We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put this one on your list”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Put this one on your list”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in a very large room across from the reception building. Room was well appointed and pleasantly furnished. Very clean with ample furniture. Undercover parking and lifts. There was free wifi but it didn't work in my room. The manager was very helpful and friendly (as was the other staff) and offered to check the aerial in the vicinity of the room it but I did not want to bother him. Wifi worked in the reception area. Would stay here again, value for money.

Room Tip: The building across from the reception is great. Don't know about the other building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooyal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Cooyal222,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do apologise for the issues with the WIFI. We have just had an IT upgrade which seems to have alleviated those issues and we have a good WIFI signal in all of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    266
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
188
359
44
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Whilst visiting Albury with my extended family (6 adults, 2 kids), we all stayed at the Hovell Tree Inn. For comfort, staff courtesy, proximity, services and facilities, we could not have asked for better. What we found best of all was the restaurant. All meals served were reasonably priced, ie $25-35 dollars but the quality of the meals could have easily rivalled those you find in top restaurants anyway. The food was plentiful and delicious. The service was prompt and incredibly friendly. Even if you are just passing through Albury, I would still recommend you dine here. I certainly will be next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Just ask if you need a special room and the staff will help. My elderly Mum did and it was easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeddyMutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear TeddyMutt,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

It was great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us especially the restaurant. We have focused on providing great meals and sevice at a reasonable price using as much local produce as possible.

We look forward to seeing you on a return journey to the area.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very spacious well appointed room with quality bathroom, under cover parking and free wifi.
The reception staff were very freindly and helpful. A very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orcaSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear orcaSydney_Australia ,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in our very comfortable beds, and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had an overnight stay here recently on the drive back from Sydney to Melbourne. The hotel is really easy to find coming off the Hume Highway and doesn't require you to drive through any residential roads.

The rooms are really big and they look like they have been recently refurbished (carpets are amazingly soft). Comes with an ipod dock and flat screen TV. There's also a big walk in wardrobe area and balcony. Didn't have time to try the restaurant so can't say anything about that.

There are cheaper rates on other websites so check those out. I think we got our room for only AUD 110 or something which was awesome. Covered carpark comes free and if you pre-paid online then checkout is a breeze.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear reggiemania,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our renovations ( with very soft carpet ).

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

As a frequent traveller I have stayed in a number of hotels and motels around Australia but I would have to say that the Hovell Tree would be one of the best. My room was enormous with all the amenities you would need for an extended stay let alone an overnighter like I was having. The staff were friendly and prompt in their service. I had room service for tea as well as breakfast and both meals were delivered promptly. I can seriously recommend the Chicken Parma!!!! The only complaint that I had was the breakfast was overpriced for what you got (Scrambled eggs were nice, the two sausages were in fact half sized and no butter on the toast). As I travel between Melbourne and Canberra frequently I can see myself breaking the trip more often and staying at the Hovell!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mike S,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the amenities we offer in our rooms and that you found the staff prompt and pleasant.

We look forward to seeing you on one of your next trips from Melbourne to Canberra.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked over the Internet prior to a visit to relatives in Melbourne, stayed as part of a trip round the Alpine region. From first contact to last, all the staff had smiles on. Undercover parking, excellent food very comfortable room. Short walk to the main street with cafes, bars and shops and an excellent small Gallery with a good display of Aboriginal art with explanations. Similar distance from the Botanical gardens with many native varieties, plus Ibis strutting around! Free WiFi throughout the hotel was a bonus as was free use of the computer in the lobby with a password from reception which lasted 12 hours and was renewable. If only more chains followed this example. Probably the best Chain hotel we have stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88FatBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear 88FatBoy88,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed staying at our property and that you were able to get out and enjoy what this fantastic region has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived tired and a little stressed ,the greeting was warm and welcoming ,you got the feeling nothing was to much trouble,directed to our suite opening door to enter a lounge area , dinning plus a kitchenette very spacious and spotless.
Both bedrooms beautifully presented as was main bathroom and ensuite.plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from ,we decided to dine in house ..
Once again thank you AS

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Allana S,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your wonderful review.

Its great to see that we ticked all the boxes for your stay and that you got to enjoy what we have to offer.

Thank you again for a great review, we look forward to wlecoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.4 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#7 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#10 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hume Country Motor Inn
Hume Country Motor Inn
#6 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Address: 614 Hovell Street | Corner Hovell Street And Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albury
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer free Austar, mini bar, data port, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities with toaster, individual reverse cycle air conditioner, full size ironing board and iron, disabled room on request, balconies on request, guest laundry, wireless / broadband internet. All rooms are non smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing