We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the Hovell Inns reception Sally who was such a pleasure and extremely helpful, She informed us we had been upgraded to the 2 bedroom apartment we greatly appreciated. Once in our room we could not fault the Hovell Inn the room was fantastic above and beyond what we had expected 3 televisions ipod docks which came in very handy extremely comfortable beds the room was spotless even the cleaning lady was extremely helpful and thoughtful. I would recommended the Hovell inn to any one staying in Albury and will certainly be back there on our next trip to Albury. Thanks Hovell Inn and all the staff for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: The Spa and Sauna are open until midnight and a relaxing way to finish off the night after dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear phill c,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your upgrade and that you got to enjoy some of the different facilities we offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    257
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
181
347
40
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good location opposite parkland and close to town, 10 minute walk to city. Spacious unit clean and well kept. Large walk in shower, plenty of bench /cupboard space. Bed and pillows comfortable, unit had small sitting area with couch, table and chairs, also small balcony with table and chairs. Safe can accommodate laptop computer. Nespresso coffee machine supplied with a capsule for each person each day a nice touch. Coin operated washing machine and dryer in guest laundry. Restaurant and bar on site. Undercover parking and elevator, premises also have a gym and outdoor pool which we did not use. Can recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Julianne R,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the small touches like our Nespresso Machines.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
516 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

2 adult couples... recently retired.... travelling throughout Australia and New Zealand for 5 weeks. We stopped here late in the evening... secured their 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment for a "walk-up" rate of $230. The apartment had a very large living area and kitchen as well as a laundry room and two nice bedrooms... each with their own bathroom. A wonderful value! The beds were outstanding! We enjoyed our stay and recommend this venue for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Bob L,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Happy travels on the rest of your journey and if you are in Australia again, we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Absolutely lovely!
The apartment was just luxurious. The bed was so comfortable, best sleep I've had in a long time.
The cooked breakfast was fantastic too, not to mention the great coffee!
Just a perfect place to stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilymunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Emilymunn,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

What a great title, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to hear that we had been upgraded. The hotel was quiet busy during our stay as there was a wedding on, however, this didn't affect our stay at all. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were amazing, so comfy! (You almost need to stay here just for the beds! Had the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel!) The location is another big bonus of the hotel, while it is on the corner of a major road I didn't hear the traffic at all. It was so central that we walked up to the Main Street.
The only downside to our stay in Albury, and quite a funny one, was when we asked the receptionist, as well as the information centre, what we could do to kill a Saturday afternoon in Albury we were told to go to Beechworth which we had planned to do on the Monday. I do think this was more a problem of the tourist centre not producing information rather than the receptionists. We did however go to the wetlands which were quite beautiful, as was a walk along the Murray river at sunset (directly across the road from the hotel).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Adam W,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our property especially the beds.

Whilst there are some excellent activities to do in Albury, with such great areas around us like Beechworth and Rutherglen, we do generally direct people to these areas for a day outing.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warilla
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Husband and I decided to do a two week road trip for our 40th Wedding Anniversary, our first stop was Albury's Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn.

It was superb in fact Im here again tonight writing this review.

What can I say its the little extra's that make it such a special place to stay.

1. Free Wifi
2. King Size comfortable not hard bed.
3. Bath Sheets not just towels.
4. Generous wet
5. Nespresso Coffee pod machine
6. Big flatscreen TV with lots of channels
7. Persyonal Balcony.
8. Great in house Restaurant & Food.
9. Worth every cent for the best experience.

This is our last stop before home and what a way to spend our last day and night catching up with good friends and sleeping in a luxurious bed in an exceptional room.

Five Stars from Me. *****

Denise & Gary

Room Tip: King Rooms on Second Floor are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustDenigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear JustDenigG,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your very kind words. We were pleased to read that is was the small things that made the difference to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

On a big trip from Adelaide to Newcastle we decided to do the trip over a few days staying at a number of hotels. I must say that Hovell Tree Inn was the most outstanding accommodation by far as well as the cheapest!!!
Staff were all extremely friendly and the family suite we stayed in was amazing! We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lace81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lace81,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciated your lovely words and are glad that you enjoyed yourself whilst staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.4 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#5 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#6 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#10 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hume Country Motor Inn
Hume Country Motor Inn
#4 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
Address: 614 Hovell Street, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albury
#1 Spa Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer free Austar, mini bar, data port, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities with toaster, individual reverse cycle air conditioner, full size ironing board and iron, disabled room on request, balconies on request, guest laundry, wireless / broadband internet. All rooms are non smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing