We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Spotless Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandstock Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Armidale
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Spotless Rooms”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of the reviews and we were not disappointed.  The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Everything works and there were lots of little extras in the room that you don’t usually get in country motels.  Very happy to recommend and will definitely be staying here again next time we’re passing through.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
41
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenterfield, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We recently stayed at this motel and found the rooms spotlessly clean and well maintained.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower very good .Great location, close to shops and Bowling Club.Owner very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazH790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I choose this motel based on it's rating and positive reviews but was very disappointed in the accommodation, the sofa had no support and was a struggle to get up from but mainly the bed was very hard and uncomfortable giving both of us a sleepless night, tossing and turning, just trying to get comfortable and ease the pain in our backs and shoulders caused by the bed. The bathroom had a cracked porcelain basin and the bathtub with it's overhead shower was slippery and I would advise guests to use the bathmat provided. On the upside the room was clean apart from some stains on the carpet and the shower had good pressure and was hot which helped ease the pain in my back in the morning, they do provide tea and coffee making facilities and a microwave if needed and a flat screen TV with a good selection of channels. I am rating this accommodation as poor due to one of the most uncomfortable beds I have had the displeasure of 'sleeping' in and cannot understand with the motels lack of amenities, dated uncomfortable accommodation how it has such a high rating and command a high fee in return for so little.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTraveller55_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

More expensive than anywhere else we had stayed on our road trip. Room was large but bathroom only average- shower head poor (we did report this to the manager). Microwave, kettle and toaster but no bread and butter plates- weird. Air con really struggled- lucky it was only 35 degrees. Nice but jaded. Quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

An extremely quiet motel even though it is centrally located near to the CBD. Rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Air conditioning helped to maintain the room to a pleasant temperature, allowing a good night's rest. Interesting to note that the room had a bath, which would be an added bonus for travellers with small children. Also liked that there was a table and chairs in the room. Service provided by friendly and efficient staff. Overall, great value, great stay and will definitely stay there again when next in Armidale! Thanks Helen!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean room with ensuite and assorted soap etc, comfortable bed. Very convenient to walk into Armidale for evening meal or across the road to a large bowling club. Comfortable sofa, table and chairs should you wish to eat in. Value for money motel room.
We chose to eat at The New England Brasserie. Excellent

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Well located accommodation. The rooms are very 80s but everything worked. A previous reviewer complained about electricity conservation but you just needed to turn an extra two switches on.
Heater worked well(which you need in armidale).
Front desk helpful and the parking was off street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armidale hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Cotswold Gardens
2.4 mi away
Moore Park Inn
Moore Park Inn
#3 of 22 in Armidale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Hideaway Armidale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale
1.3 mi away
Deer Park Motor Inn Armidale
0.5 mi away
City Centre Motor Inn
City Centre Motor Inn
#5 of 22 in Armidale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandstock Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandstock Motor Inn

Property: Sandstock Motor Inn
Address: 101 Dumaresq St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandstock Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandstock Motor Inn is a charming, boutique style motel with clean, well-appointed rooms. We are situated directly opposite the Armidale City Bowling Club, within walking distance to cafes, restaurants, movie theatres, hotels, parks and markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandstock Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing