We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, unattractive & very dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hume Country Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, unattractive & very dated.”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

On our recent trip through NSW we visited friends in Albury/Wodonga and decided to stay at the Sundowner needless to say we had a regrettable experience. We were met with an average welcome at reception and felt far less than welcome.
Our spa suite was so, so dated complete with 80's mirrored decor - not in the least the romantic room we were sold on. The room was very basic and unattractive and overpriced. The location is not great either we felt stuck out in the middle of nowhere.
Poor service, basic dated, overpriced room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    130
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
113
148
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

As for the rooms themselfs they are clean and the beds are good with electric blankets (although it's like they hide them with the remote tucked under the mattress) and have good tv reception. Bathroom is clean too. The walls are very thin though and I can hear everything next door. Once the tv is off It's like you are in the same room with the people next door. Also is advertised to have wifi but when I call reception asking for the password they say "we don't know it" and that's it. Pretty pathetic. Location isn't the best either, pretty much near nothing walking distance but still can hear street noise. If I had the choice I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_C_28_19_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi thanks for your comments, we are always keen to know how all our travellers experience was. I am sorry to hear that you weren't able to access our FREE wifi, unfortunately us (the Owners) were on our first weekend off for 2012 and, our relief managers have let us down.
We are located 4.5km from the CBD and for other travellers this is the location they look forward to with our rural aspect and for yourself this wasn't suitable.
I am pleased to hear beside this that you were happy with the cleanliness and facilites otherwise provided. In relation to the electric blanket control being hidden it is more a case of hiding unslightly electrical cords, we will look at another way to allow guests to find the control more easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Melbourne in a family room which was big enough to accommodate the 5 of us (1 Queen and 3 single beds). The room was clean, towels and basic tolietries are provided.
Yes the decor is early 80's, but I prefer value for money and a quiet night sleep away from the traffic noise!
In our room there was a TV, dining table, chairs, microwave, toaster, fridge, crockery and cutlery and washing up facilities.
We had the continental breakfast in the shared breakfast room,. (Tea, coffee, juice, cereal, toast) basic but I felt we didn't need anything else.
The motel has a pool, and spacious grounds, with country views. Checkin and out was easy and the owners were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again when traveling to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and lovely remarks. In relation to the 80's decor we have just purchased new valances and bedtoppers and the rooms are looking a lot more up to date.
We look forward to seeing you next time your travel with your family through Albury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Used this motel as a stopover on our way from Canberra to Bendigo. The room was spacious and clean and had lovely views over the garden - not something you usually get with Aussie motels! The fact that it is out of town was a plus as it was quiet. The patio doors opened onto the garden so you could get some air.The room had a table and chairs to eat at and provided cutlery/crockery so you could have a civilised takeaway.The breakfast was set up in a separate room and was more than adequate for the price. Also had free wifi and one of the best connections we met on our travels. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a perfect overnight stop.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSGDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our property, your remarks reiterate comments we hear from a lot of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in a family room. It was hot when we arrived so the kids enjoyed the pool. Staff were very friendly. We had a nice view from our room. The motel is out on the outskirts of Albury so you will need to drive to dinner. We heard quite a lot of noise from plumbing and doors slamming. Breakfast was simple but enough- juice, tinned fruit, cereals,toast and tea.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a stop-over for us to break the Sydney-Melbourne trip with a young child. The place is basic and 1970s but clean, tidy and quiet. Our room was large and beds quite comfortable.

Breakfast was included but is do-it-youself and pretty basic but enough (cereal, tea, toast).

The staff are lovely which is why we'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed in the Family room which was big enough to accommodate the 5 of us. The room was clean, its position was perfect as they had a pool, spacious grounds, it was quiet and had country views. The owners were friendly and helpful and it was good value for money as we also had breakfast included in the rate. Would stay again when traveling to Sydney or Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
1.8 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#7 of 31 in Albury
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#10 of 31 in Albury
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Country Motor Inn

Property: Hume Country Motor Inn
Address: 736 Logan Rd, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Country Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Albury's Quietest Motel' the Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn is located in Albury, a 5-minute drive from the CBD. The hotel offers a seasonal outdoor pool, free WiFi and FREE continental breakfast.Rooms at the Hume Country Motor Inn are spacious and feature modern decor with all having new window furnishings installed recently. All Ground floor rooms come with free parking in front and a patio. A kitchenette is available in all rooms. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool or arrange day trips at the tour desk. The hotel provides a children's playground and newly renovated Guest Laundry. The Bunya Room serves a daily light buffet breakfast. Breakfast can also be delivered to the rooms. Dinner is served everyday. Drinks are available at the reception and mini bar in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hume Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing