We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, close to everything.”
Review of Hotel on Olive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Olive
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is quite good for the price you pay - not sure about the 4star rating but its very nice. The staff are lovely and always willing to help out. Doesnt look like the pictures from the outside (front of the building is unappealing) but looks very nice inside. Had a regular queen suite and it was spacious and the bed is very comfy! Also very close to the Myer shopping complex and the Dean street boutiques and cafes.
Across the road from a nice rsl type club.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneysider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

My family (2A,2C) stayed here on our way to Melbourne. Superior service and our partially refurbished family room on the 4th floor was extremely comfortable and of a high standard. New bathroom and flat screen TV. All the comforts you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Our room was above the restuarant and we were told when I expressed concern about noise from the restuarant(from a previous reviewer), that the hotel guests were their number 1 priority and if we were bothered by noise to ring down immediately. I am a very light sleeper and I was not disturbed by any noise from the restaurant. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We would not hestitate in staying here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hotel is very close to Albury CBD , easy to walk around to shops and restaurants . The staff a friendly and even after we called the desk at 10pm at night because of a noisy air conditioner in our room they were happy to move us to another room without any problems at all (Thanks Shannon).

All in all a comfortable stay with free off street parking in a convenient location. We had booked a King Room which has been renovated recently.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

A good place to stay in Albury with ample car parking spaces and a nice pool area, when compared to others of the same calibre in the town.

All staff here are friendly and helpful.

Standard of room cleanliness is better than some others in the area also. Some rooms have been 'refurbished' and these, known as 'newer rooms' are definitely the only way to go in this establishment. The older rooms are of a lesser standard. The beds and pillows in the 'newer' rooms are very good. Bathroom towels are nice and thick. For those who prefer to have a bath, these rooms seem only to have walk in showers.

The ambience in the cafe/restaurant, is enhanced by its position overlooking the pool and courtyard area.

Housekeeping was rather slow. On several occasions we left our room, putting the 'please make up my room' sign on the door but this seemed to be ignored. In the end, we believe that the staff were annoyed because after vacating our room, on those two occasions, at 8:30 and 12:00, they then did not finally gain access until around 3pm. This problem could have been averted had they been necessarily more vigilant.

Though not wonderful cuisine, the restaurant 579 has some better offerings that other hotels' restaurants in the area.

Considering what Albury's hotels have to offer, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do request one of the 'newer' rooms. A little more expensive but a nicer ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The owners/managers of this motel obviously consider their restaurant guests more profitable than their hotel guests.
My husband, 2 yr old grandson and myself stayed at this motel for 2 nights, both nights the noise coming up from the outside dining area was so loud that we could not sleep before 11 pm.
I got so sick of it on the 2nd night that I rang and complained. The lady on reception said, "yes it is almost 11 pm and I will ask the restaurant manager to bring the outside table guests inside"!
My goodness, I go to a motel to sleep, I don't want to be regulated by the time the dining guests who were very loud, are asked to go inside.
By the way, we were on the top 4th floor, so I really feel sorry for anyone below us.
Also, I am not sure how the star rating is guided, but this was certainly no where near a 5 star.

Room Tip: Choose the opposite side to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobfib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Clean, modern extremely polite and helpful staff. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spacious and clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

On any trip to or via Albury this is our favorite place to stay and rest. The king room is our preference they are comfortable, spotlessly clean and we always get a good night's rest. The staff are friendly and helpful. Located near shops, restaurants and clubs you can walk to most places. The restaurant in the hotel is a good option as is the nice bar for a relaxing drink.
This is a good option in Albury.

Room Tip: King rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macOceanGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
0.4 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#6 of 31 in Albury
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#5 of 31 in Albury
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian
0.3 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Olive

Address: 579 Olive St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Albury
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albury
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Olive 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a blended atmosphere of business and pleasure, Hotel on Olive is the perfect place to enjoy a delightful weekend, corporate get-together, special event or an indulgent night away. Our boutique style hotel offers the regionally renown Restaurant 579 on Olive, stylish accommodation and superior facilities - combining comfort & relaxed country charm. Ideally appointed and perfectly located - the hotel is just a short walk from the bustling retail precinct, cafes, bars, Botanic Gardens, Convention Centre and the highly regarded Regional Art Gallery. Stay, dine, meet, celebrate and explore this very special part of New South Wales. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing