanger provided in the wardrobe, and that one was in very poor condition

The numerous pot plants in the room and common areas gave a very homey feel, but upon closer inspection, we noticed they were all artificial, giving the place a cheap feel.

There were some really good things about our stay though:
-free muscat/port in the very comfortable, well appointed and beautifully furnished common room
-nice three course dinner ($60/person) and breakfast
-very attentive and friendly staff
-beautiful grounds and comfy large verandah to sit and read
-choice of a bottle of red or white wine upon departure

In summary, the Guest House provides excellent food and service from the staff, but the obvious skimping on cost cutting measures seriously detracted from the 'luxury' experience. For the price we paid for being pampered, I think much better value for money would be had elsewhere. I, for one, could not honestly recommend this place unless I knew the management had addressed the many simple things to make, what could have easily been, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed a night here and will be back again. We had a spa room which was very large with a large bathroom. The reception was friendly, the house is beautiful. Bed was comfortable. A good breakfast the following morning. The grounds are lovely and I would have liked to be staying overnight to spend some more time in them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Where do you take 50 over excited 30-something women for their 20 year school reunion? Petersons Armidale of course.

I loved giving my cohort that OMG moment as we tri-trapped in our heels along the gravel driveway around to the veranda of the charming homestead. We loved the bubbles and canapés on that veranda as we mingled until dinner. We loved our private dining room, that offered us the perfect amount of space without losing any intimacy. We loved our barman who dexterously ensured each table was kept in constant supply of the Vineyard’s own wine. We loved the alternate drop main of lamb back strap with salsa verde, roasted shallots & potato gratin or Atlantic salmon on smashed potato with champagne & lemon beurre blanc. And of course, girls can’t go past flourless hazelnut chocolate torte or sticky date pudding with butterscotch sauce. Coffee and tea back on the veranda, and the trifecta was almost compete.

So what was the icing on the cake? Great owners and staff of course. Their patience dealing with last minute additions and changes, and their impeccable manners and helpfulness did not go unnoticed. Petersons proved to be the perfect venue for our function.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed recently and the house and surrounds are magnificent. The rooms are comfortable though some items needed some maintenance - some of the lamps did not work. The bathroom is heated which is good for the cold Armidale nights but the only heating in the rooms are oil heaters - they sort of do the job but things still felt chilly. The breakfast was nice, well cooked but pretty standard fare. To me the place felt more like a small hotel then a B&B - it just didn't have the usual cosines and small personal touches. A nice enough stay but I would give it 3 and half stars if I could - good but not very good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MiniMooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I were looking for one night stay in or around Armidale that was a little bit special and not so common as a hotel/motel stay. We decided on a B&B style stay and looked at all the options. The photo's of Petersons was quite tempting and we thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed.
Judy is so lovely and warm. She greeted us with a big friendly smile like we were old friends. Th Great Hall was so inviting with roaring fires, magazines and big comfy chairs. We shared a beer and waited for dinner in the separate dining room.
Our bedroom was pure luxury with a heavenly bed, heated floor tiles in the bathroom, electric blanket and an amazing view of the gardens.
Dinner was filling and a very good price for 3 courses. We had a glass of house verdelho with dinner and followed with tea in the Great Hall.
We slept like babies.
Breakfast was so amazing. Tea and coffee then a selection of juice, fruit, yoghurt, muesli followed by a hot course with everything you need including eggs any way you like, bacon, mushrooms, tomato and toast with home made blackberry jam.
Judy was more than willing to have a chat about the history of the house, the area and the family which is exactly what we look for in a B&B.
With a bottle of wine in hand we left, but with our wedding plans in early stages, we very well may be back to enjoy this beautiful property for our special day :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently my partner and I booked in for dinner at Petersons, on our arrival we were greeted by friendly, well presented staff. Before dinner we were invited to have a drink infront of the two open roaring fireplaces, which only added to the amazing ambience of the Great Hall.

Come dinner time we were seated in another room with yet again a beautiful fireplace, lovely paintings and exquisite furniture. Our waitress was very attentive and no request went unpursued.

Now to the best part of our evening... The food! We enjoyed a beautiful three course dinner. There was absolutely nothing my partner or I could fault! Our entrees were prompt, mains were the perfect size (not sparing, like some places), not to mention full of flavour and dessert!,well, possibly the best chocolate torte I have ever had! My partner enjoyed a cheese platter and to compliment everything beautifully we had a glass of the Armidale dessert wine recommended by the chef.

We will most certainly we back and next time we'll book a room just to enjoy the amazing, tranquil experience longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR79E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armidale hotels
3.7 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 23 in Armidale
325 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
3.8 mi away
Moore Park Apartments
Moore Park Apartments
#19 of 23 in Armidale
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
All Seasons Motel Armidale
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
2.8 mi away
Lindsay House
Lindsay House
#3 of 9 in Armidale
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse

Address: 345 Dangarsleigh Rd, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Armidale
Price Range: $127 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing