We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cool" stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon in 39C+ heat for an overnight stay. No trouble checking in (car in the shade) and were allocated a room in the second block (separate from main block). The lift service was dodgy - the lift finally worked after a few goes, but gave up several episodes later leaving guests to co-operate in using the locked firestairs. Nonetheless, we were not seriously inconvenienced and the lift was working ok the next morning.

The room was large and functional, although a little sterile. The bathroom was ok with a good large shower. Only point to note was the toilet was a cheapy - it worked but for a couple of hundred dollars extra, the bathroom would have justified the 4+ star rating.

However the highlight was the airconditioning - after a 30 second blast, we were reaching for the blankets. We actually turned it off for periods of time because it was so efficient. Outside, the magpies gasped and the vegetation wilted......

The restaurant was up to scratch with large portions of surprising good quality food. Service was very pleasant and efficient. No surprise that the guests pored in over the evening.

So overall - quite good experience, particulary as the rate offered on the night was ok. I checked a few days later and the rate had almost doubled. Maybe this place is too popular?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear ExLawyer,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and also your meal in the restaurant.

They say things will always occur when most inconvenient, and unfortunately that was the case with the elevator breaking down on such a hot day ( i'm glad we are not a high rise ). We do work in with the elevator company to try and get these issues reolved as quickly as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very pleasing experience in every respect. The room was spacious and well appointed. The furniture was comfortable and the leather coach was new. There was ample room for clothes, cases and a fully functional table and chairs as well as a desk.
Stayed in two different rooms; one on the way north to Sydney and another on the return trip. I pteferred the room with the small kitchenette area and it would be nice to be given the choice, rather than simply asigned to the room. However, that was a very minor issue. Great to find a toaster, plates, cutlery and some complimentary biscuits for guests who arrive late, tired and in need of a little touch of hospitatlity.
The dinner menu offered a good range and the meals were well cooked, well presented and much better than average without having pretensions to be 'fine dining'. The breakfast was also of a good standard, also visually pleasing, fresh and tasty.
The service was helpful and friendly without being intrusive.
In all, a very rewarding stay in what I expected would be simply a wayside stop on the trip between Melbourne and Sydney. It left me considering what holiday activities I might pursue in the area in future, just to return to the hotel and enjoy the experience again.
Parking below the building was easy to access. The electronic keys worked reliably, every time without any special treatment like facing a particular way or being moved in a specific direction. These little points make a big difference for people who just want the machinery offered to work as expected.
Well done Hovell Tree Hotel !!

Room Tip: You may prefer a kitchenette to rinsing cups, plates etc in the bathroom. It is only aesthetic, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear michele b,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would now consider this area for a Holiday in stead of a stop over. There is so much to do in and around Albury.

It is best to request a room with certain facilities, we will always endeavour to do our best to meet these requests although sometimes this is not possible.

We do hope you will return to the region for a Holiday in the future, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great stopover accommodation after a long trip. We stayed in one of the larger rioms (king+queen) and found it roomy, clean and comfortable. We had a toddler in tow so the extra space was great. The rooms have been done nicely, bathrooms only had a shower but was very clean. The staff we helpful and friendly. We used the pool which was a little small but great on the hot day. The best part was their breakfast on the go- consisted of fruit+danishes/toast+drink - perfect for the early start to get back on the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuz712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Shuz712,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were pleased to read that you found our twin rooms roomy. The bathrooms in our twin rooms do only have showers, but we do also have apartments and some of these do have baths.

It was also great to see that you took advantage of our Breakfast on the go, it is perfect for those that want to get on the road early.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travel to Melbourne from Sydney and always stay in Albury on the way down and back. Our trip this year was delayed by our car being broken into. We notified the hotel that our arrival would be a good 6 hours later than planned. We arrived to find that the staff had graciously upgraded us to the Hovell Apartment. It was such an unexpected treat and such a welcomed experience given the start to our holidays. For a family of four the apartment was perfect. Three TVs. Kitchen. All modern recently renovated and clean rooms. We enjoyed the hotel pool before dinner in town. Breakfast though was in the restaurant. Excellent food and lovely service. Very relaxed and let us also check out an hour later. All up a great example in customer service. Location is good if you want to be near river. We drove to main part of town for dinner.

Room Tip: Great service, clean room, yummy breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear ExplorerJenn,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

Ahh the Hovell Apartment, this is our absolute Best Room. You would be hard pressed to find a better room in town, so I'm glad we were able to give you the complimentary upgrade and that you really enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Hovell Tree for one night only on a short getaway to the Victorian High Country but it was the best place we stayed at on our trip. The young man who checked us in looked like he was still in school but his manner and professionalism was impeccable. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bed was heavenly and we had the best, restful sleep. The hotel pool is a bit small and can get very busy but that was the only drawback. Great location too, just an easy 10-minute walk from town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear IamKP,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

It was great to read that we were the best place you stayed on your trip.
The pool does get a bit busy during the holidays, but thats always going to happen when we have a run of days over 40 degrees. It was also great to read that you thought our beds were heavenly, we do get a lot of compliments about them.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our room was fitted to a high standard, even including a Nespresso coffee machine. There is also a small gym and an outdoor pool. The property is walking distance to the city centre, as well as being close to the Murray River.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Craig A,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were glad to see you enjoyed the small touches like the Nespresso machines in some of our rooms. We hope you had time to enjoy the gym and pool as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Lovely big room with two double beds. Very modern with super facilities .. Lovely bathroom.. No complaints what so ever..had dinner in the restaurant and that was lovely as well. Breakfast was not part of our package so we will leave in the morning and have breakfast on route to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Lizzy2808,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed our property and all that we have to offer.

We look foward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.4 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Olive
Hotel on Olive
#12 of 31 in Albury
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#6 of 31 in Albury
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
599 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#5 of 31 in Albury
361 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn

Address: 614 Hovell Street | Corner Hovell Street And Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albury
#1 Spa Hotel in Albury
Price Range: $113 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer free Austar, mini bar, data port, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities with toaster, individual reverse cycle air conditioner, full size ironing board and iron, disabled room on request, balconies on request, guest laundry, wireless / broadband internet. All rooms are non smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing