We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect morning!

Amid a busy weekend, our leisurely paddle was a perfect break - two hours of peace, birdwatching... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Panda P
,
Melbourne
via mobile
Easy, Scenic, Fun and Amazing.

A couple of keen family members who love to kayak and observe nature let us in on their local... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
993hiltong
via mobile
Read all 78 reviews
  
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
72
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray river hour trip own pace in great condition quality equipment dave paddling sunscreen operator downstream birds 17km hat platypus activity cruise devices
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amid a busy weekend, our leisurely paddle was a perfect break - two hours of peace, birdwatching (bring your binoculars) and sun. We’re regular visitors to Albury and have been hiring from Dave for a year or so. It’s so easy to book with a text, and his sit-on-top kayaks are stable and easy to steer. We like that Dave is an experienced paddler, as he speaks from experience when he gives tips re: paddle grip, etc. If you paddle early, we recommend finishing up with a coffee at Deco Espresso on Ebden Street nearby.

1  Thank Panda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A couple of keen family members who love to kayak and observe nature let us in on their local secret where we spent 1.5 hours kayaking downstream along the calm waters (but handy current) of the Murray River for approximately 10km from Mungabareena to East Albury. We were pleasantly surprised that you neither need any prerequisite skills nor any particular level of fitness. Level of difficulty = Easy. The operator, Dave, was clearly an experienced professional ensuring the life jackets provided were correctly fitted, our devices were water protected, and the basics of paddling and steering a kayak. Navigation is straight forward paddling downstream, stick to the right forks of the river and avoid stationary objects such as tree trunks. It was a real life theme park ride once we were off. It was most scenic and we could pace ourselves to suit. We saw birds, ducks, kangaroos, cows and sheep along the shoreline. One cow, as we came in proximity to it resting under a tree got up, showed us its rear end and passed wind ! We came across a platypus who promptly duck dived as we approached. We passed under bridges. Expect to get a little wet around the pants from paddling but were were mainly dry by the end. The activity is fun and addictive ! Well done to Dave and team from Murray River Canoe Hire.

2  Thank 993hiltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we hires canoes to do the Float last Australday, but hiring the canoes any day is an awesome experience. They make it all so easy. You’ll be met at the point where your destination will be, so you leave your ego Les there. You’ll be pleasantly greeted and transported up river where Everything you need to know will be explained to you. Then, off you go downriver! We packed drinks and nibbles ( there’s plenty of room in the canoes for small eskys) and we pulled in along the way at beautiful spots for mini picnics and short breaks. You can paddle or just float and enjoy the scenery. You’ll be greeted back at the place you left your vehicles, and assisted out of the river. Well worth doing and great value for money.

Thank penelopep570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Contacted Dave at short notice but booking our places for the following morning was no problem! Dave is very friendly and full of knowledge, even gave us some travel tips!

Lovely slow paced river, plenty time to take in the surroundings! All equipment is of the highest quality.

Such a lovely way to spend a day in Albury! Highly recommend!

Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

We did a 10km kayak along the Murray. We were really impressed with David’s tour. This is well organised and he provides quality equipment.

Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

Dave was very accommodating. We broke up the trip between Melbourne and Canberra by stopping into Albury to kayak. Dave rented us two and took us up river for a nice paddle/restful trip downstream in two hours.

1  Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

This is a wonderful experience. You can paddle at your own pace - race down the Murray or relax and let the swift current take you on this 17km journey. We did a combination of both and it was as easy or difficult as we chose to make it. Wonderful. The river is a beautiful feature of Australian landscape and it's simply delightful to experience it as captain of your own ship. Literally. Dave, who runs the company is a great guy and has been offering canoe trips, he was telling me, for about 27 years. For the price, this is brilliant value for money.

Advice: bring a hat, (Dave had spare hats if you forget) something to nibble on (we took fruit and it's always perfect for these types of activities - where chips are not) and a drink. Put on sunscreen - and understand that in summer, this is Australia, cover-up or burn. I also took my phone in a zip-lock bag so I could take photos but I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a confident canoer. Finally, be gentle on how you row; you'll easily get blisters otherwise.

1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

I had a wonderful experience kayaking down the Murray River with my daughter yesterday. It was a first time experience for her and David ensured she was right to go with good instructions and advice from him.
I found it very relaxing as you could go at your own pace and enjoy the scenery, and at the same time exercise your arms and upper body. Can't wait to do it again.

Thank l0usanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018

We spent 3.5 hours floating/paddling down the Murray River and it was spectacular. Dave’s “nothing’s too much trouble” attitude, quality equipment and local knowledge made our adventure one to remember. We can’t wait to come back with the kids.

Thank dav02171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Me and my family (11 adults, 2 little kids), had such a good day. It was well organised and we had no trouble. We weren’t rushed back to drop the kayaks off so we could go at our own pace and stop for lunch on the way. Would definitely go again!

1  Thank EJI95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews