We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, Delicious Food, Excellent Staff”
Review of The Proprietor

The Proprietor
Ranked #3 of 201 Restaurants in Albury
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our food is both familiar and unique; we source our ingredients from the backyards and paddocks of local gardeners and farmers, ensuring true seasonality and locality.
Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great coffee, Delicious Food, Excellent Staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I often visit Albury and almost always have a late breakfast /brunch here. The table service is excellent by friendly, efficient staff. The coffee is consistently first rate and I find it very hard to go past the yoghurt, carmalised pear, toffeed Quinoa and freeze dried strawberries.
The in house baked breads, including the gluten free loaf, are great to take home and savour later. A great place for all age groups for breakfast, brunch, lunch or just a coffee.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Taron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    83
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Great food, fresh very tasty, staff friendly, coffee had a lovely taste. I had the cooked twice French toast with berries..... Very yummy. My daughter had the poached pear with berries & yoghurt, also yummy. My son had the gnocchi which was pan fried... Nothing left on plate is always a good sign as well as the breakfast with the lot for my husband who just about liked the plate clean.... We will be back again:)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food quality”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a very popular brunch spot in Albury. The atmosphere is great (though it's often hard to get a table!) and the coffee and food are great quality. My only hesitation to give them 5 stars is the lack of vegetarian options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and coffee”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A bit noisy but good for an "on the go" coffee. Prompt service and reasonably comfortable.
Decor of 1950's butchers shops seems to be fashionable!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HobartTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy, happy and a great breakfast!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Was perhaps a little daunting to walk in to a large queue of customers but soon was seated and had my order taken immediately by super friendly staff. My breakfast arrived very promptly and was amazing with its flavours (prochuitto and leek omelette, highly recommended). Set me up nicely for a work road trip! Coffee was also excellent.
This venue has a really good feel to it with large wooden share benches and smaller tables. Outside dining looked good too for sunny days.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank easydriver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Proprietor also viewed

Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 
Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 

Been to The Proprietor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing