We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked ahead and were not disappointed. The hotel was very impressive and was a great start to our travelling holiday around NSW. The rooms were amazing. So much space and very comfortable. The bathrooms were excellent and provided everything we needed and all of a good quality.
The staff were very helpful and made our stay even more pleasant. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent as well.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to people driving through Albury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Eleanor N,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

Its always great to read when we have made someones stay and they get to enjoy the end product of our renovations.

What is really pleasing is the fact that you found our staff to be helpful and that they made your stay all the more pleasant.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 971 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed one night as a stop over to canberra. We had room 231
The room was very clean and tidy and good size with wounderfull king bed.
could not fault at all would come back again.
the restaurant was very good great meals.
Staff were very pleasant and helpfull.
Undercover parking was also very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

It's great to see that you enjoyed one of our Executive Suites which have the huge King Bed and also the Nespresso machine.

Our kitchen team were very glad that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First stay here, in 2 bed apartment. I am fussy with cleanliness and could not fault the cleanliness of our apartment. It was well appointed, refurbished, excellent bathroom. Most comfortable, luxurious hotel bed I've ever slept in. Would recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Helen P,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to see that coming from someone who is fussy with cleanliness that you were happy with the cleanliness of your apartment.

We do get a lot of comments on how comfortable our beds are, so much so that we have decided to on sell the exact same type of beds that we have in our rooms to any customers that wish to purchase them.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved our room which was spacious, clean and newly refurbished. We had dinner and breakfast here and the food was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and were very happy to accommodate our 8 month old with a highchair, etc. We would recommend it to anyone that asked and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miz_detective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Miz_detective,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

It's great to see that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities, and it is especially great to see that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Second time staying at this hotel and both times Ive been very pleased with the service and quality and cleaniness of the room.

Driving with children from Sydney to Melbourne is a long long drive. Albury is the perfect location for the half way mark and we couldnt of picked a better hotel. We visited Victoria back in March and were so impressed by the standards that we booked again for our October vacation.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blossomgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Blossomgirl06,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

It was great to see that you enjoyed our property so much that you decided to come back and stay with us again.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are making the long drive between Sydney and Melbourne with your family.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hi all, we stayed at the hovell tree inn for a few nights with all our family and friends for a wedding which was at another location in Albury. Upon arrival, we were placed in the wrong room (a suite with two beds not an apartment as requested). The staff were great to quickly change us to our 1 bdr aparment with trundle single bed as requested. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, clean and modern bathrooms, and really comfortable beds. The room exceded our expectations! However, We had no hot water on the second day. Management were aware from other guests complaining and some received discounts on their stay which was great. However at 2pm that same day my mum (who was staying with us) received a call that our grandpa was suddenly ill in hospital so we had to rush back home. We checked out at 3pm that day, my husband told management why we had to check out a night early and we still had to pay full price. This was very disappointing as we travel through Albury alot and this may influence us to not stay there again :(

Room Tip: Selfcontained apartments are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Jess B,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to see that any issues with your accommodation were fixed quickly and to your satisfaction, and that you enjoyed the finished product of our renovations.

Unfortunately our hot water system had an issue overnight and we didnt know until we told by a guest in the morning. Myself and our Plumber came straight in and got the problem rectified as soon as possible hoping to cause as minimal disruption to our guests as we could.

I am sorry to hear that your Grandfather was ill and taken to hospital. Unfortunately on the day that you checked out, all of housekepepers had finished by 3pm and we were fully booked for that evening. I understand that these situations are out of our control, but if we had housekeepers still working then we would be able to get into your room and clean it so that it could be used by another guest that night and we would most definately have been able to waive any charge to yourself.

Once again I thank you for staying with us and posting a review, I do hope we get to welcome you back to the Hovell Tree sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is without a doubt the nicest motel I have ever stayed in. It must have been recently refurbished. Not to a cheap standard but to a very high and modern quality. The beds are amongst the most comfortable I have ever slept in - including my own! the bathroom was elegant. The trundle beds came in vertically and were thick mattresses, not the skinny ones that fold in half. There were two small cartons of milk for tea and coffee instead of two pathetic little tubs. This is value for money. We came here as a stopover, but it was enough to make us rethink Albury as a destination!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mpix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Mpix1,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see that after staying with us you would now consider Albury as a destination instead of a stopover.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the finished product of our room renovations, and also that you enjoyed the bed. we get so many comments and questions about the beds we are now ordering them in for guests so they can enjoy the same comfort at home.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.4 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#3 of 31 in Albury
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#11 of 31 in Albury
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#5 of 31 in Albury
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
576 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#6 of 31 in Albury
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn

Address: 614 Hovell Street | Corner Hovell Street And Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#1 Spa Hotel in Albury
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer free Austar, mini bar, data port, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities with toaster, individual reverse cycle air conditioner, full size ironing board and iron, disabled room on request, balconies on request, guest laundry, wireless / broadband internet. All rooms are non smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing