We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Nearby Hotels
Winsor Park Motor Inn(Albury)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian(Albury)(Great Value!)
$93
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albury Paddlesteamer(Albury)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atura Albury(Albury)(Great Value!)
$124
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hume Country Motor Inn(Albury)(Great Value!)
$81
$77
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Resort Siesta(Albury)(Great Value!)
$128
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albury Manor House(Albury)(Great Value!)
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Meramie Motor Inn(Albury)(Great Value!)
$97
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thurgoona Country Club Resort(Albury)(Great Value!)
$86
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commercial Golf Resort Motel(Albury)(Great Value!)
$97
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveler rating
671
300
41
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
300
41
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinecomfortable bedsundercover parkingroom servicemurray rivergreat roompleasant surpriseacross the roada great place to stayfree wifivisiting alburyking bedbusiness tripdefinitely stay here againlarge roomlong drivestayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As country hotel/ motels go this one is about as good as they get. Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds. Bathrooms that don't fog up when you turn on a tap. Good restaurant and breakfast. Attentive friendly staff who are happy to help you. And reasonable prices with no evidence of price gouging. I have stayed her on business trips a couple of times now and would stay again next time I'm down that way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taksan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear DrPopper,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

Its great to read a review from someone who has already stayed a few times and will continue to do so.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Down here for tennis with my son, just across the albury tennis courts, the room is spacious, the bed is so comfortable, the toilet and amenities is very good, the room is equipped with the microwave, toaster, tea and coffee maker. Spotless, very very good, highly recommended. We spent three nites here and the room is profesionally clean up. Tried the spa and swimming pool, very refreshing, accross the main street is the park where murray river are..took bit of walk in the walk..very beautiful. Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear sandy-Inhl,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor,

We were pleased to read that you got to enjoy some of our facilities even though the weather was not the best at the time.

We do get a lot of great feedback about our beds, they are very comfortable especially if you like the softer style beds.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We would like to truly Thank Brad, Ben and the rest of the absolutely incredible staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn in Albury after having had a 12 hour working day and then spent many hours on the road and with only a few hours notice, not only did the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn Albury get us a Fantastically comfortable and quiet room but they also re opened the kitchen and the bar and fired up the cooking equipment and kept the wait staff on after they had previously closed and knocked off to ensure that we didn't go hungry or thirsty, WOW Incredible service thank you so much everyone you are clearly at the top of your profession in absolute high end customer service, there are other establishments that could learn a thing or two from how you guys do it.

Having spent many years on the road traveling and staying at another well known Albury land mark we have found a new home whilst in or traveling through Albury.

We didn't arrive in till 9.15pm Friday night 10/05/2013 and hadn't eaten for the best part of 12 hours and had also been on the road for the last 4 odd hours and trying to make up time on the infamous Hume Highway north bound from Melbourne on a Thursday night.

We got in thinking "Dam we've missed the 9.00pm cut off for dinner, and thinking what are we going to do for dinner, it looks like we are off to Maccas ( Yuk ) But Brad come to the rescue ensuring that we didn't have to go to Maccas or go hungry, Thanks heaps Brad and all the staff that went out of their way to help make our arrival and stay as easy, relaxed and as comfortable as possible, they just couldn't do enough for us.

Ben and his staff leave some 5 star properties that we have stayed at for dead we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending and staying with BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn again soon and will recommend to everyone that we know that stays in and travels through Albury to spend a night and have a meal with you.

As a company that travels extensively our selves and stay at a lot of motels and hotels up and down the east coast and that prides it's self on it's high standard of customer service it's so good to deal with another organisation that also thinks and operates along the same lines.

Ben, Melinda and Brad keep doing precisely what it is that you are doing now it's working great.

We very much look forward top our next stay with you again soon.

Room Tip: As a corporate traveler their corporate rooms are fantastically quiet, comfortable and well tasteful furnished and appropriately appointed with all the mod cons you could want to work or relax
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne_Kathy_Pryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Wayne_Kathy_Pryor,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

It was great to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us especially the customer service side of things.

We are very please that you will now call the Hovell Tree home when your are in Albury.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked a rear apartment,Quiet,large room,large bathroom,Great BED,Great nights sleep,Meal in restaurant was great,best steak i have a had for a while.Pleasant staff, great experience,Will stay again

Room Tip: Rear apartments are newer and quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear gazzz1,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor,

We were pleased to read that you enjoy our lovely Latex Pillow top beds and also our locally sourced steaks.

We have had a lot of great comments about our beds, so much so that we can order them from our supplier for our guests at a discounted price so they can enjoy the same great sleep at home.

thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I regularly stay here when on the road between capitals. Sometimes to go the night before gets me 3 hours in to the destination. The Hovell tree has had three incarnations since 2006 but what drew me in initially keeps me coming back. There are some new rooms which are large at the back of the property and ideall suit a family who are prepared to all sleep together. There is no road noise there either. The rooms at the back are large and very modern (being built in 2006) while the new owners are refurbishing the other rooms now. The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear BILMARAUS,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

It is pleasing to see that you have continued to stay with us during the last change of owners, we are very happy to see that you are still finding our property to your liking.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews